The Perks of Being a Lone Wanderer

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Cover.jpg


TRAVELING SOLO




People always ask me why I love travelling alone. I’ve come up with different answers but never really thought hard why. It’s not that I don’t like hanging out with a group. I still have travels every once in a while with my friends and family but there’s just something so rewarding about going home from a solo travel.

It was after a rough week at work when I decided to pack my bags and travel alone with hopes of freeing myself from all the stress. With no plans at all, I checked the map for nearby provinces and started my solo trip to Biliran. I’ve always wanted to visit Leyte since I have quite a number of friends who live there but bad weather never allowed me to push through. I was preparing myself for a cancelled trip and had a few other options in mind but I guess it was really the right time for me to explore the province because everything fell into place.


A94661F1-9FE9-4B0E-A7DC-C15BDE22DD7F.JPG
SAMBAWAN ISLAND. Just the right destination for a solo travel.

Before leaving the office, I was asked the same question - Why am I travelling solo? I wasn’t able to give a clear answer. I started my journey with a question that I hope I’ll get to answer once the trip ends. Let me share with you everything I’ve learned from my recent solo travel to Biliran and inspire you to try at least once in your life travelling alone, getting lost and finding yourself in the process.


TAKE CHARGE



Travelling solo means doing all the tasks that might have been otherwise shared when you’re travelling with a group. I had no plans at all when I started my trip. I checked out blogs online to give myself a general idea on how a travel to Biliran is like. I didn’t have enough time to get all the information so I just decided to fix everything once I get there with the help of the locals. That usually works because they know more about the place and they can give you the best recommendations on which activities to try. I always try to explore a place like a local. Ride public transport, eat local dishes, and immerse myself into their culture and day-to-day life.

When you’re alone, you’re responsible for everything that happens on the trip. No one will be there to review your plans and give opinions on trying to make the itinerary better. You’ll learn to give extra effort to everything. I have seen myself grow from all the solo travels I did. I trust myself more and became more independent. One problem I always face though is having no one to watch over my backpack whenever I need to go to the bathroom. You always have to bring your belongings with you and pay more attention on safeguarding your things. You’ll never know what could happen. I’ve heard a lot of stories about theft during their trips and I don’t wanna be a victim. Taking charge of your trip also means disappointing no one but yourself when you mess up with the plans.


29E6DC8E-53D4-427A-A38F-D77A44569A81.JPG
A bird’s-eye view of the island.

Contrary to what most people think, Biliran is actually not part of Leyte. It used to be until 1992 when it declared its independence. If you’re looking for a less touristy destination with equally stunning natural landscapes as the neighboring provinces, add Biliran to your travel list. I brought my new drone with me for this trip so expect some different perspectives compared to my other series.


CONNECT



I arrived quite late in Ormoc and found out that the last van going to Naval already left. I tried to talk to some locals who also arrived at the terminal late. We looked for other alternatives and convinced some of the drivers there to take us to our destination. Luck was on our side because one of the drivers said yes since he’s also heading to the same direction.

Even if you’re travelling solo, you won’t feel so alone if you socialize. Starting a conversation with strangers was a problem of mine before but I can now talk to them like we’ve known each other for years. You’ll get interesting information one can’t find in the internet.


30E389D6-87BA-4DCE-A975-2EE4B27E3E36.JPG
One of the drivers I met during the trip - Roldan.

Great conversations can really go a long way. Even by just lending your ears to hear their stories you can establish a connection. They all knew I wasn’t prepared for the trip and they’re all very eager to help. It was midnight when we arrived in Naval and I haven’t booked any hotel yet. Most of the hotels were closed but the driver along with the locals went out of their way to make sure I’ll have a good stay in their province. I’m really grateful with all the help they offered and right then and there I knew I was off to a good start. Having locals like them around meant nothing could possibly go wrong. Someone’s willing to help anytime.


1E820D33-6108-4445-9E63-6D54BC5CFEC3.JPG
Maripipi Island served as a beautiful backdrop to the port.

Travelling solo can also mean spending more unless you had everything planned well. I had to shoulder all the expenses that can actually be divided when you’re in a group. From the hotel room to the public transport from Naval to Kawayan and the boat ride going to Sambawan Island, I could’ve saved more if I travelled with friends but the locals were kind enough to give me some discounts.


0236461B-01E5-4676-8ECD-1B931C1F1476.JPG
KAWAYAN PORT. Locals gather at the port to witness the sunset.




