The return of my REGULAR posts, and reflections on how and why you should even bother

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


Food for thought Source: Pxhere

This post is mostly, but not exclusively, for the ever-growing SteemSTEM community

Wow, it's been a long time since I did my Tree of Life series. But seriously, It's been on my mind almost every day since I stopped. Along with the others of course, but mostly Tree of Life. It's so close to completion. I think.

As you probably guessed, this was due to a 2 week vacation/visa run back in England, and I've been catching up with life and jet lag ever since. But thanks to one night of alcohol, that has been set right back to normal and we can now continue my blog with a heavy dosage of science-y awesomeness.

But first, today, I want to talk about what I'm actually doing here, how and why.

So where were we?

A month ago, the last episode of the Tree of Life series was super fascinating to me, diving into (or out of, I suppose) the prerequisite evolutionary steps that were needed for us to figure out breathing on land. In case you don't remember, it's a lot more complicated than it looks.

Although every second of reading about it was indeed fascinating, I had to dig deep and sweat it out through the grinding details of numerous papers and other sources:

But, the hardest part of these posts for me is not the trawling of papers and deciphering of complex lingo. I'm a science communicator more than a scientist, obviously, and to be able to transform these papers into a single 1,000 word post that's easy enough for a child to understand, and even more, to be interested in? ...

That is what takes up 75% of my time and effort.

I think this is something that many users posting under SteemSTEM fail to really comprehend about what we're trying to create. At least, in my opinion.

Steem is a social media blockchain.

It's also a place where everyone is free to post whatever the hell they want. But what do 'the people' want?

Well, aside from the money which is likely about 93% of why anyone bothers at all here, the other 7% reason for being here is to read entertaining, personal, enlightening, funny content from familiar and likable users.

This should be obvious, and although subjectivity is obviously a thing, I still trawl through mountains of technical data on here that has an incredibly tight target audience.

Again, this is fine, but I personally don't think one should limit themselves to write about the thing they happen to be an expert in or a student of.

I'm not an expert in Evolutionary Biology, or Chinese medicine, or politics, or geology, chemistry, history and so on. I never could be. Nobody can be an expert in so many subjects. But by approaching such a wealth of diverse information, a much richer and appealing series of posts can be created.

Nobody here, on a social media platform expects us to be absolute authorities on a given subject. But for SteemSTEM, they do expect us to be correct. If you can use critical thinking skills, do proper analysis and deciphering of content without being misleading and most importantly, convey that in a factually accurate manner, this to me has more value than publishing your University notes or a complex meta-analysis on a particular enzyme in the Western Sarahan Cactus Needle.

But even more valuable to me is the - very much learned - ability to make it interesting, making people want to actually read more and go google for themselves further information. Making people laugh inside as they read, making them feel like they know you as a person.

To be honest, I think it's more valuable if people follow YOU for who YOU are as a person, rather than the content you create. Nobody follows Justin Bieber for his music. They follow because they either want to see his dong slip out or get updates about his latest drug scandal. People listen to and perhaps maybe even enjoy his music as a side to that.

Especially when it's remixed back into the 80's:

This to me is the crucial concept. Aside from that 93% of greed for money you're putting yourself through, is that 7% remaining there for more money? To show people how much knowledge you have? to lecture people about the knowledge you have? Or, to be an informed online personality who people trust and enjoy the virtual company of?

For me, the latter is by far my priority. I like to think it's 93% of why I'm here, but who am I kidding, eh?

However, it's win-win for me. I'm not passionate about the one thing I could hope to call myself an expert in. I'm passionate about ALL KINDS of things in all areas of study, all over the world. So much so that, as I said at the start, I even think daily about when I'm gonna get an opportunity to learn more and write more about a subject. I'm passionate about the Steem blockchain and its place in my life and the community and the friends I've made here. Surely you are too, and we all get to express our passions freely and get paid for the trouble!

So sure, write about what you know, obviously that's a great thing, but don't get trapped with tunnel vision. Spread your wings. actually learn something new as you go, rather than regurgitate what you've already hammered into your brain through rote memory and brute force for the sake of graduation or a salary.

And have fun.

Besides, You'll earn more MONEY that way

See you tomorrow, when I post the return of the TREE OF LIFE series, yeahhh!

Sort:  

Preaching to the choir, bud! The conversational tone I go for in my nonfiction writing is much harder for me to do than a drier, more documentarian tone. Infodumps are easy. Making them flow? That's the trick.

