My cooking and baking projects

in #blog8 years ago

Wonder what's been going on in my kitchen lately? Let me tell you!

I have lots of free time now, having finished my job and not having another lined up yet. I'm taking this time to relax and regain some much needed energy (and to finally get my house properly cleaned and tidied up!). I also figured I could use this time to experiment with cooking and baking.

My dinners haven't been very interesting, except for the Teriyaki couscous I shared with you last week. I've been busier with baking and chocolate experiments. My favorite lately has been the Sesame seed cookies I shared two weeks ago. I very much liked them and so did others. I might try a different sweetener next time, just because the apple syrup taste is quite clearly present. I don't mind that at all, but I'm wondering if I can get a more neutral taste.

WIP01.jpg

Besides the cookies, I've also tried to make banana bread, or atleast something close to that. The taste was pretty good, but it was a bit too dry for my liking. I've adjusted the recipe somewhat and will probably give it another try today.

I'm still having some fun with chocolate aswell. I tried to make white chocolate, filled with strawberry cream, but it did not work out. I still have to find a good way to keep it all in one piece. During my first (and most recent) try, all but one of the chocolates broke when trying to free them from the form, meaning the top stayed in the form and the cream filling was... well... no filling, but actually on the outside.

WIP02.jpg

I'll try again later!

I told you about my attempts to make my own chocolate. I tried a couple of times more and I still can't find a good way to take the intensity down. All I can do so far is make really dark chocolate. I've tried with milk powder, but that just won't resolve in oils. Yesterday, all it did was clump up together, so again, I simply have dark chocolate.

WIP03.jpg

I'm going to do some more research into sweetners and maybe try to mix the milk powder with a teaspoon of water first next time. Once I have a better recipe, I'll share it!

Besides that, I made some chocolate truffles a week or two ago. I tested out some different tastes and they turned out great! I'll probably share a recipe of these soonish.

That's what I've been working on lately! When I make something worthwhile, I'll be sure to share it with you.


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Wordpress | Deviantart | Facebook | Photography shop |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


Sort:  

Did some researches shown that sweeteners are carcinogenic? you didn't mean those sugar sweeteners, did you? Cause I've stopped using those.

Oh no, I'm using honey right now, but I've seen people use agave or date syrup, so I'm going to check which one is sweetest.

Honey and apple syrup are basically the only sweeteners I'm using now, other than just using fruit for that purpose :-)

there is a date syrup?? TIL..the fruits are very sweet though.

Yes, I didn't know either, but I saw it a couple of months ago! I love dates and they are very sweet indeed. I use them in recipes sometimes, but they are hard to grind up.

Like them fresh, half-ripe, crunchy and not to sweet.

Ooh I love them when they're soft and extra sweet :-)

toooo sweet! can't blame you though :)

I would love to taste your chocolate both white and black! Look delicious!

Aww thanks! The strawberry white chocolate did taste quite nice, but broken like that, I couldn't really hand them out to anymore :-(

As far as the taste is good, it's always okay for me! Thanks for sharing! ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.64 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63656.97
ETH 2473.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66