Accidental Hybrid - Callaspider? Spiderlily?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Accidental hybrid

I have a bit of a green thumb and therefore I don't kill plants often. This summer I have managed to kill three somehow, one of which was this Calla Lily. A three year old wandering Jew and a Needle Point Ivy also met their demise.

I purchased the Lily around Easter, one for me and one for my best friend (the purple one stayed with me). It lived a couple months, and then looked absolutely miserable so I transplanted it, to no avail.

Fast forward to me forgetting that lilies are bulbs and planting a baby spider plant into the dirt. I always have a zillion spider babies.

The "Mother" of all Spider Plants

.....all the ones here anyways. Spiders are perhaps the easiest plant to propogate...simply pick and plant. The one that became a hybrid actually was suffering intially, which I didn't understand then, but know exactly why now, it was growing roots into or possibly around the bulb of the Lily.

This is what I was expecting...

This is what I got.....

CallaSpider!!!!!

I'm not even mad at all 😀
I will update at some point if it continues to thrive.

Thanks for swinging in!

All the love,

Come visit us in Whaleshares Discord,

I love meeting new people!!

I'm the super pink one
Whaleshares Official Discord - https://discord.gg/3pqBXKY

Sort:  

What an unexpected surprise. Now THAT can make gardening fun and interesting!

I'm pretty happie about it :)

I like Spiderlily.. That may be my next alias

Brother's great post, good luck always

RESPECTABLE POST.

Hope it continues to thrive!

Upvoted, share the love

im need see more!
surprice.png

awesome plant post! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55