How a mural in Nicaragua made me think about preconceptions. The explanation was hilarious though.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever been traveling in a foreign country and had locals warn you about visiting the neighboring country? I have, several times and it made me realize how most countries place a stigma on their neighbors. This is especially true of how poorer countries view their even less fortunate neighbors.

100_0952_result.JPG

If you go to Mexico, they warn you about Guatemala, if you go to Guatemala they warn you about El Salvador, if you go to El Savador they'll tell you not to risk going to Nicaragua. It seems to never end. I used to chalk this up to them just not wanting to give up your tourist dollars to a competing country. But, I doubt the locals I've run into who are farmers just trying to raise enough food to feed their family really cared about tourist dollars.

IMG_8031_result.JPG

Why is it we have this view, I mean even in the U.S. you'll get this from a lot of people concerning Mexico. I'm sure our governments Travel Advisories don't help much. Do you pay attention to these? I don't anymore. I've learned our government will constantly release travel warnings for countries whose government it just doesn't agree with. But, countries that have just as much or more danger never get mentioned, that is as long as they are friendly to the U.S.

DSC_6815_result.JPG

I don't need our government to warn me about a travel location. I realize that every country has dangerous areas of travel. Every large city has no-go areas for late nights. I just learn about these areas for each country and try to avoid them at night. I try to be vigilante about my safety and never travel with nice clothes and jewelry, I think having some street smarts rules will keep me safe in most areas of the world.

100_0987_result.JPG

But, I digress, back to neighboring countries' prejudices and why all this was brought to my mind. We came to be helping out a medical missions team while in Nicaragua. No, we do not have any medical background at all, but there is lots to do during a medical clinic that doesn't require it.
We were placed in charge of weighing babies so the doctors knew the doses of medication to give them. My Spanish is atrocious so basically this involved me just pulling babies off of the breast of their mother as they waited in line. Then once the baby was weighted I'd just attach it back to the mother. Crazy I know, but it seemed to be the thing and there were no disagreements.

DSC_6512.JPGHere's the mural. Could you guess it's meaning?

While we were there I noticed the mural above painted inside this tiny shack of a church we were working in. I studied this mural for 2 days trying to discern it's meaning. Finally on the 3rd day the local village had a party for us for providing the clinic and getting their well fixed. On this day the pastor from the church was present. So, I had to pull her aside and ask her to explain the mural's meaning to me. She said the plane was crashing, and the people on board were going to heaven. "Yes, I understand this" I said, "but, why does the plane say MEXICO on it?" Her response was "Oh, simple, that is to show our parishioners that everyone can go to heaven. Even Mexicans!". I nearly laughed out loud at the thought, but then realized, this was a very serious comment. They literally have such a strong distaste for Mexicans that the parishioners generally couldn't imagine them going to heaven. Of course this was a tiny little village in the middle of nowhere Nicaragua, but it really made me think about the prejudices we carry without knowing it and how this plays out all over the world. All because I couldn't figure out the deal with this crazy mural.


DSC_6963_result.JPG
Thanks for reading! I'm interested in your thoughts on the subject.

All the images and words in the is post are mine alone. The images are all near Playa Hermosa, Nicaragua

-Qberry

Sort:  

Woow that an awesome article qberry,
Let me say thank you for your help and impact in the world,
but on the other hand it must have held soo much for you, dont it? :)

Im really in Love with your writing Style but the Images you shot are rad! Verry unique and the Painting says so much... was really wondering what it could mean for minutes :o

Keep up this great work, cant wait to read more of you,

all the best from Germany,
Johannes (:

Thats very kind of you. Thanks very much. It really was a great time helping in Nicaragua!

This is true in any country you travel to. They all have a basic mistrust and dislike for their neighbours. I don't know what the basis for this is but it can make travel interesting, to say the least. When we moved from Costa Rica to Nicaragua we had neighbours and friends tell us that we would be robbed and liely urdered within the first months we lived there. Here we are almost 12 years later living quite nicely, thanks.

Exactly, we were told the same thing about Nicaragua. We went to Nicaragua in 2008 because we kept hearing its' the new Costa Rica. We really loved it there and only found warm friendly people.

Ohh Yes I have experienced that many a times in my travels, of course some of the countries were pretty war torn so it was probably good advise but not always advice I followed

And that's what makes you a traveler, not a vacationer :) Thanks.

Well a lot of my traveling was work related as well

Every country in the world has it's problems... It's up to us to either believe everything we hear about that country or to do our own research.

Speculations are circulating all around the world. Some are just jealous of the others, those red eyes will mess up one's mind that I am not even surprised. Many asked why have I been travelling to odd places lately, and I told them, every part of the world have same social issues, treat them equally and you'll get what you want. Everyone deserves a chance.

All the best!

Very true. You need to travel to understand I think. Otherwise we are left with preconceived notions of other people and places.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 74 (3/15/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Awesome. It's an honor.

I don't really understand why certain countries don't like each other. I mean I get that there are problems between some, like mine has as well but I personally don't hate anyone and in my opinion we should all love each other to make this world a better place.

Thank you for contributing to the Steemit Community.Keep up the great work and I'm looking forward to your next posts.

Thanks @castbound. I agree, it was just amazing to me how prevalent it is. But it seems to only be the case with people who never travel. I guess that's how we dispel these myths the best.

Awesome story and pics.

A very nice post qberry, this is very useful for the crowd and especially for myself.

I get a new knowledge from your article.

Thanks for sharing and hopefully you will be more successful for your work ... :)

Check my article about Do you invest? and if u want give me your feedback!

My article here Do you invest?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63773.27
ETH 2738.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59