Addiction is Real - Me, Myself and My Struggle with Legal Addictions...

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Addiction is Real - Me, Myself and My Struggle with Legal Addictions...

Hi, my name is Krista and I'm an addict (if you examine yourself closely chances are you might be as well). Although it is certainly true that I have never been addicted to heavy drugs, I am still an addict. I am a daily coffee drinker, I smoke about a pack of cigarettes every day, and I am absolutely addicted to technology.

For those of you saying "that doesn't make you an addict"

please hold for a definition

loading.......


ad·dict
noun
-a person who is addicted to a particular substance, typically an illegal drug.
-an enthusiastic devotee of a specified thing or activity.
-Google



Maybe it goes a bit like this, Hi, my name is Krista and I am an atypical addict.


Fact: Nicotine and Caffeine are both drugs. Yes, they are. Yes, they are. Yes. They are.

I am downright mean without coffee and I develop an awful headache if I do not consume enough. Likewise without nicotine, although no headache, just shakiness. I read somewhere once that nicotine is more addictive than heroin. Since I have never tried heroin, I will let someone with experience weigh in on that if they choose to. I did however quit smoking marijuana about 11 years ago, and despite people saying it is not addictive, I found it super hard to stop smoking it. I have quit smoking cigarettes a couple times, but add some well placed stress into my life, and BAM! I start again....every.....damn.....time...

Before I found Steemit and Discord, I effectively wasted time on Facebook. I have actually logged into Discord every day for the last 11 months, that is true for facebook also, although...less now. I check it when I wake up and I glance at it before I fall asleep. My kids get so mad when they can't play video games or when it is time to "wrap it up", I imagine I would act the same way if someone tried to limit my "screen" time. They get mean, but I understand, this is what addiction does to you, legal or not.

Pictured above you will see other legal addictions people sometimes have. Overeating, prescription drugs and gambling. I didn't even mention food as a struggle for me, but oh how I love food, which keeps me about 20 pounds heavier than what is considered normal range for my gender/height. Someone I love recently weened themselves off of a legally prescribed narcotic, they had been on it for over a decade. Although they weened themselves slowly. They were sick both physically and mentally for weeks.

Sidenote: This is not a PSA or a "Quit doing that" post. I can only discuss my addictions and the resulting struggles I face because of them. I know that cigarettes are slowly killing me and a waste of money, I know that my technology addiction distracts me from my family, I don't have a bad thing to say about coffee at this time :) This also shouldn't be viewed as minimizing the struggles "typical" addicts face. I won't pretend to know what that is like, and I hate the way that society views addicts as unworthy or subhuman. If you are struggling with addiction to heavy drugs, you are still enough <3 there is help, you deserve to get better. I know many people view addiction as a choice, maybe initially, you start it yes, but it can and does spiral out of control. Remember it could be your friend/son/self, so please as you slip into judgmental mode, consider that.

Thanks for swinging in

All the love,


All photos came from www.pixabay.com


Come Visit us in Whaleshares Official Discord: .https://discord.gg/EGDP6GT

I'd LOVE to meet you!!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47