You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Better You #2 : Hacks to improve your sleep and practical tips & thoughts to enhance your life

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Tricks I personally use for better sleep: 1) Fresh air. I live in a semi-rural area, where the air is fresh enough and not very polluted. So, every evening after dinner I usually walk 20 to 30 minutes around my condo or a block in a slow pace (7-8km/h) to give my body a little boost of oxygen. + Before I go to sleep, I open windows in my room for 5-10 min just to get rid of stale air. 2) Instead of bed of nails I do special stretches. 3) Don't eat 2-3 hours prior to bed. Totally agree with you. Also I try to have something light for my last meal. Some salad will do just fine. Besides, when I feel hungry, I drink green or some relaxing herbal tea with no sugar or honey. 4) When my insomnia kicks in, I usually watch something very-very boring like lectures on philosophy or politics. Or listen to some mild voice Twitch streamers. I set Twitch app om my phone in audio mode only, get in bed, turn off the lights, put on my earpieces and it takes me 10 to 20 min to feel sleepy enough.

I read 'The 4-Hour Workweek' by Tim Ferris. And though he has some interesting concepts, ideas and valid points in it, I feel like he is a dodgy person.

Time tracking is a very useful tool to improve your efficiency. But, I think we use too much apps, programs etc in our daily life. So I just use a simple paper notebook. Nothing fancy, but effective.

Sort:  

Great comment brother, very much appreciated 🙏🏼

I agree to full extent with your thoughts. I have read about that stretching or yoga can be effective to help ease the sleep process but it is something I haven't tried thoroughly, I will give it a more formal trial.

I also read 'The 4-Hour Workweek' in the past but just as you I don't resonate fully with him for some reason I can't really explain. Have tried his podcast a couple of times but I think it is a bit too much noise and too little gold to be worth the time.

Paper notebooks are gold. The only digital resources I use on my phone are Toggl Timer and Evernote (90 % at least). I find as soon as I use my phone too much I feel it impairs my attention in other areas.

+1 on the comment, well deserved upvote to say the least, exactly this type of dialogue I aim to create with this project. Will check out your channel as well (edit: saw you got no posts yet, let me know if you do create any in the future). Keep it up :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42