You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Improve Your Comments and Earn!

in #blog6 years ago

Sadly, this is one of the few downsides of Steemit at the moment. The fact that you can earn from comments has led to people simply spamming as many posts as they can in the hope of grabbing some easy earnings.

It really devalues the platform, and is insulting to the person who spent time creating their post. I guess the only way to stop it from happening is to never upvote or follow people who clearly use this tactic.

It's a shame because there is a great community here, and many people are missing out on some great discussions in an attempt at the easy route!

Sort:  

That's right, not upvoting them and also educating them how they should do it can really help. Downvotes/flags are helpful as well, if they really won't listen, but always try to lecture them first before doing that and give them the benefit of the doubt, not everyone knows the norm in the platform.

Absolutely. I haven't flagged anyone yet as I think everyone deserves a chance, and sometimes there can be a bit of a language barrier to explain why some comments don't make much sense. I'd only start flagging people if I saw them doing it regularly, but I certainly wouldn't upvote any comments that seemed to be a cut/paste.

I usually just flag real spam, those that take up too much space in the comments section needs to be hidden.

I do get lots of comments that don't make sense at all, some people do not speak english and rely on machine translation so that's why some words don't add up. If I try translating my local language to English - there are times it'll make super funny sentences.

Much appreciated, sir! I have upvoted your comments too, but I don't hold much weight yet haha. Have a good sleep, nice chatting to you!

By the way, I gave you upvotes. Thanks for chatting, I need to sleep now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42