inequality

in #blog6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-04-29 at 4.42.28 PM.png

Environmental Ethics has been a way of exploring my thoughts and beliefs on controversial topics that often get overlooked or left out of the discussions among typical conversations that we have day to day. While topics like climate change, women's rights, and animal well being are hard to discuss, it's often the hard discourse that's most beneficial or needed. The class always differed in beliefs on topics and this provided for some great talking points and a safe platform was given to state your side. Environmental ethics has challenged the ideologies that have been ingrained in my mind since the public school system. The world will have you believe in the rat race with visions of the “American Dream” on the surface this is fine, work hard, get educated, have a good life, but behind the scenes, only the private corporations are profiting, while it may seem like we are profiting too, but receiving discounted goods and services that wouldn't be possible without globalization and capitalism. This course has shown the true colors as to how these “benefits” are achieved. The three best articles that conveyed this message and shed some light on the true costs of the life we live would be the film “Maquilapolis”, the reading from Gruen and Adams “an introduction to ecofeminism”, and “Environmental Racism” by Foster and Cole. As I said earlier, these all tie into first world consumption and capitalism in their own way what I appreciated most was that each of these stories presents it from a side that it is original and unique in response to the collective issue or problem.

Maquilapolis was the most graphic but was also the most realistic depiction I've seen of our consumption habits in the first world. The film followed around a group of women, mostly single mothers called Promotoras, paving the way for equity for factory workers in the global south. These are mothers on the front lines fighting for their and their children's futures, with what little time and resources they can muster up. They mostly educating others about rights being violated and the environmental degradation that is taking place in their backyards. The creak in her backyard used to be crystalline, with abundant life and providing recreation for her children to fish, now the only recreation being provided is for the buses and trucks. The watercolor shifts from black, red, green, or foamy. Even the animals avoid entering the water with goats utilizing the bridge that the community uses to cross.

Environmental Ethics has allowed me to discourse thoughts and ideas that I would have never sought out on my own, for instance, Ecofeminism was an incredible topic to digest. This along with Maquilapolis and Environmental racism have helped me find my passion and where I want to focus my energy and what kind of goals to set. This course has altered my future in a positive and beneficial way to not only me but society. I have learned that these issues, primarily inequality for the poor, people of different race, and woman is very much real and active in every industry. I will spend my time focusing on solutions to combat these issues, with hopes of solving the problems at the root cause and not applying bandages to wounds. I have always been interested in this but after learning what I have I am no longer able to sit idly by and do nothing. Environmental Ethics has taught me everyone can play a role in creating positive change.

image3.JPG
Jordan Palmer
Instagram: @Pordanjalmer
Twitter: @Pordanjalmer
Youtube:https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSVrO-7hjcuLVz3Qf_AEMOA
My BTC address for donations:
33GZCPhprUj7iUME5Zxm2B9cL2xG6Du7NF
BCash Address: 1AzZu8vXnuKGmp4tx1fJe36PaNhfALU4uZ
Litecoin Address: LPSuzj8fbgskVUuo9zdcBFZ548rLdv8cXw
ETH Address:0xE690B42E9eD9Dc68bE7e1c3Ec1bfd716ffA2D8fC

NEO:ATmv6FYzdFq3g7ge28FxXvXPUXExh2fSxE
https://linktr.ee/pordanjalmer

Sort:  

🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔🐔

why waste time?

why?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10