You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There is less pain in printing [opinion]

in #blog6 years ago

Great post @penderis, It is definitely a fine line to tred in this regard. I know i often find it very difficult to find quality pictures free from copyright and even if you did seek permission it either be too expensive or they wouldn’t let you have the rights. And sometimes you just wonder as far as images online can be copyrighted since they are in the public domain and so easy to save image. I guess they know it’s going to happen!! I suppose the alternative would be to prevent saving the images in the code.

Sort:  

I think for now print designers, do not have to be too concerned, but a rule I use is if they have the budget, pay for the image - Billboards and such public display items I try my best to get the client to source proper images.

Personal use I can't be bothered since they are mainly bitchy when it comes to understanding that a picture of a horse costs a few dollars or more before editing, heck some people don't even grasp the fact that you cannot make a facebook profile image larger than half a page at the best of times. Scary the images I have had to scale to 1meter or more.

Web use though I would say always make it yourself or use open images and this is only based on the fact that it is so much simpler to just hunt you down and stab you as it may be - there are cases where you won't do this at all though such as product images, generic design graphics (patterns, shapes etc) such things, it is a very broad set to cover, but for example the cows I used... If online, definitely I should attribute and check licensing .

The only way they will stop images from being downloaded or freely used is if browser vendor rebuild their browsers with this in mind, as it is an image gets downloaded locally so the moment you see it on your screen it means you already have a copy of it, does that mean just browsing in itself is copyright infringement?

Thank you for reading and commenting.

Interesting article posted today on the topic.
https://steemit.com/photography/@xposed/let-s-talk-about-copyright

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44