"Great minds discuss ideas, average minds discuss events, and small minds discuss people....

in #blog6 years ago

....and narcissist always bring everything back to themselves...."

ggg.jpg

Talking to a narcissist is like talking to a black hole. There is no subject, big or small, that they cannot bring back to themselves. ...

I have been 'studying' some profiles on steemit for the last 3 months or so, quietly taking notes... ( I won't mention the names. Not yet anyway. ...And there are quite a few.. ).

Depending on 'perceived' IQ levels (the best I can do), and using the 'rule of thumb' expressed in the header, it becomes quite obvious who they are, once narcissistic traits have been pointed out.

Some are more obvious than other's of course, but adding this awareness into your own psyche gives you some tools to differentiate, identify, and disengage with if you wish - (or engage with more , if you're having masochistic urges).

Why am I mentioning only narcissists, and not sociopaths or psychopaths? (the 4% of society)

Because anyone with any knowledge on this subject will know it's it pretty damn impossible to ascertain the sociopath or psychopath without in an depth, and time intense interaction (and face to face) with the 'subject'.
And I'm no qualified psychologist or psychiatrist.
Even trained psychologist's get fooled by psychopaths after spending long periods of time with these personality types.

To think (I) you posses the intelligence to diagnose those traits from steemit posts would be more indicative of (my) your own low IQ(and narcissistic tendencies , funnily enough), rather than the understanding the psychology of another.

So what is my intention for the post?
To help people identify these traits of users on here.

gtgy.jpg

Narcissism is common.
More common than most people think, and we all posses some aspects of it, to one degree or another.

Extreme narcissistic behavior however, is very negative for those around them. They act as an energy black hole, whose way of 'obtaining energy ' from other's, is to suck them into their own drama's.

Everything is about them.

The thing is, most people don't even realize they are being manipulated by these personality types.
I would go as far as to say many of these personality types do not even realize they are manipulating themsleves. It has become their default setting of interaction.

Here are some indications that you may help you in knowing that you may be dealing with a narcissistic personality type - and how to investigate further if your 'radar' has been activated.

Firstly, you need to know you can't fix' this. They are who they are.
Charitable act's is narcissistic heaven to these people – your energy is flowing in their direction. And they will drink down as much as you have to offer.

For the lower intelligence narcissist – You will find posts are predominantly always about them. Personal stories, and perspectives.
"...small minds discuss people..." - In this case the extreme narcissistic that the 'people' they talk about - are themselves!

Their issues, their trials and their problems in their life are the center to their world in an attempt to garner sympathy(energy), or attention.
....and their self aggrandizing brilliance, of course, in overcoming some personal adversity.

gtgy.jpg

Playing humble in terms of being a 'poor me victim' will soon become apparent, once you pick up on the clues.
(in their own minds they are far too important to be truly humble of course .)

Playing the victim is their bread and butter. (for the low IQ)
They know there will always be one sucker to come along and give them what they need. Attention.
They crave your attention – it means someone is validating their position of being so important.

And if you criticize their position? They will hate you for it, and will attack you for it.
Not only does it highlight their lack of intelligence, and easy for others to see (very fragile ego), it tells them they have been seen for who they are.
Lack of intelligence expressed as 'wisdom' is aggressively defended.
Open fallibility in the persona they try to express - for others to see - is painful ,to the narcissist.

Using other people quotes as a sign of wisdom, and sweeping generalizations and statements will abound in posts.
There will rarely be any real detail - for in detail is truth, and that is not an area they want to venture...

Try to hammer down on point of detail, and expose this fallibility - you will receive a tirade of triggered, personal abuse. Everything is personal to them. That's why they are narcissists, after all..
By confronting and questioning their truth, you are threatening the power sucking dynamic they need. Credibility.

It is often seen in left wing political discussion when detail exposes fallacy of 'logic' they purport to express.
What initially appears as intelligent argument , can be broken down to amalgamations of one logical fallacy after another.
And so the attack on you will begin...

A lack of sense of humor....

... can be indicative of this personality type. (in the lower IQ echelons, especially).

The inability to truly laugh at yourself is always there. How could you possibly laugh at yourself?
The extreme narcissist is are waaaaaay to precious for this.
To the narcissist, laughing at oneself is insulting. (very fragile ego).

Laughing at others downfalls on the other hand, is something that they can get glee from.
It only shows how clever they are by not being the ones 'falling down'.

It is still all about them.

What could be expressed as something humorous will be turned into a self righteous defense or explanation of their action and position.
And there ain't nothing funny there.

gtgy.jpg

The SJW narcissist....

There are a lot of them here, on these pages...
Exhibiting all the characteristics above, they will use virtue signalling to the max.

