Good morning Steemit

in #blog7 years ago

How are you all doing today?

It's friday, which means it's almost weekend! Do you have any plans?

Header sunrise

We've got a housewarming to go to tomorrow. That of one of my boyfriend's cousins. He's been in the house for quite a while already, but I guess it wasn't completely finished until now. We've been over there before, for dinner and such.

We'll also be taking our bows with us, because it is really, really close to my boyfriend's dad's place, so we can practice some archery. It's been a while, so I'm happy!

So yesterday, I spend hours online, looking for cheap little containers to buy, so I could experiment with making some cremes. After hours of searching, I decided to not buy anything, because honestly, there weren't good deals. The containers themselves weren't all that expensive, but the shipping costs or times were crazy.

I decided I'll just use bigger containers I already have lying around. Then I decided that wouldn't do, so I looked up how to make clay at home. So now, I've got three small, 'clay' pots lying to dry. I'm curious to see if it really works, because the main ingredients were basically just flour and salt. I had to form the little pots over small shot glasses. We'll see! Otherwise, no harm done, right?

I also had a bit of a stomach ache yesterday. It got worse when I sat on my desk chair, so this morning, I decided to make my desk higher, so I'm now standing while I'm typing this. I should really do this more often again. Besides that, I need a day filled with less pc time, so I'll just be doing some chores, read a book, and/or watch Netflix for most of the day.

And with that, my friends, I'll end this little write-up.

Don't forget to join the Marvelous Tales Contest (and upvote it to support the competing authors), and get yourself an awesome Steemit shirt or device cover while you're at it!

Have a good day!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |


Want to satisfy your creative needs? Join the Marvelous Tales Contest!

My own image used as a header for my blog posts.



Fair warning: Copy/paste comment and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

@playfulfoodie, do you have a restaurant supply store in your town. If you go through containers like I do, you can get them cheaper buying in bulk. My plans for tomorrow are to edit a bunch of video interviews I did at the local market I sell my products at..and Saturday, I don't know, I just get out of bed, drink my coffee and decide what I want to do that day. May I will drive to South Point and film some of the tourist on the ramp trying to get the nerve to cliffjump. Newbies take for ever to work up the nerve to jump off..Many stand there forever just to say "Hell no" and walk off. What's even more funny is watching the little local Hawaiian kids walk up to them, and try to encourage them. I think they do this to get them to hurry so they can jump and they do. They just step out on the ramp and jump. They then climb up the ladder or the lava rock and do it again and again. I love the idea with the clay pots and shot glasses. it would be kinda cool to paint a design on the outside..meep meep.

Hmm... you know what, I can honestly tell you I have no idea if we have a restaurant supply store! I'm not sure what the Dutch equivalent would be... I was just planning on going to Ikea some day to see if they have something useful there.

Oh my gosh, that sounds so scary! I don't think I'd be brave enough to even walk all the way up to the end! Sounds like an awesome way to spend some time though :D

So far, the clay pots aren't looking too good. I think the 'clay' made by flour and salt isn't really working out. It was worth a shot though. I was going to coat them with nail polish to make them waterproof, but I guess I won't have to do that now.

playfulfoodie, if this is truly your vision and passion, you will find a way to make it yourself. or better yet, the universe will show you the way. Drop the fear and take that long walk to the end..You have nothing to fear but fear itself. Maybe it would help to write a post asking for suggestions here on steemit. You have your very own "Think Tank." to tap into. That is what I love so much about this community, every one caring and sharing and being of service to others.

Aww thank you so much for this sweet reply @thethreehugs! I'll find some good containers for my experiments. I've told my boyfriend this week that it's all still very hard for me to decide what to do with my life. Go back to IT, or start something for myself by creating things. He understands that I need time to get our lives sorted, before I can decide. Not long now though, we'll be moving soon and then we can sell our houses and that will lift such a weight off my shoulders.

It'll be okay in the end, I'm sure! And you're absolutely right, if I need any help or knowledge, Steemit is a great resource :-)

i know what you mean. I am struggling with that same issue. Just trying to do the balancing act right now.

Good luck with your lotion and cremes project.

