There and Back Again - A 72 Hour Trip to OregonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago

In the midst of the HF20 #clusterfork, I want to tell you all a story. It has pictures too, I know you like pictures. Ready? Here we go.

Last fall was a weird time in my life. I was in the throes of heartbreak, experiencing a distinct sense of loneliness and separation from my family (being that I'm living on the opposite side of the country from everything I've ever known). My job has an exceptionally busy summer season, and so once things started to slow down I was able to take three days to make a whirlwind trip up to Oregon. The goal:

See the total solar eclipse.

So I set out, my bed in the back of my car, a few pairs of clothes and a playlist of music. I drove long and fast, away from my problems. I drove until I couldn't drive any more, winding up somewhere north of Sacramento. Finding a spot on the side of the road where I could park overnight, I crawled into bed exhausted.

The next morning came around. The steady sound of passing traffic pulled me from sleep. I awoke to fog and muted colors. Brushing the sleep from my eyes, I flipped back into the front seat of my CR-V and took off again, continuing my northern expedition.

For those who have never been, the northern California mountains are a sight. I passed through a gap between peaks on the I-5 and the fog (clouds) lifted. I was greeted by the stunning sight of Mt. Shasta, the literal Lonely Mountain.

From there, the drive really started to blend together. Smoke from the season's wildfires obscured my view of the countryside. It wasn't until I reached Sutherlin that the wind started picking up and clearing out the smoke. From there, I took the 138 West across to the 101, following the Umpqua River as it wound through the mountainous countryside.

Now, bear in mind that up to this point I had never seen the western coast. I grew up in the east, routinely visiting the North Carolina beaches. When I reached Oregon's coast I was blown away by how different it was to anything that I had ever experienced.

IMG_2415.JPG

IMG_2416.JPG

The cold wind woke me up, renewing my energy and helping me finish the drive. I arrived in Newport during the early evening. For a gamer like me, the small coastal town reminded me instantly of Arcadia Bay in Life is Strange. I found dinner and then kicked my feet up for a little bit, enjoying the cold saltwater air and the bustle of the crowd who were all there for the same reasons I was.

IMG_2429.JPG

Later that evening, I settled in for the night in a Starbucks parking lot. An odd place to sleep, I know. That night, the anticipation kept me awake for a long time but I finally drifted into fitful dreams.

Finally, the next morning I awoke to the sounds of a growing crowd. Others had gathered around me in the early morning hours, packing out the Starbucks parking lot. I got dressed and exited my car, engaging in casual conversation with others who had journeyed far and wide to be in Oregon for the eclipse. The furthest I had met were from Toronto.

I had borrowed some solar paper from friends of mine back home, and so I watched through my camera as the sun slowly began to darken during the moon’s transit. You wouldn’t have been able to tell that anything was happening, at least not until the crescent-shaped shadows started appearing. At that point, the daylight started to noticeably dim.

IMG_2439.JPG

We watched and watched until the last rays of sunlight disappeared behind the moon, and then the moment we all had been waiting for.

IMG_2446.JPG

I can’t under-state this. The total solar eclipse is the most dramatic natural event I’ve ever seen. For the world to be bright with sunlight one moment and then in the snap of your fingers- snap- go dark like someone flipped a light-switch, it really can’t be described in words or photos or video. The world stops, the night-time creatures begin to call, a cold chill sweeps across the face of the earth in the shadow of the moon. You’ve got to experience it for yourself.

For those of us gathered in Newport, there was a moment of awestruck silence that reigned. A brief moment where the entire world went silent, our jaws collectively dropped. And then, I remember this clearly, someone began to cheer. Overcome by the emotion and majesty of it all, little by little a roaring applause grew in the crowd. Everyone was cheering for something, to someone, and I’m not sure if many of them knew who. But I do.

IMG_2447.JPG

IMG_2460.JPG

IMG_2462.JPG

And then, like waking up from a vivid dream it was over. The moon rolled away and the sun’s rays returned, bathing the world in its warmth once again. We all conversed, exchanged contact information so that we could send each other photos and then got back into our cars and went about our lives.

I felt many things on the drive back home, but the one that stands out in my mind was a distinct sense of connection with those around me. Many people, from many different backgrounds, races, cultures and walks of life had all gathered together in the briefest moment of shared experience. In the face of an ever widening gap between us and our neighbor (in America), we had found a time to lay it all aside and just experience life.

For that reason I will always remember the journey there and back again. I will always remember the day the world looked up in collective wonder. I will always remember the day the sky went black. I will always remember the Great American Eclipse.

~ Mako

Sort:  

Nice shots. My favorite part of any eclipse is how the temperature suddenly drops. It reminds me of how small and insignificant any one of us is. No matter if your are a King or a popper we're all stuck on this celestial orb.

Small is definitely a feeling that describes it! Recognizing the size of the moon, able to completely block out the sun, realizing how vast the universe is, the whole lot of it.

~ Mako

What a delightful adventure! I love it when those big moments happen, that are so far beyond the scope of our petty little lives that we suddenly all become some kind of singular entity as the human race.

I was too far north to see the totality, here in Canada. I was looking forward to at least getting to spot some goofy crescent shadows, but then got distracted doing some things out of the direct sunlight and missed the whole dang thing! There goes my once in a lifetime opportunity I guess.

Although, apparently there should be another one visible from where I live on my 4-year old daughter's 66th birthday. So I have that to look forward to I guess XD

This is beautifully written, and so true - we are missing that shared experience in our day to day.
But also, I am totally using the term #clusterfork. ^_^

I can't claim credit for #clusterfork and to be perfectly transparent this article is absolutely shite compared to my fiction writing. Feel free to check those out if you liked this!

~ Mako

Yeah it really was an indescribable moment. My experience was very different as we had driven way out on forest service roads in eastern Oregon to camp on a ridge with good exposure. Nobody around us. There is something cool about sharing an experience with a crowd of people, but I have a very deep seated need to get away from crowds as much as possible.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Mako from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

UPDATE: Hi @makowrites this post has been featured in Exponential! C² Featured Posts, a daily publication of the @c-cubed blog. Check it out :)
https://steemit.com/curation/@c-cubed/20181001t225900842z


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57087.02
ETH 3064.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19