Privilege, crapitalism, neoliberalism, oppression, sexism, toxic, colonial empire.. – are all used in a in abundance - in as many sentences as they can squeeze them into.

Generalizations are great for the (low IQ) narcissist, as it hides weakness.
And this is why they hate facts, and details.

They will be exposed - and they hate that. (and won't laugh about it too much, either)
😂😂😂

A simple test - mock a 'possible' narcissist, and your suspicion's will soon be confirmed, one way or another.
(p.s. this only works on the lower IQ narcissist).

Sort:  

Is this article about me?

😂 😂 😂 😂 😂
no, it's all about meeeeeeeeeee!

Are you calling me vain?😜

I bet you think this post is about you....

Brilliant!

Hey, while you have been checking people out have you noticed a truck load of new fake accounts?

Check list - set up this year, no money in wallet, no earnings, lots of followers (all new), constantly resteems, no real content, nothing personal, no opinions, no intro post, post meaningless comments on selected accounts.

I'm calling them cubicle farm monkeys but they could be retarded narcissists I guess :)

You stole the title for my post.
I had it all worked out...as much as anything ever is
I post extemporaneously..

And 'boom'...there it is ...staring me in the face.
Now I gotta derez and reconceputalize
You got any idea how difficult that is?
It might be a three cigar problem.

Sorry for the delay in the reply - I had to look up 'extemporaneously'..😂

Is psychic transfer really stealing, though...?

perhaps stealing is too strong of a word.
the article I had in mind was going to be nothing like yours.
at all..at all...

I had intended to bash liberals..

always fun...and Soooo easy..
but now...
(sniff)...

I'll have to reconceputalize...

....the article I had in mind was going to be nothing like yours.

So I stole from you, something that you was going to write, that was nothing like yours?

mmmm....this is a very worrying turn of events, sir...

Have you been taking a SJW philosophy course, on the quiet?
😂😂

Let me reword that.
I was intending to write a post using the same title..
but you beat me to it.

Phew! ah, ok - crisis over!

I'm off very soon, but I want to ask you something - advice- and saying 'just upvote me to the max' doesn't count..
I have been given a lot of Sp (for a week I think) , and want to make sure I use it properly...

I'll ask you tomorrow. Nothing to do with the best SJW course to take, or anything..

😂😂

My intention was to just quickly read the first few lines and come back to it tonight. But, here I am after reading the entire article. I truly like how you organised your thoughts and the manner with which you presented your point. Despite the many, many insightful lines you have written here (including the one @miklkent highlighted); for, me this one is the most perceptive one:

To think (I) you posses the intelligence to diagnose those traits from steemit posts would be more indicative of (my) your own low IQ(and narcissistic tendencies , funnily enough), rather than the understanding the psychology of another.

Well, thank you very much...

I always think of spotting the true sociopaths/psychopaths akin to left handed people playing squash...
(as a left hander, and potential pro squash player - another story- I have some insight into this...)

Bear with me on this...

...As a left hander ( lets use 10% being left hander's, but there are different ranges) playing squash, the massive advantage I had over right handers cannot be underestimated - I nearly always played against right handers.
Right handers nearly always played against right handers to.

When they came across a left hander - everything was the opposite to them - but not for me. They had to think about their shots, whereas my actions were instinctive.

Now transpose that to the 2 or 3 % of sociopaths/psychopaths - who are in the same position as I was on the squash court playing right handers - but they are using these skills of who they are from being young.. ...24hrs a day, 7 days a week- all their lives - not just an hour on the squash court, twice a week..

Their skills of deception and manipulation are massively in favor of 'them' knowing the game far better than 'us' - non sociopaths/psychopaths. Pretty much always.

(hence the point I made on my post) . Phew I got there eventually! lol

This is a reply to the lovely message you left me on the distilled comment’s feed 😊

I'm not hearing the sound of keys tapping out posts from Portugal....? I hope everything is good with you?

You are a sweetie! 😊 Yes, everything is good with me. I just need another 3 weeks to finish this project that has been consuming pretty much my entire life since early April. Last Thursday I finsihed a major part of it - althoug, I must admit, the findings were not what I expected. I will be back posting on a weekly basis in June, as I will take a little holiday break with my hubby when I hand the project in at the end of May. I hope you ate fine too! ❤️🌷

OK cool !

We are thinking of starting a business here, using SBD as the currency....
What do you think? lol

gtgy.jpg

😂😍😂 I need to purchase this one right now, and wear it until the end of May.
The idea is exciting indeed. What sort of products and services will you be offering? Will you be sending them world wide? What is the plan to deal with the fluctuations of SBD? Steemstem have been working on a similar project, although I think they will be using steem as their curency.

