[How To] Change Inline Skate (Rollerblade) Wheels

in #blog7 years ago

It's been over 10 years that I've owned these rollerblades, but have not used them a lot until recent years. I've never changed the wheels since I didn't really need to. But I decided it was time to probably get new wheels. Maybe my older wheels still had some use left in them, but they were still decently worn out and I was ready to change them.

These are my old pair of rollerblades, Rollerblade Composite Bio Dynamic Shock Eraser is what I think they are called:

1.jpg

Here is what my old wheels on the left skate look like:

2.jpg


1) Taking the Old Wheels Off

On one side of each skate is the Allen key or hex key access to remove each wheel:

4.jpg

b) Axle Removal with Hex Key

In the box with my original rollerblades, there was a hex key provided, along with a spare axle. If you don't have a hex key provided by your rollerblade or in-line skate manufacturer, all you need is your own hex key that fits the wheel axle. Any standard set of hex keys will have the size you need.

Fit the hex key into the hall of the axle, and turn counterclockwise until the screw comes out. You might need to use the screw or the hex key to push out the bolt part of the axle.

After taking out the axle completely, you can pop the wheel out as well. Then you're left with the axle, the screw, the wheel and an empty spot in your rollerblade plate:

6.jpg

c) Clean the Axles

When you remove each wheel, the axle will probably be dirty. Take a paper towel and clean each axle before you use them again with the new wheels. Here you can see how dirty one of mine were:

7.jpg

After you get all four wheels removed, and cleaned all four axles, were almost ready to start putting the new wheels in:

9.jpg

d) Clean Under the Skate

But first we should really clean inside the plate that holds the wheels. Since my skates are black you can't see the dark dirt very well, but there is plenty of stock on dirt and grime to clean off.

10.jpg

Just clean that up with an old cloth and warm water, then dry it with a dry cloth or leave it out in the sun. I enjoyed most of it with a cloth and then put it out in the sun to dry fully while I worked on the other skate.


2) Putting on the New Wheels

My new wheels are called Firefly, and are the same size 80mm, with a hardness rating of 80A, and ball bearing quality of ABEC 7. Eight wheels cost $40 plus taxes.

11.jpg

Look at how clean and shiny they are compared to my browned out old wheels:

12.jpg

Axel Installation with Hex Key

When you take off the old wheels, you will notice that the hex key opening in the axle is on the inside of the skate. When you put on the new wheels, put the axle in the same way.

14.jpg

You can see the right wheel is completely secure, while the left one only has the axle pushed through the bearing and ready to be screwed in.

At first I couldn't get the axle through as it was hitting the inside of the bearing, while trying to put it in the opposite way went in without much fuss. I thought I was doing it wrong, but you just have to turn the key and wiggle it in to make it get past the different layers of the bearing.

In no time at all, you will have the four new wheels mounted on your old pair of rollerblades.

15.jpg


3) Completed

Do the same thing for your other skate, and then you're ready to get back on the road:

17.jpg

One thing I want to add, is that it's a good idea to carry the hex key with you when you go rollerblading. The reason I say this is because the day that I went to get new wheels, I ended up getting a aluminum glass bottle Stuck in the back right wheel where the break is. When I tried to use the break to slow down my wheel wasn't turning and I was being jerked forward from the inability of my wheel to turn anymore.

I didn't have the hex key with me which could have screwed me over. I took out my keys and started to drag at the jammed bottlecap stuck in the back of the wheel under the break. Luckily I was able to get it out and continue rollerblading to the store. But it's just a lesson that having the tools to remove your wheel is handy to have on you, as you never know when you might need it.

Old vs. New Wheel Difference

I took a final picture to compare the old one out wheel with the fresh new wheel, just to see the difference. Like I said my wheels might've been decent for a while still, but the new wheels have a definite advantage on smaller surface area contact for potentially slightly better speeds.

18.jpg


Well that's it!

I've used the new wheels and they work well. I can't really tell if I skate easier, but I can tell I'm not on as flat a surface like my old wheels. I can feel the more pointy aspect of the new wheels.

Thank you for your time and attention! I appreciate the knowledge reaching more people. Take care. Peace.

Sort:  

Wow I haven't road inline skates in ages!!! I do remember replacing my wheels...Felt like a brand new pair after.

Be safe my friend and enjoy.

Thanks, will do! Raining today, but I'll be back on them soon :P

I wonder if my old roller blades are still at my parents house. Seeing and reading your post brought back so many memories. I don't think I should revive my old blades, I don't need any bruised knees and ripped pants anymore.

Hehe, luckily for me I don't fall, I'm pretty balanced. I now for some people skates are not their thing ;) Thanks for the feedback.

I haven't used inline skates since I was teenager back in the 1990s. It's great that you described how to change the wheels on them. It's something that I never figured out before when I was younger.

I guess I'm still trying to be young ;). I wonder, is there like social or customary age cut-off for inline skates? On the bike paths, I see few rollerbladers. There are like 20 times more bikes hehe.

I don't think there is. I actually thought finding and using my old pair of inline skates after reading your post. ;)

When you see your wheels wearing down on one side (they always do) it is time to rotate them. In the 2nd image you can see how they are worn down on one side, this is normal. You will get much more mileage from your wheels when you rotate them. Happy blading.

I have rotated them 2 times before, I forgot to mention that. Thanks for the feedback.

They did look very thin and well worn :)

Haha! Great! I hope we'll see you doing some crazy tricks! (By the way, I made a rollerblading video long time ago, but it's not my main talent, ahah)

Me either lol. No tricks here, just cruising to get places :P

It's already great! Cheers my friend! =D

You know how seeing a picture of a food might make you salivate, especially if it's acidic? Well looking at these pictures brought back the sound of the wheels on the pavement, the way you push your feet slightly outward to propel yourself forward, etc.! Good skate down memory lane!

LOL, nice! I was wondering where you were going with that at first... Nice analogy at the beginning and end ;)

Nothing like the feel of fresh wheels under your feet :) good tutorial on how to change wheels. I Love rollerblading!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51