Why so negative?

in #blog7 years ago




Every post that I’ve seen so this week has the effect of trying to depress and discourage me with crypto and Steemit.




Why?




I know it’s been a bad couple of months for your portfolio. We all felt the January bloodbath. Then it leveled off again and then declined again. At the moment there is no sign of a large recovery but coming into December most coins were at this level anyway. Bitcoin has taken one of the worst hits but for most of the alt coins it only feels so bad due to the huge run up until the new year. Every coin was making huge gains. You couldn’t lose no matter what you bought.

Look at it this way. When I first joined Steemit six months ago the price was $1.33. Today, even after the steady decline for the past 2 months it is at $2.80. More than twice what it was.

This time 1 year ago the price was $0.08.

Just 8c per coin. Now that is some major jump in just twelve months. If we manage to see the same level of growth over this next twelve months, STEEM would be sitting on a price of $98.00 per coin.
(Now I have to say that I don’t think that it will in twelve months, but I do see it getting there at some stage.)

Yesterday there were 63,000 people active on the site, with over 800,000 accounts on the block chain. All the areas on Steemit that I use or enjoy have more people participating and there are new tools coming on stream every day. We have finally heard about movement on the SMT side of things and are eagerly awaiting the airdrop of vice tokens.

Personally I can see a lot of positives here at the moment.

What I would like to see coming on site next would be better communities so that people can find better content. It can be very hard to find the right people to follow on the site and even harder to get found when you are starting off. Getting those first 100 followers was a struggle that I wouldn’t wish on any user. Luckily I found some good people who helped and guided me towards the next one hundred a lot faster and easier. Looking forward to hitting 500 and upwards.

I would like to see an end to the infighting between the whales as I really find it off putting for the people further down the chain. I can be so frustrating to see these people who should be leading us into the future fighting between themselves over rewards. You can’t even have a say in case they decide to destroy your account to which the average user has no defense.

I would like to see a system in place to help and nurture our brand new users so that they stick with it through the first couple of months and get into a position to really enjoy themselves.


(I would also love to see STEEM hit $98.00 but we still need to have something to aim for next year.)






All content written in this article is my opinion only. Any transactions that I make are from my own research and decisions. Trade at your own risk.

Sort:  

I think the problem is that people jumped onto the crypto hype train during the peak seasons. That to me was the first mainstream hit which invited loads of new money. Fast forward 3 months into this new year and we are seeking corrections and lots of people are "bailing" or calling on people saying "where are my x1000 gains".

It would be lovely to see steem hit 98. I only just started Steemit and it has introduced me to the crypto world! Great post :)

That is definitely part of the problem. Oeople jumped in without any knowledge and with huge expectations.
Slow steady gains would be ideal for the next few months and let everything have a chance to settle down. All the ralk of regulations are having an effect aswell i think and people are waiting on the outcome of those. I love steemit and all that it offers so im happy just moving along on here.

Hi at @niallon11 and I couldn't agree more with all you put in this post. I love opinionated people when they put across something that needs opinionating on. Yay I love upfront and honest people. Take care @racykacy

It's fine to have opinions, especially different ones as long as we can talk about them rationally and come up with ideas based on that. The main problem that I see every day is that people aren't willing to accept that other people have different opinions and that they can be equally as valid. Every story has two sides to it.

Again I couldn't agree more. And yes there is always two sides to a story, that being our side @niallon11 and the bullshit side... LOL Take care @racykacy

Yeah, I agree it has been pretty negative on here lately. I like that you are optimistic and I've been trying to be optimistic as well. I wish I would have bought Steem at 0.08! I think I am going to buy a little more today :)

It would have been nice to pick up a couple of thousand sp at the start. You can see that all the people who joined a year ago and are active are doing very well. They all have high reps, lots of followers and thousands of sp.
I would like to think that this time next year we will be in that position as all the new members are looking up at us.

How does the SMT airdrop work @niallon11 and when will it happen??

SMT won't be an airdrop as it is multiple tokens that can be set up for various sites wanting to run a steemit style system on the blockchain. We will however be getting an airdrop for vice coin that is confirmed. With a few other coins unconfirmed at the moment. Vicecoin took a snapshot of the steem blockchain in December and will be awarding free vice tokens based on how much steem you were holding. I don't have any details on how yet, as they are still at ico stage right now but more details to follow.

This is pretty complicated, but thanks @niallon11. I'm gonna have to meditate on these meaning..

https://steemit.com/blog/@niallon11/one-for-the-future-vice-coin
Read this for vice coin, it explains what it is and what they are doing. For SMT's just search it out and you might enjoy the read, it's very interesting stuff.

Thank you stunner..

OMG
Really I Don"t know this.
Thanks brother .

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62