You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Roots and Wings

in #blog7 years ago

This is very very touching and it reminds me of the time, when I moved away form my parents... so yes, that was the other way round.

I didn't think that much about it, but my parents were sad, that I got on a train that would take me to the other end of the country. Although Germany is not that big, it was still some 600 miles.. with no skype or anything like that. I understand their feelings much better today, and I am very happy they are close. Geographically as well as in age. And I still ask myself the same questions you do...

So we are torn. Between head and heart. Interestingly in Tarot between them is "movement, action, going somewhere..."

06_die_liebenden-200x415-100x207.jpg07_der_wagen-200x415-100x207.jpg08_die_gerechtigkeit-200x415-100x207.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks my friend. We are fortunate these days with the ability to stay better connected from afar with Skype etc. Although my real angst is “did we do enough or were/are we ‘good enough’ parents,” and when that old angst demon of mine comes up for me every interaction with them can trigger it further. So in that respect Skype potentially keeps me interacting and uncomfortable! 😂 but, I will work through it.

I always appreciate your tarot insights and your lovely cards, which are each unique works of art from your hands. 🙌🏽 Sounds exactly right in the battle between my head and my heart. My heart just loves my kids, calls me to follow my dreams, and longs to see them follow theirs. And my damn head tries to chime in and question all of that.

I’m intrigued by the last line of your comment, but don’t entirely understand it. Can you please explain more regarding “movement, action, going somewhere...”? Are you just saying my situation sounds like the space in life that those 3 cards in a row represent?

You know, I think the question of "are we good enough parents... (or children when you get a little older)" is as old as our ability to think. And in hindsight, there is always something, that might have been done better.. although at the time you most likely did the best you knew and could. When I look at your children, I know you are both awesome parents!

I used to always worry about everything. Still remember how my friends in my Chicago days always said to me "you worry too much". Its gotten a lot better. Also thanks to my wonderful wife who has a very down to earth attitude towards many things... We are both lucky with the person we found to share our lives with :-)

As for that last line... you see, I use "my" Tarot in a rather playful way, not as serious as many of those who are really into it. And, maybe because of my job, I always "see" references, something associated, things in a picture arranged in a certain way and so on... so, when I thought about the struggle between your head and mind, those two tarot cards popped up in front of my inner eye. And somehow it appeared interesting, that their order seemed to reflect your situation. You are literally moving. The meaning of VII-Chariot is being active, even adventurous, actively venturing out into the big wide world, away from "home"... and as you do this, you seem to be torn between VI-Lovers (heart) and VIII-Justice (mind).

It never occurred to me before that the sequence of these three cards has any significance, actually always found it a bit strange... but I see this new aspect there now :-)

You are wise my friend. It is nice to know I’m not the only one prone to spells of excessive worry. It’s just so much change in my life right now...that is often a trigger for me to start overthinking.

And yes it works both ways I suppose...good enough parents, and good enough children. There is so much to worry about! Just kidding...deep inside I know it’s all just head games but it can feel so real when we get wrapped up in our worries.

I love the way you playfully and intuitively use “your”tarot cards, and your “inner eye” is spot on. The pull and sometimes conflict between the head and the heart with the venturing out (VII) card in between. What’s really funny is that another system I use very regularly to help me understand life and relationships is the Enneagram. There are 9 types of personalities that manifest in that system (many, many more subtypes, but 9 main) and within that system I’m a 6, Sean is an 8, and our daughter is a 7. 😳 weird huh?

Sorry, I didn't reply the way I should have and wanted to right away.. my dad was taken to the hospital and the question of being a good sun has gotten a whole different weight. We've had our fair share of problems with each other, but when you are confronted with the fact, that something could happen to him, the head really starts spinning. So far its looking alright though 🤞

I want to learn more about that Enneagram you mentioned. Wonder how the numbers correspond to Tarot... if I am not mistaken, Sean is an attorney, right? Major theme of 8 😁so the 6 (heart/emotions) and 8 (mind) make sense... if your daughter is very active and adventurous, never gets bored and likes to travel and be in distant places, its really "weird"!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00