Good morning Steemit

in #blog7 years ago

First things first:

Remember me asking you guys which picture to submit to Art at SteemFest? Well, opinions were widely spread, but in the end, this one got a small majority:

Mist at dawn
(Also available in my Redbubble shop)

So I just submitted that one and I hope you'll get to see it in Lisboa next month! Be sure to snap me a picture, because sadly, I won't be attending myself.

Right, with that out of the way, I'll go into my usual details of the weather. Well, there's less sun this morning than there was yesterday, but it's supposed to get even warmer today. I get to air out the place again this afternoon I guess!

It was nice and warm yesterday with lots of sun, so for archery, I tried picking the 3D animals that let me stand in the sun, instead of the shade. We didn't practice for very long, because my boyfriend wasn't feeling too great. He had a headache all day.

We also did groceries. Now groceries on a sunday is very much not done in this little community, because most people here are still all for sunday church day and resting day. That's all well and good for them I guess and they should do whatever they want. It's just a bit of an inconvenience to me. We had to go for a little drive to get to a store in the big city that was actually open. This, while I was used to being able to just walk over to one in my old city.

Oh well, it's a small sacrifice to make for a nice area to live in.

I don't really get the people who are against opening times on sunday though. It's not even just the stores. Some don't even want the swimming pool to open up on sunday. I mean, what does it benefit them if nothing opens up? If someone doesn't want to do anything else besides going to church on sunday, I wouldn't force them to do anything else. But hey, why not let other people make their own choices?

Some stores do want to open up on sunday, because they're losing purchases to the big city stores that do open up. It really isn't that unusual anymore for grocery stores to open up on sunday afternoon.

I know one of the reasonings behind places staying closed on sunday is that employees won't have a day off, but I just don't get that reasoning. It's not like they suddenly have to work more hours in the week. If anything, it opens up more job opportunities, because sunday shifts need to get filled aswell. Hey, isn't that neat for non-believers who want to earn a little extra on one of their two non-school days?

I don't know, I guess not everyone goes all-rational when thinking about this stuff. I am a firm non-believer myself, so I guess I can't relate at all to the sunday rest day thing.

Anyway, where was I? Right, groceries! I'm happy we got to do them yesterday, because saturday was way too busy for us and we were too tired to go out again after all the cleaning and moving. My boyfriend uses the car for work all other days, so I can't do big shopping a lot. If I go by bike, I can't take a lot with me and if I go to the neighbours, well they are mainly there for fresh veggies and fruit.

Honestly though, I do notice some minor differences to people here, compared to further up north where all the 'down to earth' kinda folk supposedly lives (I'm one of them). And this is only an hour's drive away! I guess it mainly has to do with the amount of christians (or other God believers, I'm not sure about the differences, but each church has their own flavour, right?) in the area. I've lived further to the east of here and they were pretty much the same as the people I'm used to up north (de Achterhoek). Here, you still have that small village 'news travels fast' kinda stuff and less open minded people.

I'm not sure if I'm making enemies now by writing this. I'm not intending to, just writing like I see it. You know, like I normally do.

Well, it is what it is. I think I've gone on about this long enough now. This was supposed to be a blog about my days.

My days are pretty slow anyway. Weekend was good and productive. I got some new stuff for my cooking/baking, so who knows. I might have more to talk about tomorrow!

Have a good day!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |

Want to satisfy your creative needs? Join the Marvelous Tales Contest!

Become my patron and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!


As always, this picture is made and owned by me and is not to be used without my permission. If you would like to use it in any way, please contact me or visit my Deviantart or Photography shop for a purchase.



Fair warning: Copy/paste comment and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

I love you openness and honesty, no enemies made here :) Sounds like a nice little community you live in outside of the city. Lot's of nature around, but as I know from my years of travel, no place is perfect.

And that's a great pic by the way, hope you win!

-Dan

Thanks Dan! I am very happy to live here now. I never liked living in the city much. I grew up in a small town surrounded by nature and am glad to have that again here :-)

I also dont understand why the shops are not open on Sunday, here in Heerenveen only De albert heijn, Jumbo & Aldi are open the rest is closed.

Yeah, mostly it's only grocery stores that are open, which I don't mind. However, here, there's just nothing at all open :-(

Beautiful picture! Great choice :)

Thank you very much! I'm happy to hear you like my choice :D


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Good morning :)

Guten Morgen miteinander.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79