Road Trip Van Conversion - Floor Preparation & Rust Treatment

in #blog6 years ago

I have been a busy bee!!! ALL day cleaning, dusting, sweeping and mopping! I call it a CSI standard clean! The van was ready for treatment. Although it is galvanised steel, some of the zinc coating was worn away, exposing slight surface rust. After using a wire brush and some sanding, I treated any exposed metal with some Hammerite Special Metals Primer. i Didn't skimp!

Campervan Conversion Metal Treatment (1).JPG
Most of the spilt blue paint was left on. It would be covered anyway later on.
Campervan Conversion Metal Treatment (2).JPG
The main object was to cover, treat and protect bare metal for future longevity.
Campervan Conversion Metal Treatment (3).JPG
A big build up and plenty of cleaning work for a small area of paint, but essential.
Campervan Conversion Metal Treatment (4).JPG

Campervan Conversion Metal Treatment (6).JPG
The hours spent cleaning and painting thus far, reminded me of how therapeutic simple tasks are.... (The mind wondered)
Campervan Conversion Metal Treatment (7).JPG
With the floor covered and protected, the next step will be to repaint the floor in white. It may seem an overkill, but it's the foundations! One Step At A Time.

The Complete Project so far:
My Latest Brainwave & Project
Assessing The Task
The Strip Out

Sort:  

sir preppervetuk! I don't think it's overkill at all, that thing is going to be well protected and it's a great foundation like you said. hey what statue is your background photo of? it's magnificent!

One of many statues that have been placed in The National Memorial Arboretum
This particular statue, is the Parachute Regiment and Airborne Forces Memorial statue
It's a magnificent statue and a fitting tribute to all those who have fallen since WW2.
Once Airborne - Forever Airborne.

oh my gosh preppervetuk..that is truly stunning! I love that, I wonder if you can buy desktop sizes of that? and that is in London?
so you are ex-Air Force?

Army Airborne.....

very good sir is that a more specialized branch than the regular army? or is it just the army but the people who use parachutes?

Definately a special group of soldiers....
All our training and ethos revolved around self sufficiency, initiative and skills... My Airborne days molded me into the Prepper i am today.

howdy back this fine Sunday sir preppervetuk! well sir, that brings me to the question of your status, did you serve your time and get out, could you have stayed in the service?

I did my time (25 years). Finished as a Warrant Officer Class 1.
I could have stayed and continued as an Officer (Captain), but i felt it was time to move on to other things and follow my dreams.

Little by little my dear friend, good job.

You did an awesome cleaning job...look at those walls. Smart to take your time and do the treatment. It's time well spent. It would be a shame to do all the rebuilt and discover later that skimping on it was a mistake. Like you say, the foundation. It needs to be strong and well built before you build on it. You are taking your time and doing it right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14