How I Grow & Eat All-Natural, Chemical-Free, Organic Food From My House

in #blog7 years ago

This is the main entrance to my house. It is located in Phase 1 of Defence Housing Authority in Karachi, Pakistan. The house occupies a space of 1240 square yards.

20171117_174841.jpg

My house has three separate entrances. Not only is my house a source of all-natural, organic home grown food, but also a source of income. Because of its sheer size and the small size of my family, we are able to rent out a significant portion which provides a steady stream of income.

Although Pakistan is an underdeveloped third-world country, I am fortunate enough to be a part of the 1% of our society that is privileged. Unlike the majority of the "Elite" out here in Pakistan, my grandfather, father and I have worked hard and honestly for our money.

Our house was built in 1957 by my grandfather. We've made numerous renovations since then. In this post, I will just introduce you to a small part of my house. Currently, we are in the process of renovating our kitchen. Actually, we're always doing maintenance work and renovation throughout the year because the house is so big.

I can advise you on potential investment opportunities and will do in my future posts. Not many people are aware of the incredible investment opportunities in Pakistan. Although I am not fully aware of investment opportunities in all of Pakistan, I am familiar with the area that I live in. For the most part, I can only advise you regarding real estate opportunities.

Just to give you an example, my father bought a piece of land for $70 in 1976 and now that same piece of land is worth $1.5 million dollars. These days, if you've got some cash, I can point you to places where you can invest your money so that it will pay off in the future. Contrary to what the media may have you believe, Pakistan will be one of the top 20 economies of the world by the year 2030.

Don't think of Pakistan as a failed state. I believe that the future of our country is bright due to several reasons which I'll discuss in my future posts. Anyway, I kind of went off on a tangent there. Here's a snapshot of part of my lawn and terrace area where my late grandfather, a World War II veteran who fought in Burma, used to sit in the evenings.

20171117_174837.jpg

My grandfather, along with my grandmother, moved to the newly created country called Pakistan after the partition of 1947. If you're not aware of this, India and Pakistan used to be ONE country ruled by the British Empire. Modern day Bangladesh was also a part of this massive land region called the Indian Subcontinent. I'm not going to go into all the details of how all these countries came to be in this post. I might discuss it in a future post, but you can always google it and I suggest that you do because it's very interesting.

Just to give you an idea, this is what the Indian Subcontinent looked like, prior to 1947 partition, when the Britishers left:

This is what the Subcontinent looks like now:

I've studied international relations quite a bit and what I can tell you is that history is a very important subject because it teaches us many, many life lessons.

Below, you can see some random plants. Can you identify any of them?

20171117_174828.jpg

20171117_174812.jpg

Here's some fresh, home-grown spinach. Spinach is really good for you, especially if it's organic. The way we cook it makes it really delicious as well.

20171117_174809.jpg

Below is a snapshot of our servant quarters. A few of our servants live with us. The servants who live in these quarters are common, semi-skilled laborers who work in construction. Our other servants who mainly clean the house, do the cooking, and maintain the garden come to work early in the morning and leave by the afternoon.

These are papaya trees as you might have guessed. Fresh and organic papaya is also really good for you, especially for your digestive system. People also drop by our house because they want papaya leaves which help fight the dengue virus - common in Pakistan.

20171117_174802.jpg

Harsh weather prevents us from many things out here in Karachi. So, sometimes we just let the wild plants grow as well:

20171117_174750.jpg

One thing that I absolutely hate about Karachi is the damn weather. Also, the traffic out here is outrageous.

Check out the coriander that we also grow in our home:

20171117_174718.jpg

I hope you liked this blog. Please leave comments below. If you've got questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

Sort:  

I came looking for recipes, but read about lots of other interesting things. Thank you!
I appreciated your comment "my grandfather, father and I have worked hard and honestly for our money" ;-)
I used to read https://www.dawn.com/ for news about Pakistan. Do you think its coverage is reliable?

Thank you for checking out this blog and commenting. In general, I've found Dawn news to be a reliable source of information. They have a secular outlook just like the founder of Pakistan. If you read dawn news, then I suggest that you continue to read it. However, the only way you'll be able to get the right information about Pakistan is by interacting with people who actually live here. You could also visit as well. I'd be happy to take you around!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56166.62
ETH 2397.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37