Have you seen any crinkum-crankum lately?

in #blog6 years ago

I don't think I have, more's the pity.

What the heck is this crinkum-crankum nonsense anyway, you ask? Well, you've come to the right place, my friend. Kindly allow me to enlighten you.

It means elaborate decoration or detail.

So next time you are attending a dinner party at one of your swanky friends' swanky houses, while sitting at their elaborately laid-out table surrounded by eleven of your closest companions, you can look up from your lavish meal at their chandelier and exclaim, "By jove, that's some swell crinkum-crankum you have hanging there!"

It really is a shame that so many great words have been dropped from our everyday vocabulary, don't you think?

dining.jpg
image source

p.s: it is apparently also slang for a woman's 'lady bits', so don't point at anyone's wife while you say it!


ravenruis.png

banner2.png

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook not so good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Colorful language the way it should be haha not just the vulgarities that are so common these days :)

I know, right? lol

I'm pretty sure those Victorians could say something terribly snippy and make it sound as ordinary as "pass the salt, please". :D

I'm glad I was just contemplating the idea of maybe hauling my lazy arse up to go and get some food and not actually eating food as the unexpected laugh at the end wouldn't have been terribly great for me otherwise XD

hahaha so glad to have timed it well :D

@steemitboard
Hi, I am hoping you can answer my query please. (sorry, I wasn't sure where better to ask this)
I decided to set myself a challenge to post for a month and obtain your monthly trophy, so in April I posted every day but I didn't get the trophy. So I tried again in May, and then again in June and still no trophy.
I'm also not sure I've received all the 7-day trophies from this 3 month period - and I've never had steemitboard put any comments to that effect on my posts to let me know I've hit those milestones.

Am I doing something wrong?

Also, what time zone are you going off for your 24-hour period? I'm never sure when the cut-off time is.

Thanks (in advance) for your help. :)

I love it I will have to find a reasonto slip this into a conversation LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87