Why Christmas this year, is bad for me...

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

IMAG0008.JPG

As this time of year came around again, I was looking forward to my usual mixed emotions of slight bewilderment, and a very mild melancholy.

This is just my usual 'christmassy' feeling. My default setting around this time of year, if you will.

Nothing to worry about. Same 'ol same 'ol.

This year is very different for me.
I find myself feeling happy about the whole event....

....My girlfriend is running around singing 'jingle bells' non stop, and making decorations to adorn the tree.
(I'm not sure where she acquired the tree....she is very good at acquiring things).

Her granddaughter came around last night, to help.

Two Thai girls singing 'jingle bells' is very funny. (aged 5 and 40).

Maybe it's because they are Buddhist, and it it's rubbing off on me.
If they can get excited about the whole thing, maybe I can too?

My heart melted when Lucy asked me 'do you want me to get a turkey for you, for Christmas dinner?'
I hate turkey.
(well not hate exactly - but a tasteless dry meat just doesn't get my taste buds tingling)
When I told her about my feelings on turkey, she said 'good' -- she hated it too.

Chicken it is.
This is my fifth Christmas with Lucy - but until now, there hasn't really been a Christmas at all. (which suited me fine)
We lived in party areas.
No turkey and lots of beer, kind of thing. I bypassed the festivities quite nicely, thank you.

Then We moved from party central, and chose to live a more chilled out natural lifestyle - and the pace of life has changed from hectic, to calm.
Much more 'domesticated'. ( which is quite novel for me, after years of hedonistic abandon)

Anyway, back to by point, and why Christmas is bad for me....

This emotional state is so unusual to me at Christmas time. (after several decades of the same melancholy feelings, you understand).

It is disrupting my thought processes. (I do have some occasionally, honest)
I can't get into 'my groove' while sat in front of the computer.

And with the price of sbd, and steem......rewards are by comparison, relativity high, right? Happy days, Right?
Months of $1 dollar postings everyday - now becomes $5 dollar posts, and much closer to enjoying the results of my labors..

Well, it would be if I could think of anything to write about...

This unusual happy juxtaposition, is not helping me - at all !

And this is why Christmas is bad for me this year.....

(And hopefully this will be a cathartic endevour in itself, and by just writing about it dispel the cobwebs...)

faces.jpg

images google.

Sort:  

Happy Christmas!

You've got to be cheerful with a 5 year-old in the house... it's the... the... The Grich! Or something 😃

I hate the little buggers- but somehow seems to get me in the xmas spirit for the first time in decades!

merry xmas!

Our little buggers are all coming over today to decorate my house.

Like last year, I will steadfastly refuse to redecorate the tree once they've 'finished' - although, I may add a few things in places they miss.

Get that Christmas Groove on! Enjoy!

everyone should have such problems..

......I'm not sensing much sympathy here....

you have two hot chicks bouncing (emphasis on bounce) around your apartment and you expect symnpathy too?

I don't count a 5 year old (my 'granddaughter' by default), as a hot chick' !
ewww .

Next weeks 'xmas special'

marylin monroe.jpg will be very different though....

(image google)

they grow SO fast.

😂😂😂😂

Oh yes, the inner emotional thinking/feeling state of being is no stranger every December...I understand and no matter we get through it and adjust accordingly. And the last image-brilliant!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75