You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Better You #7 : Increase Your Social Intelligence - How to Deal with People.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Hello, @williamwest. My today’s comment won’t be pleasant. I am disappointed in you.
Here is why. I know about the ‘commenting’ problem on the platform. Comment-spamming and the insincere flattery are indeed very obvious and frustrating. But do you think calling out people will change anything? No. Nothing will change and, on the contrary, some people might get upset. Personally, after reading your thoughts I felt insulted at first - I have comments, that might be seen as flattery. However, I know that they are not, because I don’t force myself to write a comment just to please anyone. I do it because I simply want to, like the material or care about the author. But what about people, who have only couple of sentences or even words in their comment? Don’t just label them ass ass-licking profit seekers and think that they are all bad. Maybe there is another explanation?! Choose one:

  1. A person simply doesn’t know how to write a genuine comment.
  2. A person lacks strong writing skills. And couple of sentences is the maximum he/she can do.
  3. A person is just socially awkward and doesn’t know how to express him or herself properly.
  4. A person doesn’t possess a fruitful fantasy to make its comment unusual and stand out.
  5. A person wanted to share emotions with you or encourage, but he/she isn’t as smart as author. That’s why, not to be seen as silly, he/she keep comment simple.
  6. A person doesn’t know English and only wrote couple of words not to be seen as illiterate.

Some people aren’t simply as good as others.

To tell you the truth, I was a comment spammer when I first joined Steemit. But things changed after I read two posts from @cranium (1. https://steemit.com/steemit/@cranium/how-to-write-comments-correctly-kak-pravilno-pisat-kommentarii. 2. https://steemit.com/steemit/@cranium/how-to-write-comments-correctly-2-kak-pravilno-pisat-kommentarii-2.) They aren’t the best in the world and I know a lot of ideas can be added, but these posts really opened my eyes and made me rethink, how I comment people. After it I started making efforts to take my commenting on the other level. Because Steemit isn’t Facebook or other social platform. Don’t know, If I’ve succeeded or not, but at least I am trying to get better.

My point is: if you want to make a difference, don’t just call people out. It will only anger them. Instead - teach people to be better. Write a post on how you see commenting should be and how you do it. Or make a little contest for the most creative comment. Nothing will ever change without a push in the right direction. And try to see positive things in people first. Don’t just cast them aside, give them a chance. We can always roast them later.

Sort:  

Love this comment @moviebuff, big ups from my side that you're putting yourself out there being sincere. And you know what? You're right, I agree.

My apologies for my ignorance on the matter, all the explanations you mention are very valid, and I will definitely take your words to heart.

As you say, merely addressing an issue won't make a difference, teaching someone how to act differently will.

Expect a future post based on your well written words my friend!

Thank you again for your comment 🙏🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28