Expat Life, Social Life... Where Do I Start?

in #blog7 years ago

I've been living in Dubai for close to a year now. Moving interstate once was hard enough so to move overseas was a something I really needed to embrace.

I sat back for a good month researching as much as I could about Dubai. From which areas are ideal for living in, where to get groceries, dress code, transportation, laws and of course, where and how to meet people.

I found an app called Meetup that has different groups for different interests. These aren't just let's have coffee and lunch as a group, or let's have a deep and meaningful chat over a book. Honestly I think I would rather have sand thrown in my eye than attend these kinds of groups. The groups which I have become a member of are brunching, afterwork drinks, networking and the like. This app has actually been a real gateway for me into embracing the expat life.

It has given me a social support network, something that I had to do from almost scratch, I have had job opportunities come through and motivation to live my life and try new things.

From hobby and craft groups, language groups, boozy nights and more laughs than I can count, I have met people that I know I will be able to call friends for life. Of course, you get the good with the bad, some people will pretend to be your friend in order for them to step ahead and yes already this has happened to me. I found that for at least every 5 people I meet, 1 generally has their own personal motives, whether it be solely business networking or trying to ascertain a new job for themselves. I have had a few people approach me, knowing that I tend to connect with a lot of different people on a social level, rather than a business perspective, simply because that is the theme of the group I tend to attend. Honestly, sometimes the last thing I want to do outside work is discuss work.

If you have recently relocated to a new city, country or just want to make a change, I highly recommend that you seek an app to help you along the way whether it be Meetup (did I mention it’s free to join), Internations, or find out if there is a different one that you can access.

One thing you need to remember when attending events like this is to leave your ego at the home. You need to be open to connecting with people on a genuine level and you will find others that will as well. Don’t be put off if you have a bad encounter, it’s like being a kid in the playground. Some you won’t be able to stand for more than 5 minutes, others you will love for life.

Sort:  

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Could you share the meetup link !!!!!

Sure! https://www.meetup.com :) I'm not using steemit on my phone so I can only send you the weblink but if you open using your phone it should give you the app option :)

I downloaded it, thanks for the update, maybe we'll see you at the next meeting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82