Thank you very much :D

I did not know that song yet! I don't think it'll be my new favorite though ;-)

Its actually a spoof from a horror movie.
Silence of the Lambs

Yeaaaaah I didn't have the urge to watch that movie yet :D

I just came to comment on the pots.. I've had a plan to start a small business making some jam, but I've noticed how glass cans can be expensive! Unless if you buy then in bigger amounts and I wouldn't want to start trying to make 90 kilos of jam in case nobody wants to buy it.

I could pay smaller prices for some cans for the jam but it too would cost pretty much as they are really expensive when bought in small amounts. At least I haven't found a proper deal yet.

Yeah, I have the same problem. I would like to first try with small amounts. I still need to try and make these cremes and test them for myself, so I can't go buying in bulk. When buying in bulk, it's not really a problem, because they'll be less expensive, but I'm not there yet.

I hope you find a good solution! Maybe clean out your own glass cans, if you ever buy them with jam or veggies or something. That way, you'll just have to find a way to remove the stickers.

I've had some of the used cans and I'm using them for personal use and for friends, but I don't want to use them when selling to "real" customers :D It'd look somewhat cheap and it could be a long term imago loss for me if I'd seem like a low quality jam trader.

Yeah, I can understand that. It's how I'm working with my things now. Re-using stuff for personal use, but I can't do that if I want to start selling...

I hope you manage to find a cheap deal for a small amount of cans :D

archery??? can my dragon come?? lol

hi 2.png

Shooting from the back of a dragon, sounds like fun!

lol he prefers to watch but I can ask him lol

standinf desk huh? ever tried origami ?

I have not! I think I would get very frustrated by it and also wonder if it's harder to do with long nails...

lol yea it can get frustrating at times even with short nails lol

Hello @playfulfoodie, I don't know exactly what you were looking for but maybe this site can help you out! http://www.comatec.fr/
I've bought quite of a lot of small equipments with them when I was in the hotel industry! Really some very modern containers they got!

Your homemade cly pots can be an amazing idea, very original!
Wish you have a great time tomorrow!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Thanks @progressivechef! The site it not really working well for the English part, but that's okay! I'll be heading to Ikea today, so I might be able to pick something up there.

Thanks so much for thinking with me on this one!

A creative solution on the pots! Yeah, I finally had to get a stand desk with all the screen time my job requires. It really took the stress off of my lower back and keeps me more awake. Less coffee breaks....lol!

Yes! I really like my stand desk, though I do have to switch often enough, or my back will start hurting. I also bought a bike for underneath it, so I can cycle while working on the pc (or gaming). It's being used as a clothes rack right now though... oops!
Once we move, I'll be using it for what it was intended again :-)

Really?! Great Idea, I will have look into doing that myself. Gaming and biking all at once, my kind of lady. Best of luck on a smooth move!

Thank you very much! :D

so we can practice some archery. It's been a while, so I'm happy!

You practice Archery?! That's Cool!!

I need a day filled with less pc time, so I'll just be doing some chores, read a book, and/or watch Netflix for most of the day.

hmmm.. less PC time? you watch Netflix on mobile? a Tablet? anyway... having less electroics in your days once in a while really helps.

actually I heard that even sleeping in the same room with a working computer, affects the brain waves. don't know if this is right...

Don't forget to join the Marvelous Tales Contest

Upvoted that post, still thinking if I can participate or not.

Yes, we started archery a little over half a year ago! I don't like the club we're on though, so we don't practice a lot right now. We'll be moving to my boyfriend's dad's property soon, where we can practice in his big backyard. He even set up special practice areas, because he practices himself aswell. Wins quite a lot too!

Less PC time, no matter how hard it is! I kind of want to play Black Desert Online, but I'm sure I'll survive my day without it. I'll play tonight instead.

My boyfriend has a PS3 (I think), which we hooked up to the tv. Netflix is on there, so I can lie down in my comfy chair and watch Netflix! Though reading a book would be nice too.

Thanks for the upvote on the contest! It's not very popular yet, so for now, prices are based on the payouts of that post, so any upvote there is great for the rewards. I'm trying to remind people a bit more about the contest to get more contenders :-)

Wish you all good luck!!

Morning!! That's cool you just made some little pots. Shot glasses always come in handy!!

Definitely! I'm still not sure if they will harden enough, but we'll see :D

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.86 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81