You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Life's Journey - Life's Card Game - Part 6 - Giving Hope

in #blog5 years ago

What a journey! I was away on a course last week, and I came back to chaos, so I've only just caught up on the previous part of your story.
It's very interesting for me, because my mother had a bad fall a couple of years ago (she's in her 80s) and at first she just seemed to have a very badly bruised face, but after a couple of days she started to slur her words, and then she was rushed to hospital. It turned out to be a subdural haematoma. I think it wasn't as bad as your father's, because it only affected her brain - which was bad enough! She had an urgent brain operation, and afterwards she completely lost her speech. The doctors didn't know whether she'd ever regain it.
After a few days, her speech returned - only every single word was nonsense. This was a very scary time for all of us. She was in hospital for a month, but she gradually got better, and regained her speech. Her memory sometimes fails, but apart from that she has made a remarkable recovery.
When it initially happened and she was suddenly rushed to hospital, I got one of the worst colds I can remember having. These things can affect us physically as well as emotionally. I'm really glad that your father recovered, and I'm looking forward to reading what happened next.

Sort:  

Well, your story is very similar to my father's story. And we both had similar feelings about it when it happened, but I made a mistake on how to deal with those feelings as instead of letting them out I kept them inside... But, that is a story for some other time.

The biggest problem in my case was the hospitals which showed me how small is the number of truly QUALIFIED doctors are working in hospitals today. I feel too many of them cheated on tests instead of learning to get their diplomas....

In the next part, the drama will start to unfold, but our stories are very similar. So thank you for sharing your story with me. Have an amazing day. :)

Goodness! I think most of the doctors in our hospitals are qualified - apart from some very rare fraud cases... I have to say that my mum's initial treatment for her head injury, including the operation, was just fantastic. There were issues around her "rehabilitation" care after the operation though. She was put in a special ward for elderly rehabilitation where they just sat or lay in bed all day. When she was eventually discharged, her muscles had become so weak that she had difficulty getting in and out of my car.
Looking forward to reading more about your father's story and how you coped with it. I don't think anyone copes "well" in these situations!

I am not sure, my friend, but we were not confident about the doctors treating my father. Yes, he was a difficult case to handle, but it seemed like they did not know what to do for him. It seemed like they in uncharted waters hoping to find an island in a storm.

That is another thing of concern for my father. Muscle atrophy as well from laying down in bed for too long. Muscles lose function and it can lead to many other problems later.

As you will see in the next parts, our suspicions were coming true...

I am happy it all turned out great for your mom and that she has recovered fully. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77