Home Education Doesn't Have to Be at Home.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170713_134316.jpg

Last week I made a post about how the biggest part of our children's education is being out and exploring the world and all it has to offer.

This week the fun continued with a history lesson.

We try to be out and learn as much as possible and when we heard there was to be a Medieval fair in town we jumped at the chance to learn about some history.

DSC_0239.JPG

After a spot of archery practice and a juggling lesson it was time for a bit of story telling, about a King,

his three sons, a tree that grew golden apples and a magic shape shifting fox, True Story don't you know. :{)

DSC_0160.JPG

DSC_0173.JPG

Everyone was dressed for the occasion,

unfortunaltely all our medieval clothes happened to be at the dry cleaners.

DSC_0272.JPG

DSC_0268.JPG

I had noticed a bit of a commotion going on over the other side of the river so I went to investigate, would you believe it, a full on Medieval Battle was about to commence. I decided to gather as much evidence as I could in case the King would later disapprove of such nonsense.

DSC_0263.JPG

Luckely for me I had my Medieval recording device with me and managed to video some of the Battle. warning these guy's were not messing about, they were really going for it.

We all had a great time and the best bit about it was the kids really got engaged, they were asking lots of questions and you could see they really took it all in. Learning History can be a bit boring from a book, but if you combine it with the real thing then I'm sure it sinks in a bit more.

I will leave you with some more pic's from the day's adventures.

Peace and love to the World.

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

DSC_0278.JPG

DSC_0286.JPG

DSC_0289.JPG

DSC_0189.JPG

DSC_0170.JPG

DSC_0164.JPG

DSC_0120.JPG

DSC_0114.JPG

DSC_0107.JPG

DSC_0098.JPG

DSC_0097.JPG

DSC_0087.JPG

DSC_0081.JPG

Sort:  

I loved taking my kids to these things I only have one left at home and he is entering his senior year, but I plan to do a bunch of cool things with him this year, to make his senior year a blast. We love getting out and going to reenactments. It really does make learning a lot more fun.

That's brilliant, I say your never too old for some reenactments, also I think I enjoyed myself as much as the kids did, I was first in line to shoot some arrows :)
Thanks for stopping by Oh and the SBD you sent me :)

Thats awesome @markwhittam, your doing a great thing for your kids !
In my city we have a medieval centre aswell and it is fantastic.
All the buildings in it are made by hand with crafts from that period.
The house are also decorated in that time period.
It is a great way of seeing how people used to live.
A few times a year they open up their doors and let people and mostly families in to have a look.
There will medieval crafts like spinning wool or wood crafting.
They will cook a meal from that period of time as well.
All dressed in style while doing so :)
For the children they have all kinds of little workshops and it is
a joy to see how they enjoy all this :)
They sit and listen to the music and take everything in with eyes wide open
and with amazement.

Have a great day !

Wow, that sounds amazing, sounds like a wonderful experience for the little ones, and the big ones too :)
I would definitely like to read a post about it and see some pics.
Thank you for sharing this with us @openheart

Great to see you all having fun living life as an adventure!
Live it up and SteemON!

Thank you @quinneaker
Life is an adventure and the world is our playground.
Thanks for dropping in, keep on steeming on :)

See! This is what education is all about...telling others stories from the past of which you have learned from so younger people can suck in this knowledge as well and pass it on also to their children. Learning does not necessarily​ have to be done at a school. You all had fun and learned stuff. Also by looking at all those​ spectacles​ your children's​ mind got challenged so they asked questions. True education right there man!

Totally agree!

Thank you mate, yeah you're right their minds got challenged and it was fun at the same time, that's how you really learn and remember what you learned.

I absolutely agree! This is by far the best way to engage children! I home-schooled my son for a while in junior school and we went to the fascinating galleries of justice in nottingham to learn about nottingham's history and down into the caves. My son loved it and so did I! 😀

That's great and I bet he will always remember that day and what he learned.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts

What fun! And such great pictures. We homeschool our daughter, and she's really into history. I've taken her to several historical parks and museums and attractions, but we have yet to attend a medieval fair! I think that's next on the list.

Yes, great fun was had by all, Wow there really is a lot of people homeschooling here on steemit, that's great.
Maybe we should start a homeschooling group, if there isn't already one?
I have always been a bit wary about taking our kids to a museum, bit I think they are getting to the age now where they might start to appreciate it, and not wreck the place :)
Thanks for stopping by again :)

incredible pics :)

Thank you @orionsbelt, I seem to be getting better at taking pictures the more I do it.

That looked like it was a lot of fun, education is definitely more than the skewed history we are force-fed in school. Good thing you have your Medieval recording device handy.

Loads of fun, and yes all I remember about history at school was that they kept teaching us about world War II, like that's going to benefit anyone.
Hahaha the quality was definitely look a bit Medieval.
Thanks for dropping by, again:)

Such a great post @markwhittam! I just made a post about this and how you can use what you have to teach your children inside and outside of the home. I am hoping next year to take my kiddos to more fun events like this for their field trips. There's nothing like teaching your own kids and giving them such an enriching experience. Thanks for sharing :) Following you as I am loving this homeschool community here and reading about other families experiences as I continue with my homeschool journey.

That's so true, I really think they learn best from their parents, and using lots of different methods of teaching, not just from books.
I am loving the homeschooling community here on steemit, in Sweden people think we are nuts for home educating our kids and I was kind of expecting a similar thing here too, but I was Soooooo wrong, to date I have not had one funny comment from anyone.
I will follow you too now, and will check out your post when I get a minute.
Thanks for the interaction @crosheille

Yes definitely @markwhittam! All of my children love hands on learning! I have one son that does not do well with seat work, he has to be up and moving while learning. I'm so glad you have not had any funny comments. Some of my family did not understand at first why we chose this route. Now, when they come over and see how studious, respectful and intelligent our children our they apologize for doubting us. Now those very same people help promote homeschooling. I'm noticing more and more families are pulling their kids from school now as well. It's amazing how things work out. Thanks so much for the follow back, looking forward to more of your posts ;)

Great opportunity for learning! We also went there and I might put up a post about it myself.

Yeah that would be great to see two different perspectives of it, we went yesterday, I take it you were there today?
Look forward to seeing your post :o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58296.60
ETH 3064.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26