Why Jennifer Lawrence's realness is so powerful

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Realness. What a fucking attractive quality to have.

Excuse my words. But don't you think?!

A friend just sent me this interview with Jennifer Lawrence. Powerful. That's the only word I have. For her realness. Honesty. Claiming to speak her truth.


Credit: Photographed by Norman Jean Roy, Vogue, September 2012

I remember watching an interview with her. Saying that she had promised to herself to say things out loud what no one else dares to say. Isn't this the bravest thing to do?

That's what an actor gets trained in.

Anyone who says acting is pretending is saying bullshit. It's about being in the scene with your whole soul. With everything you are. Comitting fully. And letting your feelings shine through. Not holding back anymore and covering up. As you do in your normal life.

It's fucking freeing.

Excuse my words again. After reading this article I feel a bit like Jennifer. Haha. That's what I got trained in. Absorbing characters by reading their words.

I had a problem with being real.

Back to being real. I had a big problem with being real. I thought I had to be loved by everyone around me. So what did I do? I shut my mouth. I didn't want to run the risk that no one likes me. I was scared. So I just stayed quiet. Even though I was yearning for the attention, for the love.

My whole dream would crumble.

Yesterday I had a realization about fears. You might have heard people saying: "Go for your fears. Fail big, fast and forward. That's where you find success and fulfilment." It clicked.

When I went for my first acting class, I was on the phone with my mom. And suddenly I started crying. The pressure of failing at the class was immense. What if I wasn't good at acting? My whole dream would crumble.

That's why I started with acting so late.

Because I was so fucking scared. Excuse my ... Yeah, you know already. But what I was deeply wishing for, was to be in the spotlight. Was to get all the attention. All the applause. Of course, I wanted that. That's why I was so scared of not getting it.

I always thought I didn't want to be in the spotlight.

Because I didn't like it. Bullshit. I wanted it so much and to succeed in it that the stakes were so high. And I was just conditioned to be thinking negatively. I will fail if I do it. And I probably would have. As the mind is so strong. Whatever you expect, it will happen. At least most of the time.

I can't be more grateful for my mom saying "just do it". It changed my life.

Fears are great indicators for what you actually want to do.

If it didn't have that much meaning to you, you wouldn't feel nervous or scared about it.

And going back to Jennifer.

Even though she has really high stakes. Losing her reputation as an actress. As a women's idol. As someone the world looks at every day. She is speaking her truth.

Powerful.

Thanks for reading.

Jennifer Lawrence's article: https://www.vanityfair.com/hollywood/2018/02/jennifer-lawrence-cover-story?mbid=synd_digg&utm_source=digg&utm_medium=email

Sort:  

Such a great post @newclarissa!! I believe you've hit the nail on the head, being real and honest is the key to many things in life. There is no point keeping everything bottled up inside, the people who only like you because you don't have opinions are people not worth being around. Be yourself, speak the truth and you will succeed :) I need to remind myself of this as I too am guilty of keeping my true feelings to myself!

Thank you @lifelovelifting! I also have to remind myself of it again and again. At certain points I thought I have it and then it's easy to lose it again. Steemit now will be my reminder for it. Thanks for sharing your insights. Keep it real;-)

Wow this is an awesome article. I love how you were so real and honest about what you went through.

And I want to quote you here:
''I had a big problem with being real. I thought I had to be loved by everyone around me. So what did I do? I shut my mouth. I didn't want to run the risk that no one likes me. I was scared. So I just stayed quiet. Even though I was yearning for the attention, for the love.''

YES. I did the same exact thing for most of my life, kept quiet because I was in fear and wanted people to like me - until I turned 29 and something happened where I gave my power and voice away towards a project I was passionate about, and from that I decided I'm going to speak up more and not take shit from myself and others.

Amazing! I congratulate you on that! And thanks for sharing your experience as well. It's hard to take the first step but afterwards it becomes easier even thought the pressure increases. Let's support each other. Thanks again and all the best!

Realmente no se que tiene para ser tan interesante, pero creo que Hollywood ha hecho un gran trabajo con ella.
Por cierto aún no termino de ver la serie juegos del hambrefeliz día un gran abrazo.

You have somewhat just described my youth, through my 20s at least. IT is so freeing to finally learn how to be yourself, so liberating.

Right?! It's the best thing there is I believe. Nothing can hurt or harm you when you stay true to yourself and speak it out loud. You take away the enemies weapons. Thank you for your feedback. Very appreciated.

It’s also hard to stay true but once you find that perfect balance, it’s bliss. Anyhow, great post!

Great post and arguments about Jennifer. I have always admired her as well, but lately she seems to start to pick up those mainstream hollywood looks like all other celebs. On one of her latest pics, she reminded me strongly of a cross of Charlize Theron and Sharon Stone. She starts to lose that athleticism and vitality that was unique to her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56111.00
ETH 2371.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31