You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk About Fees & Functionality Coming in the @tippy Text-to-Tip Service!

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Actually, to be fair, I suggested a lower fee percentage for greater sums would better than the reverse (higher percentage for greater sums), but that a flat fee percentage is probably the way to go. I also suggested and pointed out quite a few other things about tip bots - including the risks for the operator and users, especially if they are to scale.

Sort:  

@tippy tip ned 0.1 steem

@ned

Shouldn't a tipping purse be something that Steemit, Inc. can integrate on the site through the UI? I know I've mentioned this in the past - having an option to fill a smaller purse with an amount of STEEM/SBDs that can be tipped to users on the post with the click of a button when logged in with the posting key. Do you think that would be feasible as a wallet/UI function?

If this could be done, then it would also help bring in more potential earnings for older posts that are past the payout window...while the reader is right there on the post. (Of course, this would also assume that older posts can actually be found by simple navigation around the platform, but that's another development that needs to be tackled.)

One - upvotes are tips.

Two - transfers, which anyone can use for tips, could be implemented on the article pages - but users would need active keys. Transfers from articles pages are essentially the same function as transfers from steem wallet pages.

A smaller purse, like you described, could be accomplished as a new account balance with its own key authority - call it the tipping till - controlled by the tipping key. But this can be seen as largely a naming convention. It reflects what can already done between regular accounts and savings accounts.

My short answer is that it is possible - anything is possible, but that we will not be putting this on Steemit's near term development roadmap - as I pointed out much of the functionality already exists.

One - upvotes are tips.

Right. But upvotes don't count when the post is more than 7 days old. And if you want to give more than an upvote, you'd need to send it manually.

...but users would need active keys.

OK. That was my question - whether or not a tipping purse could handle a transaction without needing to sign in with active/owner keys. The point would be to streamline tipping when you're signed in for posting or voting and to make tipping as simple as an upvote. Any additional steps that would be required would make the function sort of pointless.

I didn't want users to have to use their keys in any way shape or form. In essence @tippy is like a reloadable debit card that you can spend faster than conventional STEEM/SBD. Which reminds me I need to get tip memos working properly so users can tip to exchanges / shapeshift or other services that require the memo field for deposits.

Part of the reason I'd started on this project months ago is to be able to avoid clicking on buttons as much as possible to streamline the way we tip eachother on here.

Although if by some miracle Steemit Inc extends interest in implementing the @tippy functionality into the GUI I'd gladly work with them to get it done. :D

Well, I actually think that clicking a button would be quicker and easier than writing it out in a comment. And it wouldn't require a lot of space in the blocks either, as minimal as it may be.

But I do appreciate the work you're putting in. At least somebody is doing it.

You've come a long way, @klye! Although, your many MS Paint drawings are missed.

A button might be easier.. Like a small "Tip" icon by usernames that only requires you type in the ammount and select currency.

I'm going to continue to develop and finish the text-to-tip service @tippy offers regardless of buttons on the front end. The idea of not having to leave a post to toss a tip at a favourite user greatly appeals to me. :)

Thanks man, I miss doodling as it was so much less complicated but I'm honestly really enjoying the code work and the challenge of creating things that will benefit our network and her users. :)

Maybe one day once everything is set up and running smoothly I can get back to my roots and start drawing like I did. Truth be told I miss doing the art and having folks actually be stoked to see my illustrations.

your many MS Paint drawings are missed.

i agree.

Tip bots like any other instant service requires a solid foundation, ie scalability is to be solved from the ground up in day one, as well as availability. Especially a tipping service requires business critical availability since people get frustrated when it doesn't work. And frustrated people are bad for the success of the service. What also is very important is the absolute flawless handling of the tips, ie once accepted by the system, it shall never be lost, so data redundancy is required. @klye will the tip administration and value recording be done on the Steem blockchain? Or will the service gets its own DB?

The current version stores its user data in a custom structured database. However I do really like the idea of somehow having all user data and stats info stored on the STEEM blockchain..! I'm not sure I'll be able to figure that out in the 2 week deadline I've given myself but if by chance I do have a breakthrough on STEEM blockchain storage of data I'll certainly be attempting an implementation in future versions.

Just make sure to have a redundant DB and make sure when you have accepted a tip, the DB storage of the tip is accepted as well by the DB. This also counts for the deliver part of the tip. I suggest you make the accept and deliver patch independent, that seems to work better int he workflow, and you can for instance accept more tips incoming then sending out in high load situations. But, such engineering requires more work. I come from an industry where most of the engineering effort went into solidifying the software then the actual features the user sees; Required for business critical system with availability figures of 5 9's.

I'm thinking I might flat fee it.. Seems to be what most would prefer!

Might be a little over tired having been up all night working on @tippy.. If I misinterpreted or botched what ideas you'd put forward to me when brainstorming my apologies captain!

There are risks as you mentioned when dealing with user funds as well as risk that government may take notice and try and ding operators for transmitting money without a license. APpreciate the insight and knowledge you've shared with me as well as the support of my STEEM service development. <3

What about autotipping by upvotes? This is implemented in Dobrobot in Golos. Works fine for me! On each my upvote Dobrobot transfers 5 Golos to user which is upvoted by me.

Interesting idea! Are there any caps on how much Golos is available to tip with the posting key?

It is fixed amount of Golos you define in memo field when transfer your donation fund to Dobrobot account. Dobrobot has no caps on it, I think, but it is not a problem to add such caps in code. It is better to deploy such bots by trusted person in the community. Dobrobot uses its active key to transfer funds.

For example, I transfer 100 Golos to @dobrobot with memo: 5.
This means that on each my upvote @dobrobot will send 5 Golos to upvoted account. So I have 20 upvotes before I get a message Your donation fund is empty, please refill.

Anytime I can change this Golos per upvote number to 10 by transfering minimum 0.01 Golos with memo: 10.

I'm just the author of the idea. The developer of the bot is @ropox.

Useful links:
https://golos.io/@dobrobot/transfers
https://gropox.github.io/dobrobot/?dobrobot=dobrobot&minBlock=5691376
https://github.com/gropox/dobrobot
https://web.telegram.org/#/im?p=@chain_cf

Damn! That is some neat functionality for sure!

Just getting into deposit memo functions on my bot now. Got a bunch accomplished today but will certainly check this lead out. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43