Now if I had thought of writing it in a tweet's worth of text like you managed to do, I'd have saved myself a lot of time! Thanks for showing me up ;-)

Being quick definitely isn't always a virtue, though. :)

I think I'm too stupid to learn something new...
As a matter of fact, the pink background video made me upvote this, nothing else :P

Lol, touche =P

Seriously I find it hard to write on a topic though. I need time, and time is really hard to come by these days. :(

Well we can only expect to post within our means, surely. But we know you have passions. Use 'em whenever you can ^__^

This post was largely for steemstem posters but doesn't have to be about topics. It can be about going for a walk to new locations and taking different pictures there, or building some new app for a joke, or a random recipe, whatever people enjoy =) It tends to be that people find the time when they realise they enjoy it enough!

Writing about things you know is always easier than things you gave absolutely no idea how it works. Though learning new things makes all the difference once you understand the new thing. Science can be fun too, if you dig deep enough, you'd unearth the fun :)

Yep, the fun is the key. We can really make ourselves better people by actually enjoying the pursuit of knowledge, I believe

I've actually learnt a lot here, and that, is no BS

How the heck is your text formatted! Tell us your hacks please!

aha, yes there certainly is something PHISHY going on in my formatting, I can't deny that...

giggle

I'm gonna have to report you now but I don't think the moderators have come home to roost, so much for my wants!

I don't want to give up the secrets but you can use the inspect function in the browser to find out what's going on if you really want to =P

What's #ff0000? Nah it's nowhere in here

https://steemd.com/blog/@mobbs/the-return-of-my-science-posts-and-reflections-on-how-and-why-i-even-bother

Tell us everything, Please please pretty please, heck make a post about it!

ugh...finnneeee

< div class=phishy>

I used to think I was d only one interested in the red header

Now I have d secret too #winks

Wow so this is it 😆

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Besides writing about what we know about @greenrub, there are other topics that interest us. I dont know if there are other people like me, that see writing on a totally new topic as self education. I have to study about a new topic for days or even weeks before I start writing...

@mobbs how do you make your red colored headers, its damn awesome

Heh as stated above, I don't want to give away the secret but there are ways to find out...Another way is to change the 'it' in 'steemit.com' to 'd' as in 'steemd.com'. See what you find...

Hey @mobbs

You actually spoke directly to many people in this beautiful piece. It is important that while we try to get paid for creating content, we should pay much attention to quality of our works and try to preserve the it in such a way that our reading audience would always yearn for more. That's a very useful advice which I am sure a lot of people here, including myself, will certainly benefits from.

I appreciate this candid opinion.

@eurogee of @euronation community

Thanks for being here as usual @eurogee! You're dead on. I think it's kind of hard for people who put their soul into their work to realise that for many, it's not really the post itself that matters so much as the author. It can potentially make one feel their work has no value, but I think they work hand in hand.

The more we realise this the better we become as communicators

I can't agree more ✌️

Oh, I think that just like you I always try to be informed and documented about what I will talk about. Knowledge occupy a place, many times we don't imagine why it's important for our life the gathering of knowledge, not only scientific but of all kinds of wisdom that our species has generated. In my opinion, knowledge, in any of its forms and contents, knows no ties, no fears, no slavery and that's precisely why it's so important. IWe should never settle for the basics, we should always go in search of more information to feed the knowledge we already have, but the most important thing is that we apply them, that we put them into practice because depends on that we can reach the success. The knowledge we obtain will be available to us for the rest of our life, we must always strive where we want to be and put into practice all the knowledge acquired.

@mobbs i'll say its natural to want to get paid for researching a topic over a period of time and then bringing it out to lay man's terms afterall, we're humans and are configured to do so, but still I see it as matter of choice. Being financially gallant is what some people are looking for and that's why some landed here. Definitely, you can easily see the manifestation of greed

Yep, this is why steemit inc. are having such trouble fixing the greed issues here. It really is human nature, and no matter what they do, humans will find a way to abuse it one way or another. With that in mind, as long as we make this place qualitatively worthwhile, I'm ok with it.

I actually feel it. Creating a science post is difficult. Going through papers and papers takes its time.
And yes, sincerity first: we may be mainly here for the money. However, it actually brings us together into part of something bigger, a community passionate about science. With some checking each other's posts, asking questions, making corrections, extending the information... and so on.
On the process, not only we learn something new, we research something we want to share or something we just found out. And one important part is also communicating it.
I like to think of it as Edu-taining: making it fun and accesible while also providing a lot of educational value.
It would be lonely (and sad?) without the community. Right?
Edit: Clarity

Haha, edutainment is used as a derogatory term here in Asia, referring to white people who come over here and get a job as a teacher based on the fact that their skin is white, and then simply 'edutain' to keep the parents satisfied.

But in this context, you're very right that it's a good thing. There's actual studies showing that humour actually dramatically improves the retention of information too, so there's scientifically good backing to be edutainful =)

Edutainful in the good way!
Seriously, no idea it had that connotation in Asia. This is going to be my TIL haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71