10 THINGS I WISH I KNEW EARLIER IN LIFE

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

THE WISDOM OF A FOUR YEAR OLD

Last night, while I was playing with my son, he surprised me with some unexpected questions. We were having fun with Lego and he needed help to connect two building blocks. As I was telling him to give it one more try on his own before me helping him, he looked at me and said:

“Where there many things that you didn’t know when you were my age? Don’t you wish that you would have known then all these things?”

Great words of wisdom were coming out from my little man’s mouth. He paused for a second or two, then he added:

“What do you wish you knew back then? I wish I would have known about cartoons and chocolate when I was a baby! I would have enjoyed them more!”

He made me laugh. One of the previous days I mentioned to him that he had not watched cartoons until the age of two. He feels he missed out on that. My answer came quickly:

“I have a long list of things that I learnt on the way and I wish to have known them earlier in my life, when I was younger.”

He raised an eyebrow and continued: “What was it? Tell me!”

I carried on with his bedtime routine and I had his question stuck in my head. For the next hours I thought of the advices I would give to myself (if that would ever be a viable option). Once he fell asleep, I wrote them here.

As I got older, my life goals and perspective on things shifted from knowledge-based to emotion-based. What made me be what I am today? When I think of all the challenges I had to overcome, the bumps I hit on the road, I am grateful for still being alive and able to appreciate the gifts and blessings within my life.

That being said, here are some of the lessons I learnt along the way and I would have liked to know years back.

10 THINGS I WISH I KNEW EARLIER IN MY LIFE:

  • Everything falls into place
  • Love and forgive yourself
  • Spend more time with your loved ones
  • Listen to your gut, not your brain!
  • Live life by choice, not chance!
  • Don’t set yourself on fire to keep others warm!
  • Stand up for yourself
  • Never neglect your health (or any dental problem)
  • Happiness and love are a choice. They come in small increments.
  • Strike a balance in life

If by some miracle you’d be able to send yourself a note, to the younger you, what would be the top three advices that you’d give yourself?

Think of your life experiences and make a list of the things that shaped you. Then pen them down in the comments section below. I am looking forward to reading your answers!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Feel free to resteemit or upvote it!
Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Dreamcatcher.jpg

Sort:  

Self-awareness is the most important thing. Get to know yourself, act accordingly. Take full responsibility for everything (even if it's not your 'fault'). And remember to have fun!

Great advices! Thank you for sharing them!

I love the one about trusting your guts more than your brain, it worked for me every time :)

If I sent lessons to my younger self (although I am still pretty young - 27) it would be:

  • Listen to every advice, but implement only those that you really believe in.

  • If you have a feeling a girl likes you, she probably does. If you like her man up and go for it, there is nothing to lose!

  • Don't take life to seriously :)

Thank you for stopping by and sharing your list of advises!

Interesting post. I have been impressed before at what I've heard preschoolers come out with. They are bigger thinkers and often smarter than people give them credit for.

The things I would tell my younger self if I could:

  • Don't judge yourself so harshly and don't beat yourself up mentally over things (still working on this but I'm better than I was)
  • Don't be so quick to judge others. You don't know the situation they are truly in
  • Save more money while you are living at home and aren't paying rent etc. Life is going to get harder
  • Invest some of that money you are earning while living with your parents because your future self would have thanked you if you had have done that
  • Get help if you need it
  • Children can see things more clearly then we do sometimes. Thank you for sharing your list of advices to your younger self.

    If I could only go back to May 2016, I would force myself to sign up on Steemit and start blogging, so that today I would have a five figure SP that I could lease out - and sit back and watch my balance growing like some who did join then!

    But seriously, I live a life without regrets and believe that everything happens for the good, while working out for me in the end. Great post!

    Thanks for reading throughout my post and taking the time to leave a comment! I agree with you on signing up for Steemit two years ago. ;-)

    What a great list and I agree on some of the points you shared there especially this one:

    Don’t set yourself on fire to keep others warm!

    I did this to a community that I created and in the end felt burnt and empty. Sometimes we give ourselves too much that we neglect ourselves.

    Maybe you can have this as a challenge and ask or nominate people to do it.

    I will definitely do this but will think deeply first haha.

    Thanks for taking the time to comment! I like your idea of turning this into a challenge! I will do it!

    You're raising a wise guy! Wisdom comes with questions like that, and it is wonderful how kids can be so curious and do not limit their thoughts and questions to artificial boundaries. This post was quite inspiring!

    You should hear some of his other questions! Sometimes I am stunned about his perspective on life. As you said, a child's mind knows no limitation and the sky is the limit.

    Great post!! And your son is a very intelligent boy. Some things I wish I knew when I was younger:

    • just be yourself and don’t accept everything you’re told
    • write more of your ideas
    • family time is precious
    • nobody is going to be as harsh on yourself as you are
    • being flexible is a good thing
      ... amongst others! Thank you for making me think about these things :)

    Thanks for taking on the challenge! It's nice to learn more about you.

    This post has been selected by Altruistic as a post of the day has been given an upvote.
    You may join us on her discord server: https://discord.gg/KHB9eJk.

    Please kindly upvote this comment in order to keep us helping plankton and minnows that their quality posts are undervalued.

    This is wonderful @lymepoet! You son makes me smile and reminds me of mine when he was that age. It's amazing right?...out of the mouths of babes!

    I agree with @maverickinvictus, this would make a great 'challenge'!

    I would have told myself that there's no right way to live your life. You don't have to go to school, get a job, get married, have kids, but stuff...

    I also would have told myself to follow my heart or as you say, your gut.

    And thirdly, focus on family, love, people, not stuff. You'll never be on your deathbed wishing you would have worked more or bought a bigger house.

    Thank you again for this. I love your list by the way and agree with all of it!!

    It's already a challenge!! And I am thinking what to write hahha! I'll tag all the chatterboxes of newbieresteemday!

    hahaha SEE??? Here you are, nipping at my heels haha :)

    You two are funny! Thanks for taking the time to comment on this post!

    haha thanks for noticing @lymepoet! If you're not having fun, you're not doing something right ;)...hey, that should have been one of my messages to my younger self!!

    Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

    You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 86 (3/27/18)

    The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.18
    TRX 0.16
    JST 0.030
    BTC 65974.40
    ETH 2637.70
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.67