Waking in the middle of the night....

in #blog5 years ago

Sometimes I wake up too early, when it's still the middle of the night. Eyes wide in the dark I hear the whines of ghosts of the past. -

Sleepless dreams my mind wanders to them like zombies to the living and I remember when I didn't make the best choices for myself. -

Demons only I must live with, I know them well, and I look back and wonder who that girl was. Who was that girl that made those bad decisions for herself? -


Then I remember that she is me and I am her and in this life we will all fill a closet with skeletons but the only way to step out on that darkness is to let yourself out.


I am not my mistakes and I will not allow them to be me. I will look myself in the eye and I will tell myself that it's okay, i will do better next time, because we all deserve a second chance from ourselves.

Who I was yesterday is not who I am today and the only thing I can do in those precious moments after the storm is collect what I have left of the human I know myself to be and aim higher. Move forward and reach for the higher road next time.
We can all collect ourselves and rise above.

Don't allow your yesterday to control your tomorrow.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35