Can taking LSD enhance creative thinking and cognitive performance?

in #blog7 years ago

ls.png

It's the summer of 1966 and scientists from Stanford, Hewlett-Packard, and elsewhere have arrived at the International
Foundation for Advanced Study (IFAS) in Menlo Park CA. The volunteers have each agreed to take a somewhat low dose
of legal LSD, and attempt to solve "three highly technical work problems" that they've been unable to solve for at least a
few months. The researchers at IFAS are testing to see if lsd can increase cognitive performance and creative thinking.

At 9:30 am, the scientists were dosed with 100 micro grams of lsd, given eye shades and headphones, and asked to lay back on
the comfortable furniture until it had fully kicked in. Around 10am, in the main office next door, a registered letter had
arrived. The letter, from the United States FDA, ordered IFAS to stop administering lsd immediately. IFAS was not the only
institution that received that letter that day. These would be the last 3 scientists, of 26, IFAS had dosed in the previous
months. Although the research was halted before being completed, here is some of the data that was gathered. Of the 26
participants, some included an electronics engineer, a furniture derringer, a commercial artist, and a theoretical mathematician. The studies involved participants with jobs involving hard science to test the effects of lsd on visual and analytical thinking. Some participants said their mind had become one with the universe. Each one of the
participants, after the effects had worn off, remained firm in the face that lsd had absolutely helped them solve their complex problems. Shortly after the experiences some participants went on to release wildly accepted innovations, such as a mathematical theorem for NOR gate circuits, a linear electron accelerator beam-steering device, a technical improvement of the magnetic tape recorder, new space probe experiments, a conceptual model of a photon, and more!

So what is LSD? Lysergic Acid Diethylamide is a psychedelic drug that was first synthesized by Albert Hoffman in 1938.
Lsd is synthesized from ergotamine, a chemical from the fungus erogot. Hoffman was a chemist for Sandoz laboratories and
was working on introducing new pharmaceuticals to the market. In 1943, after sitting on a shelf for over 5 years,
Hoffman decided to reexamine LSD. When re synthesizing it, Hoffman accidentally ingested a small dose and noticed the
effects it gave him. Three days later on April 19th 1943, Hoffman ingested 250 micro grams of LSD. April 19th is now known
world wide as Bicycle Day, because Hoffman initially felt the effects on the lsd as he rode his bike home. Nearly 70 years
later in a speech Hoffman gave on his 100th birthday he said "LSD gave me an inner joy, an open mindedness, a gratefulness,
open eyes and an internal sensitivity for the miracles of creation. I think that in human evolution it has never been as
necessary to have this substance. It is a tool to turn us into what we are supposed to be." A lot of other great minds
have also had wonderful things to say about this magical substance. Steve jobs said LSD was "one of the two or three
most important things I have done in my life". Other notable people who have publicly praised their person use of LSD
include Jack Nicholson, Angelina Jolie, Cary Grant, Shia Labeouf, Joe Rogan, Aldous Huxley
and more!

Despite being a schedule 1 drug, there has been a huge resurgence in the past 10 years of psychedelics for both
recreational and medicinal use. LSD has shown to be non addictive, and far safer than legal drugs like alcohol or tobacco.
Recent studies from John Hopkins University have also shown that just a singe dose of psychedelic mushrooms can treat
depression and anxiety better than current pharmaceuticals on the market, and I think one day soon, we will see it legal
in the United States. My personal use of psychedelics have been some of the most meaningful and insightful times I've ever of
my life. It has allowed me to open my mind in different ways and see the world in a whole new way.

What are your thoughts? Do you use psychedelics? Have they helped you?

Sort:  

Couldn't agree more! It's like life is in black and white before trying LSD!

That is an awesome way of putting it!

Haha that's how I felt :)

Both tryptamines and disassociates have helped me tremendously with depression. I have tried most antidepressants but they made the symptoms worse, did not help or just made me feel numb. With regular dosing of psychedelics I can live a somewhat functioning life without having to sacrifice my emotional life. I don't need to take a full on trip, microdosing is sufficient.

I wish the time will come when our regulators will realize the potential good these kinds of drugs can do and stop criminalizing users of them.

I have only just recently tried microdosing 1P-LSD for a couple months, and it has helped my depression TREMENDOUSLY! I agree that the prohibition of any drug is a violation of human rights.

Great to hear! It's nice meeting others with the same experiences regarding microdosing. It makes it easier living with the stigma and fear.

Researchers are making progress in the US and they are expecting FDA approval for LSD and MDMA in therapeutic settings sometime in the 2020s . Hopefully it will create a new more approving climate for the debate here in the EU.

That is so awesome to hear man!! And yes I plan to talk about this more in future posts as well. Nice to meet you!

Nice to meet you as well, I'll be keeping an eye on your stuff

So awesome to hear that these substances have helped you. They help millions of people around the world live a better life. And yes i am actually working on a post about microdosing to help explain what it is

It's really interesting how a "so called" class A drug can give your brain so many "superpowers" . In my country (Romania) LSD or any kind of psychedelics is punished really hard by the authorities.

I completely understand the fact that these substances, taken in large doses can permanently alter your reality, but like EVERYTHING in this world, too much can harm and destroy.

I've tried microdosing mushrooms for a week. Not only it helps bring up your mood but you start seeing things from different perspectives, different angles. I feel that the whole world should benefit from these amazing things.

Yeah, the "superpowers" is a nice side effect. I'm pretty sure it makes my cognition better, I have an easier time digesting information and analyzing it. My thought process is also much clearer, as it gets rid of the brain fog i experience.

Hey! You're def correct! Everything with moderation! You said LSD was a class A drug in Romania, are mushrooms as well?

I have taken LSD and others psychedelics like psylocibine and marijuana for a few months and I have to say that this experience has helped me to know a little bit more about me and people, and about the universe and the correlation over all things we do in this reality. Thanks for share this!!

Thanks for reading! I agree!

I agree with this article whole heartedly. I first did LSD in 1968. I was amazed with it then. Later on some bad LSD was being distributed. Laced with Stricknine. Could'nt tell you why anybody would do that. Must have been for profit, but it made me stear clear of it from then on. I will do again, but I'm not sure how I could rely on purity of street purchase illegal substance. Been reading lately about the trips people are taking to Peru, for their phychodelic concoction. I know what they are saying about the power of enlightenment is true, because of my own experiences with LSD. Thanks for the article.

Wow that's crazy! Its also fascinating to me that you had this experience almost 50 years before I did! I honestly wouldn't buy it off the "street", you never know what you're getting unless you get a test kit. However there are very reputable sellers on dark markets

I took acid a few times in my teens and they certainly helped my creative thought processes. It was like it opened my mind to other possibilities. I haven't taken any more acid for decades now, but when I am EXTREMELY tired from weeks of poor sleep for example, I feel almost like a flashback into that state - very strange.

Indeed! HPPD is a condition where people having flashbacks/sensory disturbances. Not sure if that's what you're experiencing

They never did much for my creativity! 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60748.61
ETH 2912.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36