LITTLE THINGS



The boat started sailing with no one but me as the passenger. The feeling of solitude brought me back to my question. I asked myself, how would this trip be different if I have some friends with me? When travelling in a group, you can’t help but talk a lot about anything. Your focus will be elsewhere. Group travels usually serve as catching up sessions. I was looking at the sunset before me and realized that these little things could be taken for granted. Not that having a company is a bad idea, it’s just that sometimes we need to be alone to give ourselves time to reflect and be more appreciative of simple things in life. Being in complete solitude allows you to get an unobstructed view of what’s happening right before your eyes.


Collage 1.jpg
There’s no better way to start a trip than with a sunset.

From the sound of the waves to the warm skies that welcomed me to the island, my attention was solely on how beautiful the sunset was and how I was so fortunate to witness that.


85D56F54-5411-451C-BDDA-1B331234B891.JPG
Being alone lets us appreciate the little things in life.


02EAEAED-9AF0-4C6E-99D5-676B87F4F0D5.JPG
MARIPIPI ISLAND. Another option for travelers going to Sambawan is via Maripipi from Naval.

Most of the tourists don’t spend a night in Sambawan. It’s usually just part of an Island Hopping package where guests spend only a few hours on the island then leave. There were hardly any tourists when I arrived.


0DBA422B-49B9-4817-9525-CFB7FDC591B0.JPG
The watchtower is where you'll see the best view of the island.




WHATEVER, WHENEVER



The search for answers continued as stars filled up the sky. I was staring at the Milky Way while lying down on my tent when I realized I wanted to try astrophotography. It’s something we can’t do in the city due to pollution and the unwanted lights that would overexpose your images. It took me hours to take the shot that I wanted. Astrophotography is something new for me. I tried to remember everything I’ve read online to get one decent shot.


680BC70C-A413-4935-8056-5A59A837FC18.JPG
MILKY WAY. I sacrificed a few hours of sleep for this.

While checking out the photos, another answer popped into my head - you can do whatever and whenever you want without having to compromise for anyone else when you’re on your own. I tend to follow my impulses all the time but when you’re travelling with a group you have to consider the majority’s decision. You’re lucky if you have friends who have totally the same interests as yours but being alone means more freedom to decide. I’m pretty sure I’ll have a hard time waking up my friends and telling them that I, out of nowhere, wanted to climb a mountain at midnight to shoot the Milky Way.


Collage 2.jpg
After a few failed attempts, I finally got this shot right.

Travelling solo lets you have full control of your time. You can sleep and wake up anytime you want. Spend more or less time in a place and you’ll never have to wait for someone else.


DISTANCE



I woke up to the crowing of the rooster. It was tempting to stay longer in Sambawan Island but my search for answers lead me back to Kawayan.


4CECD573-CF13-44D9-BCF7-AE6FD8D31FC3.JPG
You won’t need an alarm clock in Sambawan.


82837C3C-5EF4-4D06-BF9C-582BB71DD8DF.JPG
Maripipi’s way of asking me to stay longer.

Going on a solitary journey also means being away from home and your loved ones. Other people have this as their reason not to travel solo. They're scared to leave the comforts of their own homes. Distance will let you know how much you value people. With social media and all the advancements in technology, you can easily include them in your adventures.


8D837791-1384-4CF0-815C-E30F6AB6733B.JPG
I wanted to stay longer but my boat arrived very early in the morning.


Collage 3.jpg
I’m definitely going back.




ADAPT



Things don’t usually go as planned. By being a lone traveller we learn to be more adaptable to any situations that would come our way. I have learned to accept that problems could arise anytime when travelling. I make sure it doesn’t ruin my mood and I was able to master the art of trying to turn a bad situation into something fun. This happened a lot of time in my travels.


50F3AA30-6A75-4895-9627-633CF47A5C5D.JPG
ULAN-ULAN FALLS. Just one of more than 30 waterfalls in the province.

During this trip, following my planned itinerary became impossible after leaving the island. It rained really hard when I was about to go around different waterfalls in the province. That didn’t frustrate me. Instead, I stayed positive and asked the driver to take me only to the nearest spots in the area. There’s always a next time. I saw it as an opportunity for me to go back and explore more of the province.


Collage 4.jpg
One of the tallest waterfalls in the province.

Think positive and positive things will happen. I was able to enjoy despite the situation. Missing the other spots gave me the chance to explore less popular sites off the tourist map like the rice terraces in Iyusan. One thing travel has taught me is that everything works out in the end. It may not be like how you planned it but once you try to just enjoy and be open to changes, you’ll be surprised to see things unfold better than what you have imagined.


4413D7D9-0C5C-4ABD-A3D8-61020BBEDC80.JPG
IYUSAN RICE TERRACES. One of Biliran’s hidden gems.


3E43BF67-173E-4912-AC4C-641DF414C868.JPG
Treat your eyes to soothing lush green landscape of Iyusan.




