A very cold foodie

in #blog7 years ago

I'm done with winter now, please bring on the summer!

Winter landscape photography
(From my Deviantart)

I haven't seen any snow yet, but even so, it is very, very cold here. More so because the cabin's only heat source is the wood stove and seeing as it's out during the night, it cools off quickly. These wooden walls and single glass windows don't do much to keep the cold out.

So every morning, we have to heat it back up. When we wake up, the kitchen/bedroom area is around 5 degrees Celsius. I feel the living room area is a few degrees lower by then.

That means it's cold! And heating things back up towards a comfortable temperature takes a while. Longer than I would like.

The cold temperatures around freezing point will stay with us for quite a few days still, so I feel sad about that. We've had a mild winter so far, which suited me just fine. I'm okay with winter, but not while we live in this cabin! I am now wearing gloves, a hat and a scarf inside the house all morning.

I can't do much else but sit close to the woodstove and watch Netflix in the morning. In the afternoon, things have warmed up enough to be able to wander around the house a little bit. The kitchen area by then is around 10 degrees Celsius. Usually I manage to get it up to 15 degrees by the end of the afternoon, if the sun comes out to help for a while.

So, I watched Netflix this morning! I also made the bed for my mum to sleep in this evening and put the other linens in the washer. It should be done soon, so back into the cold I will go to hang them. I think I'll make tosti's after that.

Tonight, my mum will sleep over again, but my boyfriend and me will have to leave her alone for a little while. We're going over to his sister for her birthday. I don't think we'll stay long, since we have a guest back home and they'll probably have the house over filled with people.

Tomorrow, my boyfriend figured we could split some wood. Him and his dad had already cut wood into good sized logs, but they have to be split into pieces still. He learned how to do so yesterday, so time for us to do some work tomorrow!

Besides that, we don't have many plans for this weekend. I still have to finish emptying and cleaning my house, but we arranged to borrow my boyfriend's mum's car for friday. If things go well, that will be the day we're done! Atleast it'll be the last day where we're dependant on the kindness of others to help us out. I'd like to clean everything up on that day aswell, but I'll be realistic enough to know that might not happen. We want to visit my mum the weekend after that, so we could use that weekend to finish up completely. We'll be in the neighbourhood anyway.

So it's all much slower than I would have liked, again, but we're getting there. Hopefully, in a couple of months, I'll finally be rid of my house and the financial burden it gives me. Can't wait!

I think the washer is done now, so I'll head off to hang my laundry.

Hope you're all doing well!




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |

Become my patron and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!

As always, this picture is made and owned by me and is not to be used without my permission. If you would like to use it in any way, please contact me or visit my Deviantart or Photography shop for a purchase.



Fair warning: Copy/paste comment and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

Aren't women always feeling cold in winter, whatever the temperature? 8-)

...

This is true...

But! This cold temperature doesn't help ;-)

True, it's as cold as a woman's foot in a winter bed.

Also it's cold on us with metal in our bodies

Oh my! I don't envy you that cold. Only getting to 15 by the afternoon!

When we first moved into our house there was no central heating and I remember all those horrible mornings shivering in the bathroom. I am also thinking I've had enough of winter but I've got it easy really after reading your post.

Just have to keep focusing on being free of your house and the coming of spring. Meanwhile chopping wood and cleaning sound like good options. At least you'll be warm while you're doing it.

Hopefully your boyfriend's sister's house will be nice and toasty so you can have a bit of respite and, maybe, a bit of cake?

Hoping the sun comes out for you this afternoon. 😊

Thank you! It's a bit extreme, living like this, but maybe the rest of the winter will be mild temperatures again. Just have to get through these couple of weeks :-)

I am so happy we now have a shower with a glass cabin around it! When we moved in here, there was only a bathtub and a hose to go with it, so we had to sit in the bath and hose ourselves down. It was always a question of do I keep my legs warm, or my upper body?. This shower is so blissfully warm :D

and, maybe, a bit of cake?

I hope so, yes :D

Right bring in warm summer nights fishing and sitting fire side at a bonfire

so nice photo.
too cold here too. :D

Wow, this is really cold inside. I hope it will be better in the next days. :-)

Thanks, me too :-)

Hang in there with the cold. Is it possible to insulate the walls, or is this a proper log cabin where that would be too much of a pain to manage?

Just be careful with chopping wood: it's easy to get a hand of, but make sure you keep your feet clear when you're giving it a good swing. My steel toes probably saved me from a cut or 2 (or at least more visibly damaged shoes) when I first started learning because I wasn't standing in the smartest way.

Sadly that would be too much of a pain to manage. It would cost us loads of money, which I'd rather save to spend on a real house in the future :-)

Luckily, they have already cut the wood into handy logs which we now only have to split :D
It does all sound scary to do, but we have plenty of people around who know exactly how to work with wood, so that helps a lot.

The weather is really conditional. I love cold though compare to this hot part of Africa. Nice post, am a fan.

Oh yes, I can imagine! I don't like extreme hot weather either.

Please let's follow and upvote each other.

wonderful.it's a nice blog.keep it up.hope people will be pike on this.keep sharing

a very good post
will you check my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47