Road Trip Van Conversion - The Strip Out

in #blog6 years ago

On the face of it, It appears to be a daunting task, but I have Vision! Look beyond the grime and grit and paint and dents....... Ugh! Anyway today's task was to remove the large bulkead seperator between the cab and the main body of the van. Also strip out all the wooden panels, the floor bolts and plastic panels. Most were broken or split anyway....

Prepper Veteran's Campervan conversion.JPG
Only two security threaded bolts were troublesome (they looked like rivets). The rest of the bolts were simple enough.
Campervan conversion for my UK Tour.JPG
With the bulkhead removed, the area appeared larger and more airy.
I ripped out the wooden and plastic panels, the task was pretty easy, just time consuming (took all day). Had to sweep the floor numerous times. Dust mask recommended!
Campervan conversion the strip out.JPG

A simple but essential step, but every day is a step closer to my goal....

Next - the clean up phase!

The Van Conversion Project
Assessing The Task

Sort:  

howdy today @preppervetuk! this is such a cool project.(to watch someone else do) are you devoting full time to it or is this a side thing? sorry I'm charging my vote, it was 40% this morning but I wanted to stop by and show my support.

Thanks @janton - Yeah it's full time and will be dictated by my budget....
Small steps. Target completion time will be by Feb/Mar time.... Ready for a UK Circumnavigation in the Spring.

that reminds me sir...I heard overhere that there are areas, probably just in cities, neighborhoods that the police won't go because it's like a muslim country and they aren't welcome, is that true? sorry kind off topic.
But the van mission and strategy is brilliant sir!

Yes there are many areas that are muslim only. The police are waay underfunded and leave the muslim communities to 'police themselves' under Sharia Law.
England is an unrecognisable culturally enriched country now.

Removing that bulkhead really did improve it! You sticking with the original seats?

No, ultimately the seats will be replaced with the swivel variety so that they can add a dining option.

Cool idea! I can't wait to see this when finished. I have a pretty good idea of how it will be and it will be awesome!

Wow. You're not messing around! Tackling this task like a man on a mission ( hee hee). If it were me, I would take out that right side seat to give access to the front for a speedy start up and go if needed. Some people have had troubles at night while sleeping with people up to no good. Actually, I wonder if the small seat could replace the big seat and then use the larger seat in the back somehow. I bet you are already thinking this way.

Are you going to install one or two small solar panels? Dad got his online. Not sure where though. I'll send him an email and ask. He's supposed to check in with me soon as he's moving locations ( going to the Black Hills in S. Dakota)

Yeah that's the way i'm thinking...
The double seat will be replaced with a single swivel seat and the single drivers seat will be converted to a swivel chair.... This gives me access straight into the drivers seat for a getaway without getting out of the vehicle... The current double will probably go on E-Bay, but the seats are going to be one of the last things i do....
The Solar option at the moment is a luxury.... My current thinking is to get a 12v battery with isolator switch and connect it to the alternator so that when the veh is running, it charges the battery...(just got to remember to isolate the battery when we stop for the night).

Yeah! Swivel chairs. They can serve as "front room/family room" chairs at night when they face the back. Pull out a folding tray/table and vwallah (sp?). Oh yes!

The battery set up I know will be fine for charging electronics. My brother does something similar (he's a truck transporter and lives out of his car when he's out on jobs). He can't really run anything for very long unlike my Dad who has the solar panels ( 2 small ones with 3 batteries). Long trips are different than living in it full time of course. BTW Dad can't remember who he bought them from online.

Gosh. I think I'm as excited about this as you are!

Congratulations @preppervetuk! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34