You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Therapy

in #blog7 years ago

I saw your comment about how some people are wired to worry more than others. I wonder about that. How much of worry could also change over time via nurture, exposure therapy, positive reinforcement, etc, etc.

Can people change?

Yes, I think so.

Can a person change? I don't know. That's a difficult question we don't yet have the understanding of the human brain to answer.

I hope the answer is yes for those who want change. I also hope more people take a healthy stance of knowing themselves for who they are and not judging "what is" beyond positive motivation towards helpful change.

Sort:  

Absolutely I believe that people can change… To some extent. I certainly have changed! That's really the point of my blog post here, although perhaps I didn't explain myself very well.

I need to write and share who I am on a regular basis or else my old demons of hiding and worrying about what other people think come back. That is how I am wired biologically. Just like there are introverts and extroverts, there are people who naturally give less shits about what other people think (like Sean), and then those of us who are wired to ever be scanning and planning and wary of what other people might think.

Trust me, I am not advocating that anyone should Live trying to appease others . Or that We can't change. I work my ass off every day trying to stay clear seeing, give less shits, stay well and balanced. But there is an anxious element in me that will probably always be there. I work my ass off every day trying to stay clear of seeing, give less of shit's, stay well and balanced. But there is an element in me that will probably always be there. The worry demon. Thus I continue to post. This is my work.

That's an interesting balance between accepting what is and working to change what you can. I wonder, if after a period of time, neuroplasticity will kick in and change your fundamental nature to lose that worry completely? I think about how I wasn't much of a touch-love person before marrying Corinne. Her love language is touch and so I learned it, adopted it, and it has become part of myself now. I wonder if the things we think are unchangeable about our personality (extrovert, introvert, worrier, etc) might actually be moldable over time. Maybe not, but I wonder. I'm curious if the change of address you'll have next year will bring about any other long-term changes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76