You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Styles: What's Your Post Post Behavior?

in #blog6 years ago

After I hit that post button, I usually wait around about an hour waiting for comments as I begin sifting through my feed. I always make sure to have 90+% voting power so I can upvote the posts I am reading as well as the comments on my own post. However, I often get drained to quickly, like right now i went from around 97% an hour ago and am down to 78% already. Part of why I don't post daily, or I would never be able to curate any of the great posts in my feed.

I don't do discord so don't have Ginabot or groups to pitch to. I believe bidbots only make the owners and delegators to them the payouts, so don't use them.

Sort:  

Thanks @practicalthought for your input! Very conscientious of you to make sure your VP is in check before posting. I feel the pain of VP going too low too. Like now haha! Going to have to take a break here. Don't feel the need to upvote this comment or my last one to you, ok?

I don't do discord so don't have Ginabot or groups to pitch to.

Why not? Just curious.

Don't feel the need to upvote this comment or my last one to you, ok?

Nice try, but got to give the vote. Its how I roll, lol.

I don't do the Discord for a few reasons.

  • Stories of people being hacked using the app. I don't do any apps but Discord has some bad rep on this.

  • It feels wrong to me to need another social platform to manage a social platform.

  • Because it has more of a chat like feature, out of respect for my girlfriend I do not participate. There are wolves of both sexes prowling these type of areas (as witnessed on aol, Fakebook etc) and no threat if you aren't there. I believe that the internet has caused more harm to relationships than any other medium in history. Lots of people cheat and then say stupid shit like it was an accident, they didn't mean to catch feelings etc. I don't view many things in life as an accident, many are totally avoidable if one is mindful of their position and actions. While I know I love my girlfriend and would never fall prey to such mechanisms, I am mindful of her feelings and will never put her in a position of wondering.

I didn't know Discord had a bad rap for hacking...

There are wolves of both sexes prowling these type of areas

This reminds me of something that happened to me on discord. A stranger told me to drop a link to my latest post, and he would upvote it, so I did, thinking it was some kind of curation project or something. After thanking him, he simply said, "I see you" I was all scared and thought what does he mean he sees me...is this some kind of organized stalking/hacking bullshit going on? Then I asked him, "What do you mean you see me?" He corrected himself and said, "Can I see you?" Turns out he was just a perv with bad English haha! Still creepy though.

I have so much respect for you that you place boundaries on yourself to guard against infidelity and to put her mind at ease. Very classy. :)

hacking via Discord

It also seems that many apps are hacks, either through the company that made it or an exploit. I would point you to the way they spy on us through phone apps, and the hack on the trading bots at Binance a few months ago.

I have so much respect for you that you place boundaries on yourself to guard against infidelity and to put her mind at ease. Very classy. :)

Thank you :)

It also seems that many apps are hacks

I am aware of this. I remember hearing a warning a couple of years ago that all flashlight apps spy on us. Really I think probably almost all apps cross their bounds this way. Do you keep any apps on your phone? It would be hard for me not to. Then again I use a Silent Circle Blackphone 2, and can choose what permissions I want to allow. 99% of my activity on Discord is to check ginabot, and I don't join random server invites. And now I learned my lesson to ignore people I don't know.

P.S. I did it again! My VP is only at 40%. Around dust vote level now, so I'm going to try to not be around for a few days. Don't know if I have the will power, but I guess we will see haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69