Well, we know a screen/vinyl printer for the personalized messages on the t shirts - (and I have a few stock messages that I can come with myself - see above. lol).

Just ideas kicking around...

We have access to lots of clothing goods - but thinking more of the personalized t shirt thing to start off, and if people want anything else, we could source as and when required...

We can send anywhere in the world, no problem.
Fluctuations can be accommodated for - if they are paid for as ordered - we can convert the sbd there and then, so we know the $ rate.

No mishaps that way.

I only thought of it 3 hours ago!
I don't have it all the angles covered yet.

😂😂

oh!! another little bit of my book if have time.
https://steemit.com/blog/@lucylin/toxic-friends

It worked against Boris from Ass-crack-Istan.
He got rude.

Boris from Ass-crack-Istan.?

the only 'Boris' I can think of, is our beloved (and highly intelligent) UK foreign secretary...?
😂😂

Well maybe his name was Ivanoshitzskyislamovitch (Ivan for short)...or Dimitri.....hell I don't know. It might have been Bob.

You know how I am with names.

By confronting and questioning their truth, you are threatening the power sucking dynamic they need. Credibility.

I need to frame this quote right here and tape it to my desk, my front door, my bathroom mirror, the dashboard, the handle bars, the coffee pot, the dog's water bowl, the edge of the TV, my cup with all the pens in it, each of my bookshelves, my clothing drawer, and make it a WALLPAPER on my phone.

lol - Avoid the mirror -a bit narcissistic mate!
😂

Upvoted. I don't care haha. I already know this haha. Just kidding. That is an example of narcissism. I learn about IQ from @Stefan.Molyneux videos hehe. Yeah, lower IQ people tend to lack higher avenues of comedic velocity hehe. Thanks Lucy Lin.

Poor Carly, she had a pretty messed up childhood. She made some decent music out of it though. Beautiful voice. Hope everything is going better for you. Someone said something about you got a steem power delegation. Make the best out of it. Work your tail off.

Things still not the best , it's fine.
I got a lot of SP delegated yeah.
Whats the best way to maximize it's potential? lol

I have no idea how much you got but you have options,
option 1: I have a curation trail on steem auto if you want to jump on there and follow. It leaves me with enough vote power to still run around and upvote comments, create posts and all the normal stuff but i drag in about 5 to 7 SP per week for just letting it run.
option 2 : be a selfish dick and upvote the shit out of yourself

option 3 : go into new posts area and spread the love to some minnows and find good content. It is quite rewarding to go help new folks get a grip on what is going on and helping them understand how it works around here
option 4: use your new found power to start a flag war

option 5 : let it sit idle and waste it.

option 6 : it can be used as an extra motivating tool to draw in people to your post. I have started to make posts using the bounty program where i can put in my own SBD to reward people that come in and post in my posts. It is a double pay for them because they get my decent sized upvote and then after the post closes they get extra payout from the bounty program based on who i voted up the most. If i don't vote on any at all for some reason they still get a payout based on upvoting each other. If noone comments or votes you get all your money back.

personally i would get on some sort of curation trail and set the vote strength down to like 40 or 50% so it does not use all your vote power. you can set the cut off anywhere you like to where it will stop autovoting. I usually leave my cut off around 85% because i do not like to let it get below that point. That will leave you with plenty of power to go around and help out new folks and get use to using the vote slider. Use the vote slider or you will blow through all your vote power before you know it.

Be the reason someone smiles or be the reason someone drinks, it is your adventure. :)

with great power comes great responsibility.
-- uncle ben

it's a 1000sp - I only have it for a week (I think) . I had forgot all about it to be honest.

Needing some dosh it is at the mo, it's very tempting to be a dick - but I don't really do much self upvoting ...well I do on a posts I make, but hardly ever any other time...

Cheers for the pointers though...

then if it were me i would go bomb into the new section and make some minnows days.

Uhm but we have to be a bit narcissistic here to promote our posts... 😂

Narcissistic people need to be understood indeed and if we can't handle them, some people say it's best to keep away from them. I say maybe until you're tough enough to deal with them everyday. 🤔

lol, I'll go have a look in the mirror and discuss it further...😂

We all have it to some degree.
Lower intelligence and narcissism combined, seems to be more of a negative personality trait, rather than in people that are a little more intelligent...

...I'm not tough, so I run away from them!
😂

Haha harder to do if that someone is a family member. Oh well, less contact can be good too. 😂

mother - low functioning sociopath, sister low functioning sociopath, brother - full blow psychopath, grandparents both sociopaths

I don't see my family anymore... 😂😂

Hah so I see. 😂😂😂 I don't see my mom that much too. And my bro is out of the country so yay!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28