Me Tongue Wraps Around Me Skull!

in #blog5 years ago

Me Tongue Wraps Around Me Skull.jpg

Ahoy mateys! Reverend Rum, literal pirate and the world’s foremost ornithologist, here with an excitin’ lesson in bird science fer ye. I’ve been gone on a scientific expedition over the past month to study one of the most fascinatin’ animals on the planet Earth: woodpeckers (fer science). Well I finally returned from me trip, so today I’ll be learnin’ ye some bird facts, me ‘earties!

Amazin’ woodpecker facts:

Woodpecker fact #1: Did ye know that the woodpecker comes from the family Picidae? Very interestin’. The reason fer this is because ye can pick a day, any day, and ye can spot a woodpecker. Shiver me timbers!

Woodpecker fact #2: Woodpeckers enjoy bangin’ their heads on trees, and pipes, and dirt, and other woodpeckers. I sat down with one of these magnificent birds (named Woody) and asked him why they bang their heads. He said they really enjoy listenin’ to heavy metal on their tiny little woodpecker iPods.

Woodpecker fact #3: Woodpeckers smash their heads on things at 1000G! That’s 1000 times the force of gravity (approx 9800 meters/second/second). Hulk, in comparison, can only smash at 483g (or 572g is he’s really into it).

This is the second strongest smash in the universe, dwarfed only by the smash of the mantis shrimp, which has been recorded smashin’ the laws of physics.

Woodpecker fact #4: The woodpecker’s tongue is incredibly long, ends in a sharp spear, and inextricably wraps around the outside of its skull. I asked Woody (not the same Woody from woodpecker fact #2, all woodpeckers are actually named Woody, it has somethin’ to do with veneratin’ their woodpecker god or somethin’, Woody didn’t really want to get into it, he seemed busy) why they have such odd tongues, and he simply replied “it’s metal af” and sauntered off.

Woodpecker fact #5: Woodpeckers do not possess magic powers, unlike a certain Herculean best friend bird of mine, God rest his soul.

Woodpecker fact #6: Havin’ lived amongst the woodpeckers fer the last month, they eventually accepted me as one of their own and gave me a place in their woodpecker society. Woodpeckers are not only highly democratic birds, but they’re quite wary of strangers. It was only after I donned a woodpecker costume and wrapped me tongue around me skull that they let me into their lives. It was not werth the metamorphosis, I can tell ye that, mateys. All woodpeckers want to do is talk about and smash their heads on literally anythin’ they can find. It’s nigh impossible and super confusin’ to hold a conversation with them because they all have the same names. It gets old quickly.

Lookin’ back on me time with the woodpeckers, I can only say that as intriguin’ as these birds are, they got nothin’ on parrots, and I’m glad to be back aboard The Maiden’s Desire and am lookin’ ferwerd to swashbucklin’ across the vast seas once more.

Me only hope is that me experiences wer as enlightenin’ fer ye as they wer fer me.

RIP Hercules.png

Sources: Search Giphy fer "woodpecker". Everythin' else I made meself.

Sort:  

How long did you have Hercules? We had a parrot as a child and the only thing the bird said, "Polly wants a cracker."

One day at the age of 6 years (my age at the time) I asked Mom, "Where is Polly." Don't ask, she told me something she thought was funny. At the time I believed her. They say 50% of what we remember is not true. I hope this is part of that 50%.

Never saw the bird again.

I love woodpeckers. One works on a pole near where I live. He works really high up. I have taken photos of him but think they are way too tiny so I never posted them. Haven't seen him in a while. They probably leave for winter since everything freezes.

resteemed and followed: All pirates are not bad. @reverendrum Thank goodness I was on the Crow's Nest this morning and spotted your post.

I had Hercules since I was a child. I wrote all about it in me eulogy to him: https://steemit.com/blog/@reverendrum/a-eulogy-to-me-parrot

sorry for your loss I love birds

Hi @rebeccabe! Don't believe we've met yet, welcome to TG...
Here's a pic I stole and labeled with the main instigators of TG
I hope you like it and recognize some of them ;) LOL
TG Krew.jpg

Beautiful job! I am still finding my way around.
Came back to this post and see what I wrote still sitting.
I will push the post button again. lol

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner2.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

wow! I never knew how much i had in common with a wood pecker. I like to bang my pecker on random things as well!!

LOL

Hopefully it isn't at 1000Gforce matey!

Peckers are fascinating things, I am a better blogger for having read this gem
thank you

A better blogger, and a more informed bird enthusiast I'm sure. Glad me scientific expose could offer ye so much, me lassie!

I prefer being called "wench" as it sounds kinkeh

As ye wish, me wench.

Get a room, Sheesh

🙄

At least that tongue will cum in handy

😋

Was the magnum-opus your brand of condoms?
I cannot seem to find that referenced anywhere...

bwahahahahahahaaa so funny ;-)

We don't see or hear woodpeckers around where I live, so it has been fascinating learning more about these head banging birds.

The tongue thing is amazing, I imagine the female woodpeckers are the ones getting the most benefit from this evolutionary trait.

I found Hercules, he's just moved to Windsor doing a stint in the LegoLand Pirate Village

IMG_6231.JPG

All the lady woodpeckers seemed relaxed. Y'er right, matey!
(And that ain't Hercules.)

Assumin' it's a 1v1 fight, yes. Interestingly enough, the next big hit from the MCU is Hulk vs Woody comin' in 2020.

proper headbangers are wood peckers, thanks for all the info, I have never had the pleasure of meeting one in real life x

Y'er not missin' much. They're quite annoying.

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)

This is a fun and informative post. I didn't know any of the woodpecker facts that you mentioned. Besides, I got to enjoy each paragraph :)
Thanks for sharing, best regards.


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 84%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "One learns to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!

(1) @dropahead's quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94