I'm not a troll, I am a troll, I'm not a troll, I am a troll. And now I'm not. Ever again. Don't fall for the psy-op

in #blog5 years ago

IMAG0066.JPG

I get that label 'troll' slapped on me all the time, so I looked it up (because I'm a bit thick and I didn't really know what it was, just a vague understanding of).

After three or four different websites interpretations, of what it meant, I came to the conclusion I didn't start of as a troll, troll, but DID grow into the role....
(See my post from yesterday - here this explains a lot).

It's one of 'my realizations' that I mentioned yesterday.

The overriding 'definition' of troll, that I could work out is... (there is no actual 'definition', as such)...

Wiki
In Internet slang, a troll is a person who starts quarrels or upsets people on the Internet to distract and sow discord by posting inflammatory and digressive, extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community (such as a newsgroup, forum, chat room, or blog) with the intent of provoking readers into displaying emotional responses and normalizing tangential discussion, whether for the troll's amusement or a specific gain.

That just about covers it, in essence. So after my shock! and horror! (I fell on to the floor thee times), I thought I'd better do some serious self examination....
(I would recommend using sharp scalpels and copious amounts alcohol, before any dissection commences.)

So, one bottle of whiskey later, and my guts splattered all around the room, I discovered there was no troll in me.
I was shocked!
I was sure that I'd find one somewhere.

I then decided to dissect the meaning, rather than myself, and see where that led to instead...
A quick shower later, and a few stitches (lucy is a dab hand with the sewing machine), I sat back onto my chair, and got to work.....
This dissection was far more revealing, and turned out to be far more productive than opening up my abdomen.

Internet slang, a troll is a person who starts quarrels or upsets people on the Internet

Well, I thought, that's certainly not me. Perish the thought. I'd never try to start quarrels.
So I then looked up the definition of 'quarrel'...

Definitions of quarrel:
1: a ground of dispute or complaint
2: a usually verbal conflict between antagonists : ALTERCATION
3: to find fault
4: to contend or dispute actively

IMAG0066.JPG

Well bugger me twice with a pitchfork!

It seems that DO quarrel. Bugger. I must have a troll in me.... I'd better get that scalpel out again.

So I looked again, and still couldn't find the little git.

Lucy was getting pissed off with me at this point, she was running out of mono-filament thread, and she still had some cushions to work on...
She declared - in no uncertain terms- that she wasn't going out to buy anymore.

It seems that I would have to have another look on the computer screen, instead of in my body cavity.

Hang on minute!

I re read the definition of quarrel. Very closely this time. ( I really didn't want my innards all over the place, with no seamstress at hand).

Hang on a double fucking minute!

A troll is someone who disputes or finds fault. I dispute and find fault in others ideas.
I am so guilty of that...

So therefor, a troll is someone who expresses an opinion, counter to the one expressed.
This was all starting to sound a bit fishy to me ( like some lefty postmodernist psy-op).

hh.jpg

Call me weird (or anything else you wish to - I don't mind)....

but...but...but.... I thought the whole point of debate was to find fault in other peoples arguments?

Ergo, to argue is to automatically be a troll....????
MMMmmmmm.....

Am I missing something here?
Is it somehow better to debate and both agree?
How does that work, then?
A very boring debate if you ask me.

How do opinions ever change from the result of two people agreeing with each other all the time?
Very fucking weird.

So.... I continued in my quest...

by posting inflammatory and digressive, extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community (such as a newsgroup, forum, chat room, or blog) with the intent of provoking readers into displaying emotional responses and normalizing tangential discussion, whether for the troll's amusement or a specific gain.

I realized at this point, I wasn't a troll. At least not to start off with.

If this is a pretty accurate 'definition' of a troll, then it is not me that's been trolling - but it is the actions of the people I posed my disagreement with.
The people I posed my disputes to.

hh.jpg

One of the most annoying things in Steemit is the deflection when discussing the points raised. (normalizing tangential discussion and provoking emotional responses.