CREATIVITY



I always feel more creative when I’m alone. The great ones among the visual series I have produced were during my solo travels. I just feel that I access my creativity more when I’m away and free to do whatever I want. I’m certain most artists would agree.


F5140CE7-5369-4A0C-A10A-16AA00C6DDB9.JPG
HABAL-HABAL. Motorcycles in Biliran have roofs and extended seats.

I can focus more on the story I want to share when I’m alone. When I take photographs, I wanted to cover as much of the story as possible even if it takes time and requires me to do crazy stunts (like shooting in the middle of the road just to get a money shot).


88529EA8-EA45-4F76-8140-CB418076D6EA.JPG
BILIRAN BRIDGE. The bridge links Biliran to the island of Leyte.

None of these incredible experiences would be possible if I wasn’t travelling alone. One can gain a deeper understanding of the place when you’re a lonesome wanderer. Travelling solo, unlike most people think, doesn’t equate to being lonely. It’s actually quite the opposite because you’ll get to meet people with various backgrounds and make connections that could last a lifetime.

Instead of answering the question, I would encourage people to try travelling solo and answer the question themselves. Experience beats words. Don’t be afraid to travel solo. I know the idea can get really intimidating for first-timers. Start off your solo travel experience on the right foot by choosing a rather easy trip first and from there, take the learnings with you for your next travel destination. Travelling solo provides you a fast track to personal development. Rather than fear the unknown, embrace it.


6005C3B3-8861-4D75-8C83-29181A2767F5.JPG



Thank you for viewing! Let me know what you think of this series.

Warmest regards,
@legendarryll

Sort:  

Oh my!! What a beautiful travel blog! Waaaah! Stunning photos! What camera or editing tool are you using? Huhuhu. This is so nice! By the way, you might want to include #swmchallenge you might win the challenge. Here's the link:
https://steemit.com/swmchallenge/@runicar/steemit-world-map-challenge-4

Also, the ocd curators might love this post, you may use the #ocdresteem tag.

I believe this post deserves to be curated. I hope curators notice this 😭

I'm Team Fujifilm. haha! I use lightroom for my photos. Thanks for the advice. I'll keep those in mind. I'm also hoping for a curie upvote but I guess I'm no longer qualified based on the guidelines. @meetmysuperego

Yeah. They're prioritizing the newer members. But its nice SG noticed your post! Yay! 🤗🍾

I'm planning to save up for a new camera, can you suggest one? Something that is not over 30K. Hehe.

Hmm. I would highly recommend any fujifilm cameras. I believe the price for X-A3 is withing your range.

Really nice post, Dar! I agree with the traveling woes part. You will face a lot of problems while traveling, very much like in real life! The key is to look at things with a positive mindset - to get through them all still with a positive disposition. This post gives me a bit of courage to try travelling alone 😁

Naglisod kog reply. hahaha! Dapat naa tay travel puhon with Tiya. haha

The photos and the article are very nice.
Congratulations. Thank you.

A solo traveler has vast flexibility in exploring things without the hassle of seeking entire consent from group mates.

You are not alone, cos you share experiences here with us.

The bird's eye view of the island makes it look as if the land is spilling over into the ocean in a dramatic way. Super cool :)

I feel like this article could be adapted into a discussion on the needs of the soul.

Thanks @tobyfex! I find that cool too. That would be an interesting take on this article.
-Darryll

Wow! Awseome shots. 😊

Beautiful post! Makes me wanna travel solo too.

It really is! Sometimes travelling solo is better than travelling with friends.😊
I’ll follow you, hope you’ll follow my blogs too 😊

Thanks. I agree. Steem on!

Awesome kuya..bow ako as always. Ayaw mo use #philippines tag? It's for us sa bayanihan curation team though you're doing well with your posts.

Thank you @immarojas! Nakalimutan ko i-add. Kaya pala kulang ng isa. I'll edit it now. Thanks for reminding me. :)

yw keep on!

this post made me add Biliran to my travel list! Would definitely go here in 1-3 years! I also love travelling alone and made myself have some character development in terms of being socially active to strangers :)

Good read 👍🏼

Thanks @johnarvee12. You definitely should add Biliran on your list. There's so much to see. These are just some of their awesome spots.

Right and it seems like its not yet famous as other tourist destination

Quality stuff here Darryll, you got a resteem from me! 😀

Thanks @getonthetrain! I always try my best to produce quality content here on Steemit. :)

My man! That's the attitude I like to see 😊

Your formatting is enviable AF. And this post is full of incredible points. To be or not be alone.. that is an important life question.

Thanks @saysme! I have a background in graphic design so I try to spend more time with the formatting and make it look good despite the limits.
-Darryll

It shows. Incredible post on all fronts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56