There is less pain in printing [opinion]

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Yes Ma'am, we can do that

 
When I started as a finisher my job was simple, get the pages, cut the pages, bind the pages or laminate the pages and give back the pages. This eventually involved making copies of documents as requested, color or black and white? How many copies would you like? And the whole book or just the section?

The thing is that if you are in a commercial copy shop you don't say things like no Ma'am we cannot copy that book you borrowed from the library or got from the school. You shut up and copy the book, your boss will see you are copying the book which has a copyright on and should be bought and all will be right in the world. Because you are doing your job.

Not Mine Nguni Cover.jpg

Now online it starts getting murky because people can very easily search for that book or photo and find 10 copies of it when there is suppose to be only 1, they then either proceed to send a harshly worded letter, some other recourse, a fancy DMCA takedown notice or just plain leave it. There are even entire communities built around fighting it. Because to an extent they can see it, search it, and scratch at it until it bleeds.

Nguni 1.jpg
On client request I made the stupid cow wall worthy

Online it is murky, offline? It is pitch black unless the author or some form of tattler walks into your home or drives down the same road as a very specific billboard in a shitty town you can print what you want any size you want and charge what you will. I am not trying to argue a case in favor or against plagiarism and copyright infringement this is just a fact.

Nguni 3.jpg

 

It is a clear example I think of how anti-piracy methods and the offline world have very little to do with each other.


So you want the picture from that catalog but do not want to pay the $$$ for it, no problem, what size do you want? I will just scan it, tweak it for print and we are off to the races.

Image edits are all my own, apart from the original sourced images as requested by the client which is relevant to the post, so don't be a douche and flag it Pretty Please

Nguni 2.jpg


Of course, I can do that.

Sort:  

Great post @penderis, It is definitely a fine line to tred in this regard. I know i often find it very difficult to find quality pictures free from copyright and even if you did seek permission it either be too expensive or they wouldn’t let you have the rights. And sometimes you just wonder as far as images online can be copyrighted since they are in the public domain and so easy to save image. I guess they know it’s going to happen!! I suppose the alternative would be to prevent saving the images in the code.

I think for now print designers, do not have to be too concerned, but a rule I use is if they have the budget, pay for the image - Billboards and such public display items I try my best to get the client to source proper images.

Personal use I can't be bothered since they are mainly bitchy when it comes to understanding that a picture of a horse costs a few dollars or more before editing, heck some people don't even grasp the fact that you cannot make a facebook profile image larger than half a page at the best of times. Scary the images I have had to scale to 1meter or more.

Web use though I would say always make it yourself or use open images and this is only based on the fact that it is so much simpler to just hunt you down and stab you as it may be - there are cases where you won't do this at all though such as product images, generic design graphics (patterns, shapes etc) such things, it is a very broad set to cover, but for example the cows I used... If online, definitely I should attribute and check licensing .

The only way they will stop images from being downloaded or freely used is if browser vendor rebuild their browsers with this in mind, as it is an image gets downloaded locally so the moment you see it on your screen it means you already have a copy of it, does that mean just browsing in itself is copyright infringement?

Thank you for reading and commenting.

Interesting article posted today on the topic.
https://steemit.com/photography/@xposed/let-s-talk-about-copyright

I really enjoy your writing style! And totally, on point.

😁 Thank you, I have been working on writing a bit more clear but still keeping with "how I think" without it becoming a jumbled mess which in turn usually makes me miss the point I am trying to get across. Glad it is paying off.

Interesting point Pen... I have to say though, I love the cows! 😉 I wonder where Jeff fits into this? Think LEGO minds that I’m using their cute kitty to have some fun? I normally wouldn’t think they’d mind... but what about when Dorky grows to a huge whale because so many people adore Jeff and his antics?? Lol 🤔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44