You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eurovision 2018

in #blog6 years ago

Good writing, Saltycat, but you didn't quite get to the truly controversial part.

In her acceptance speech, Netta Barlizai said, "Thank you so much for choosing difference, thank you so much for accepting differences between us... I love my country, next time in Jerusalem!".

Now, that's all fine until the last 4 words. The capital of Israel is Tel Aviv. The UN regards Jerusalem as an occupied city, and illegally occupied in violation of multiple UN resolutions, of both Security Council and General Assembly. This means her ending comment was blatantly political, and the EV rules explicitly forbid political statements.

Sort:  

Exactly ! Glad it wasn't just me to spot this.

Thanks for your comments. I hoped my closing remarks would be picked up. Jerusalem right???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62816.09
ETH 2466.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64