I'VE BEEN FUCKING TROLLED BIG TIME, FOR MONTHS.

In a typical Alinsky fashion....
accuse them of what you are guilty of yourself.
(although, in truth it wasn't Alinsky that said this – it was paraphrased from a Joseph Goebbels speech in in 1934, but never let a slur against Alinsky go to waste, not if you can help it).

Bastards!

I'm a troll victim! (That's if you disregard the first part of the definition - and see, 'to contend and dispute actively' as part of the normal discourse of debate).

Again, I say - bastards!

How do I claim victimhood around here?

I feel violated I say - violated!
First off by ME being trolled, without knowing it, and secondly be me, opening up my innards to look for the little twat!

This debating malarkey, makes you into a troll yourself, if you're not careful.
It's catching.
You fall into (get sucked into), the same psy-op dynamic that the bloody trolls are doing to you!

hh.jpg

And thrice I say - bastards!

The good thing is, though - you also grow out of being a troll, because something no longer feels 'quite right', about the debate.
Ok, it might take you several months to discover your metamorphosis (it did me) into a troll, before you can then revert back to being a civilized human being, and no longer expressing the neanderthal tendencies that appears to be a basic trait of the troll.

Hopefully this post will highlight you all to this psy-op of the left, (fucking postmodernists), and thus shortcut the 'untrolling' process.

....Or if you have a brain, don't get sucked into it like I did, in the first place. (I obviously suffered from the said 'lack of brain').

And here endeth one of my new 'realizations' that I was talking about.

I hope this helps you avoid countless arguments with yourself, cognitive dissonance, and cutting yourself open with a scalpel. (and then having to ask asking your girlfriend very nicely to do you a favor with the sewing machine).

On a side note, I've also found that my sense of humor has returned upon the realization of my victim status, and the psy -op.

hh.jpg
(trolls can't meme, laugh or have fun...And neither can the lefty authoritarians...Coincidence?...and we wonder why 'the left' see the word as gray, soulless and humorless. The tits).

Bastards! I say, once more.

(please feel free to copy and paste, and cut....whatever you like. Plagiarize the fuck out of it, if you can use it.... if you feel that you're being troll psy-op'd)

Have a great day everyone!

.....except trolls. You can all go fuck yourselves. (metaphorically speaking, of course. I have no desire to offer any advice that would give you the slightest of pleasures)

Sort:  

It started off, the term that is, way, way back at the start of the internet. Well 1990's for me, when the net became a thing.
Trawling was the term, like casting a net to attract bait. The mass media morons changed it to the derogatory term troll.
Fact!.

Just like anti Semite, holocaust denier, conspiracy theorist etc, all just designed to shut you up. Bored of "them" yet?

Trawling was the term, like casting a net to attract bait. The mass media morons changed it to the derogatory term troll

I did not know that sir, thanks!

Very nice, LOL! I am sharing this....

Sadly, steemit seems to foster Trolls. @mepatriot is fighting a major troll infection right now!

I find that they can't allow people to publish things they do not approve of. No First Amendment protection here....

:'(

yes..the 'left' (authoritarian, insert as you feel appropriate) could be the biggest case of 'corporate woke' ideology suicide, in history.

Which is kinda funny - because in my opinion - the 'progressive' ideology of th e last 60 years is now swinging back the other way - ie, progressive ideology has now, actually become old fashioned! lol

Sadly, progressivism has moved to totalitarianism, and is the antethesis of freedom!

But you are Not a Troll, LOL! The Psy-op...we'll see.....

:)>

Every discord begins in the person himself. If you are not able to resolve this inside yourself, you will always look out there for "sides" and declare someone an enemy. Also the Nazis had problems to concretize their enemy, they had to build a mental construction to finally find guilty people to whom they could blame their misery. Ask yourself why you need sides...? If you open a trench between "them" and "you," you have no choice, do you not? What you say doesn't differ much from what is widespread: accusing a big stupid gray mass of ignorance and identifying masterminds who manipulate that mass. Then you position yourself as a sign reader and say: Resist the beginnings. You start to define the space in which you move and you need enemy objects that you can place on the playing field to attach an attitude to them that you can oppose.

