[Ramengirl Magazine Vol. 44] The Benefits of Not Having TV | Ramengirl🍜

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

[EN]


The Benefits of Not Having TV


Image:

Hello, this is @ramengirl.

A few days ago, my parents came to visit my place. When they looked around the house, my father asked me with his worried voice if I don't get bored because I don't have TV.

I used to like watching MTV, comedy shows, dramas, etc. But after I started to studying 7 AM to 11 PM at the high school automatically I got far away from the TV haha.

When I think of the disadvantages of not watching the TV, sometimes I don't get the topics of conversation with my friends. It's not really inconvenient but obviously, I get bored or can't have fun with the conversation if I can't understand what are they saying. But these days, there are a lot of new friends who are able to have conversations on wide topics besides TV (for example, Steemit, crypto...), so I don't feel that I need to watch TV.

Of course, there is disadvantages from not watching TV, but actually there are a lot more advantages than you think.

Less waste time


Sometimes I go to my parents' house on the weekend, and every time I sit down on the couch and start to watching TV, two or three hours go by really fast! When I staring at the TV without any thoughts I start to think, "why am I keep watching this even if I'm not even enjoying it", but meantime I can't stop watching it lol. One of the reasons why drugs are dangerous is because of addiction. It's scary because this is one of kind of addiction that most of the people are addicted.

If you don't have TV at home you can do a lot of things more than you thought. The reason I can cook at home more often, and taking pictures when I'm cooking is that I don't waste time on TV. Besides blogging every day, and also just by reading the high-quality information on Steemit I could spend my time on investing myself.

Less stress


I used to think that watching television is a way to relieve my stress. But since I don't watch the TV anymore, watching TV makes me more stressed. For example, celebrities on TV show seem pretty, handsome, they have perfect skin and body. It makes me starts to think I should be like them. I feel like I'm not normal because I don't look like them. This is an especially big problem for young people who are growing up because it can also cause health and mental problems.

I could focus on how I can be healthier than care about how I look, after got away from the TV.

More opportunities to access quality content


Since I don't have TV, I'm looking for contents every time when I need. Recently I have been interested in documentary and I have watched when I have free time! The word of documentary itself may sound boring and not very fun, and that is what exactly I was thinking! By the way, I was able to change the stereotype by watching the documentary called Blackfish. If you are new to the documentary, I strongly recommend Blackfish and Citizen Four! Watching documentaries helped me a lot to get my widen perspective.

In addition to this, famous documentaries such as Blackfish and Citizen Four can easily find subtitles, but other documentaries it's really difficult to find English subtitles as well as Korean subtitles. It is much harder to understand without subtitles, but the process has become language study. Killing two birds with one stone ;)

Increasing conversations with people


When my parents came to see me a few days ago, I felt that we're having the real conversation! If it was my parents' house, we would have been watching TV without talking to each other all day, but we played music, and talk on various topics, and we played card game :) It was really fun!

It wasn't easy to realize the bad effects that TV can give me before not having TV. But now there are countless numbers of good things!

I wish you can also have a look at how much you are addicted to TV :)

DQmZXi4F1j6UXuPvT4F5Hzj1mdJ6J8rNC6nJMywhThXtmRy.gif

저의 포스팅이 좋으셨다면 투표와 팔로우 부탁드립니다^^
私のポストが良かったら、upvote&followお願いします。 ありがとうございます!
If you liked my posting please upvote & follow me. Thank you!

Please Follow @ramengirl U5dt42G4xW1EyBKDCHWEBSZLxMxDnZk.gif

Sort:  

You are right Miss @ramengirl that TV is one of a major source of wastage of our precious time and energies and spoil our personality. TV isolate us from society which ultimately weakens our health.

yes, you are right and Thanks for the information

I cut the cable. Now it's the video games. I wish I could get them to study that long!! Good work ethic!

Your right Tv is a big distraction. I'm a father of four and have seen how Tv grabs hold of kids and us adults. We have made a thing of movie nights-dvds yup a library of dvds " blockbuster style". Keeps them away from the tv set during the week. They enjoy the organic feel of having to search for a title from the 80s- present time.
Enjoy your piece @ramengirl

Yuo really change my perception towards watching TV.and introduce me to watching documentories .Truly ,documentories help a lot .Although ,i have not watch blackfish and citizen four .i will try download it and see what happened there.thanks for this good article,it worth to be shared.

Yass I love Blackfish and Citizen four! ;)
Hope you enjoy it!

This is a great post, thanks for the information, have a good day

I only watch TV when I'm at home but in school..its a no no for me..after all I got steemit to keep me company. Nice points @ramengirl

@ramengirl,,I also feel the same, but now so play esteem so addicted...

Haha, I know! At least there is so much good quality informations on Steemit!
Steem on ;)

That's a super good post! People in Thailand are the same too, they like to talk about something they saw on TV that I have no idea about. So, sometimes I check it out and there is nothing there on TV, actually. I think most of TV content is stupid, I don't like to watch TV too.

Awww, can't wait to talk to you in Thailand ;)
Smart girl!

@Ramengirl I totally understand! Before I came to Korea, I used to watch TV, and my parents would watch a lot of TV. Once I came to Korea, I stopped watching TV altogether. Mainly because I didn't have one haha.
Once I stopped watching TV, I realized how much ADVERTISING is being FORCED on you. For every hour of TV there are about 17min of adds; most adds ranging from 15-30 seconds. THATS A LOT of product being forced on you EVERY HOUR! It's brainwashing; plain and simple. You need to buy this, you need to buy that.
Now, I can't even watch TV for more than 5 minutes, before I just get annoyed by the adds, and stop. However, I do spend quite a bit of time on the internet... but I am doing what I want, how I want. Internet can become addictive too. (Checking Steemit every 5 seconds....).

Also, Netflix in Korea! They have a TON of documentaries, and all of the Netflix programming has Korean subtitles, and English. My wife and I watch documentaries all the time this way. NO COMMERCIALS. People who watch Netflix or exposed to 98% less advertising than normal TV. Also, since it's on demand, you can pause, start, stop whenever you want.

Ooh, I should check the Netflix only for watching Documentaries!!
Thanks for the information! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66