The Witcher 3 OST Review

in #blog6 years ago


Source


I have never done a music review, nor have I ever read one. I just wanted to take a moment to talk about the music in this game because it is something special and I hope you will give it a listen.

I was first introduced to the music in a trailer for the game entitled "Killing Monsters"

This will forever be the best game trailer I can imagine, and I cannot be happier that the Netflix adaptation is in the works. Ok anyhow, back to the music. I will be showing a few specific songs and talking about those to give a fuller picture of the soundtrack

Geralt of Rivia

In a nod to the soundtrack of Vizima in the Wither 1, the 1st track has a very similar opening and carries the melody. It does open up in the middle into this really grandiose orchestral experience which, even if you don't know it, will probably stir up some emotions. I know it does for me.

Forged In Fire

This has some fantastic combat music, and FiF is really a good example of it. There is this really crisp violin and bass which really carries the classical percussion instruments while the strings really do a great job of holding a melody before it fragments in a really clever way where the violin really is front-and-center. At the end the central melody really becomes background and I find that this song really pumps me up as any combat music should. The song "The Shrieker Contract" is very similar but darker with this biting edge to it and I like is just as much.

Spikeroog

If memory serves me, this is the theme for Ard Skellig, a set of peaceful and verdant islands inhabited by a semi-nordic people. Spikeroog is a relaxing and open track for the island and really puts the "fantasy" in "dark fantasy". The woodwinds do the trick for me and the characteristic violin is relatively subdued for a healthy change of pace.

Sort:  

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Nice music ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66360.61
ETH 3420.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63