Insofar as you do not need to subordinate intelligence to the masses, your belief in power and manipulation reveals itself. You may say that you have seen through the rulers, but I rather see a fascination with the subject. For the "side game" you need an in and an out group. After that it is easy to say: All those who have no idea of the processes are against peace and they are guilty of non-action, yes, even of not thinking.

I see an attempt to put aversion to some (the stupid nonthinkers) and others (the evil wire-pullers).

You seem to believe that if you position yourself as seeing through and renounce any authority, you are withdrawing power from those you are against (whoever that may be). However, the way I look at it, you add oil to the fire in this eternal struggle, where good and evil must be clearly distinguished to justify the conflict.

Why debate when you want to agree anyway? Yes, indeed. That is what debates are for. Why else should we have a dialogue, if not with the aim of reaching agreement? The principle is that people feel extremely uncomfortable if they fail to reach consensus. Nobody likes to leave an argument with the impression of having achieved little or nothing between people. Having a debate is a respectful means that follows certain rules and in which the debaters can subordinate themselves to these rules in order to orient themselves.

If you are looking for a debate simply to distract yourself from boredom, how much should your counterpart assess or address you?

If you have contempt or prejudice against a debater in the first place, every word on the subject is wasted. It is like a scientific experiment that pretends to operate with an open question/thesis, but in reality wants to determine the result unambiguously.

Each one of us - you, me and all the others - can become a troll and each one has parts in himself that favour or complicate this. Apparently you have examined yourself for troll qualities and have positioned yourself as prosecutor, defender and judge and finally spoken yourself free.

From my point of view, acquittal is a delicate matter. Nothing is fixed. Again and again you can reveal troll qualities you're not aware of and it's wise to check every encounter with people to see if you're really in a living contact with someone.

How much are you interested in consensus and a good debate before you shrug your shoulders or say "WTF"? How often do you leave a comment section in coherence?

I interpret it as a sign of intelligence when people leave the platform in droves, but of course everything can be interpreted exactly the way you want it to be.

When Beauty dines with the Beast and overcomes all the disgust and nefariousness attached to the Beast, the story tells something of value: Everyone is a Beast and everyone is beautiful. It's always the moment that decides.

What an excellent comment, sir (madam, miss).

Most of it was complete bollocks! lol
(no offense intended).

..... it has inspired me to write two posts, both in response to dissect said bollocks, but more importantly on the subject of trolling and 'postmodern philosophy'.
( I hate using those two words together, but hey).

....just let me point out that I do not see you as my enemy, just because we disagree and are on 'different sides'. (your interpretation, not mine - and goes illustrates exactly why I said that your comment was excellent, but complete bollocks! lol)
Enjoy...

https://steemit.com/blog/@lucylin/masturbation-post-modernism-and-whistling-pumpkins-part-1

You put my name in an obnoxious context through language and imagery that I find highly inappropriate and offensive.

I didn't quite approve of the way you dealt with some fellow debaters. This was reflected in my commentary.
I came across comments in this regard where I wondered why you used "masturbation" or "wank" as an expression. This is quite a clear insult and anyone who doesn't feel it as such is either holy or enlightened. Generally, this is recognized as a rule violation within a debate. I had that in mind while writing my comment. That is why I said that you make enemies, whether people let you know or not.

If you have found my way of addressing equally offensive, it is enough to say so and I will withdraw and leave you in peace.
For me now the sexualized use of language is clearly too much, just like the verbal and pictorial speculations in connection with my appearance and I am therefore out.

Basically, I have nothing against arguing in the commentary section.

Take care.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66188.19
ETH 3564.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14