The Great Squid Hunt!

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1460_0034.jpg

IMG_1461_0033.jpg

When the squid are running there is a general excitement that is in the air around ocean folk. That also means there is tons of fish feeding and happy food chain from the top to the bottom. Some of my favorite times at sea was in the middle of the ocean away from any lights collecting squid for bait before a trip. At night in the middle of the sea with glowing green lights and darting aggressive squid zooming through the strange alien landscape of waves, air and stars you find yourself wondering if you are on another planet. And in a lot of ways you are. I can live in the air or water for long. I am a tourist in this continent of water.

IMG_1440_0054.jpg

IMG_1441_0053.jpg

IMG_1472_0022.jpg

The squid make faint squirting sounds as they powerfully dive under the water chasing food. There are whales surfacing in the dark, you can hear them breathing through their blowholes in loud bursts. Mackerel with their silver flashing blue hues darting around enjoying the feast. Under them are bigger fish eating the mackerel. And below something bigger. The circle of life has never been so tangible as this moment. I breath in and feel the salty air fill my lungs. I am a part of this moment with these beautiful creatures of the sea, I know that part of me belongs to them as well. I respectfully collect for a coming fishing trip, thanking them as I do, packing them into bags and in the freezer. The fish I catch from them will feed me and several other family's. I am grateful.

IMG_1489_0005.jpg

IMG_1490_0004.jpg

Thank you for reading my blog, if you liked this post lets be friends and follow me.
Big Love.
Ren

Sort:  

I want to do this so bad. The sound of whales in the dark and being out in open water at night sounds magical.

The closest I've ever come to catching a squid is seeing cuttlefish while snorkeling in the Bahamas. There were five of them swimming in a V formation and they stopped for a moment to stare at me. When they decided I was scary and took off, they moved so fast that it was like they just vanished.

They gave the impression that they are very intelligent. I'm not sure why, exactly, but the way they move and look at things made them seem smart. Or at least they seemed smarter than the sharks, stingrays, and barracuda that we saw.

Wow, cuttlefish! I haven't seen one in person but I am so in love with them. What magical creatures. On my list is to kick it with some cuttlefish before I die.

Thank you so much for reading my squid post. I hope you get your night time sea adventure!

Awesome pictures and looks like yall had a great harvest! Definitely sounds like a good time too!

Thank you, always a good time on the sea. Hope you and your birds are doing well.

Wow, looks like fun! Or at least interesting, lol! Good to see the ocean full of life.

The ocean is so full of hidden secret life. Thanks for reading!

Mmmm bait and kalimari! Nice.

Thanks! I love squid, they are so fierce. Thanks for reading.

Is this preparation for the upcoming sailing adventure ?

I wish, sailing is on hold for a little while. Just an offshore fishing trip, thanks or reading @calatorulmiop! Hope your day is wonderful.

I was hoping the grand adventure will start soon. I'll have to be patient then :) hope you have a good day as well.

A grand adventure maybe in the works, I will keep you in the loop :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57653.84
ETH 2354.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35