Writing process

in #blog6 years ago

Image Source: Pixabay

Failure to prepare is preparing to fail.

A break down of how I prep my blogs for the week.

In the beginning, little odd Kubby would sit in front of the computer and hash out a phrase or two expresses a thought, a topic, or a general state of being. Then a lovely writing challenge came along and enforced quality with length, structure, and depth. Then lovely friends reinforced the idea of grammar check and formatting. Fast forward to a year on the platform and instead of writing and posting the first idea that comes to mind a system was born and developed.

Write EVERY idea down.

How often are you inspired by an idea in the shower, right before bed, when you wake up, after a conversation, from a show, and life in general? Very often ideas are generated through simulation and other times in quiet moments of reflection. Many times post are written in our minds and later forgotten. After forgetting one too many ideas. Writing any and all ideas down has become a habit. Sometimes it's a word, a picture, more often than not it's a phrase. More often than not that idea just need to jump out on paper or your screen. Once it is written then it develops, sometimes subconscious.

Think about it.

Let the idea stew in the crockpot of your imagination.

Be that note taker. The one the writes it down on paper, on your phone, or on a google doc. Afterward, let the idea grow. Sometimes, I'll write an entire post in my mind as if I was typing it. Later on, the words flow out as they were envisioned. Often times expanding itself as the ideas are revisited on my computer screen. I have never been able to look at a blank screen and write. Don't stare at a blank screen and hope for inspiration. Step away from the computer and naturally allow your mind to cultivate ideas with your surrounding.

Sometimes you have to be intentional about generating ideas. That would make an excellent blog post becomes a common random phrase in my mind, after a conversation, a trip, or after an event. When that voice comes alive, the idea is written down, then it is made into a post. Not all ideas should become a post, but some with a little bit of work can be and should be.

Format/Grammarly/Pictures

Work on pictures and formatting. My final step often occurring while writing is to format with pictures. My pictures are usually random and often not related to my text. Some have recommended using images more related to the topic. Whatever you decided to do, make sure you check for errors. Often times what you see is what you want to see because you've looked at so many times.

Sometimes what you see if your thought processes mixed in with ideas that lead to mismatch words. That might just be me, but you should still check your writing just in case. Have another person proofread, use www.grammarly.com, and never post your first draft. It is amazing what you will catch the second time you read over your post. You'll find some ideas aren't conveyed as you wished, some thoughts are confusing or can be reworded, and other times you will catch silly mistakes.

AVOID POSTING YOUR FIRST DRAFT!

  • Formatting is easy after you use it for a while. There are so many post out there and if you click formatting it will take you to the one I used when I first started. There are three codes I always use: <center>image/text</center> & <div class="pull-right"></div>

  • Banners and Moving Banners are fun and really add to a post. Be Careful not to use it as your first image because that will show up as your thumbnail. Done that once or too many times. :) Thank God for the edit button, right?!

Write daily or try to

Every day, I write down a word or idea. Sometimes it expands into a post sometimes it doesn't. However, by the end of the week, I usually have seven ideas pre-planned, pre-written, pre-formatted for the week. Every day when I wake up, I reach for my phone and post. This takes a huge pressure off. Granted you shouldn't post just for posting sack. You should consider your readers, your theme, your value. The habit of writing every day allows you to have options. Some post you will find engage more with others, make more than other posts, and are better written than others. I have yet to take a full 24 hours off, so if I do please check to make sure I'm okay.

Goals

I want to Steem my way to Europe. Every day I remember that and I am inspired to write. Earning on this platform allows to travel, so why wouldn't I put in the work to write every day? My post has a purpose, my earnings go towards a cause, and I control the time. What is your process in writing? Are you proud of each of your post? What is the worst advice you have received or the best? Share with me, so I know you made it this far!

Sort:  

This is very helpful. It's like we're similar in the aspect of putting ideas down as soon as it conceived. I've learnt to research well and take note. Your post is very helpful, thank you. I'll also make it a challenge to write daily to develop my writing skill. I also like your goal to Steem your way to Europe. It will be possible for you and me too! Have a nice day ♡

Thank you very much. Hope this helps with your writing process and allows you to travel :)

Thank you too ♡

No wonder I always feel my write-ups are mediocre at best; Believe it or not, I hardly think them through, I just start writing

Then they are not mediocre. They are simple underdeveloped. When I read your post I often feel like you could have gone deeper, maybe you feel the same. You’ll find your rythem soon :)

I tend to be visually based. As such a photo, screenshot, or a description of something tends to be my point of reference and allows me to create.

I do think over planning can remove that spark that posts can sometimes have. That wow factor you just get out of struggling a little bit. As you sometimes need some space for happy accidents in the writing.

I revise a few times just to get my writing to the stage it is at. Even for comments it's rare I don't look them over and do a quick pass.

I wonder if writing can really have that initial wow factor without edit. I have found, for me at least, my first draft is rarely my best.

Not possible for me at least in first stage. A 1k+ word blog for me will have hundreds of spelling, misused words, and other issues. Even typing this out took some editing. While I might be a native English speaker it has always been a great struggle for me. Everything always needs major rearrangements. Sometimes I’ll just scrap a 1k+ word blog and start all over again as it did not work out great to even have a base to work from.

That's a great post about post. Can I call it a meta-post? I don't remember my worst advice, but this was the best advice I could have ever read, by far. Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94