ESCAPING THE REALITY THROUGH READING

in #blog7 years ago

ESCAPING THE REALITY THROUGH READING


Reading.jpg


READING


“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you'll go.”

― Dr. Seuss, I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!


It was my mother who told me that I started reading the books my father bought when he goes home from how many months of working in a distant. Also, my grandmother shared with me her annoying but fun experience with me every time I saw words and forced her to listen as I read the line.
As I grew up and started studying, our school's Library became my favourite place. It is more like my hideout. When I entered college, since I have three sisters already, I can rely on my parents that they will always buy books for me. We're four already and balancing the ecosystem is a must. With that, I save 20% of my daily allowance or if I'm hungry, I reduced it to 10%. Some of my savings are invested in books.


BOOKS


Some of my books
Source


“A room without books is like a body without a soul.”
― Marcus Tullius Cicero


To all the bibliophile out there, I bet you know the feeling when you open the book and that addicting smell of a paperback enters your nostrils! Ahh! Yes! That smell! Nothing beats to that kind of smell.

These days, there are epubs and pdf in short electronic books available online. There are plenty of platforms who offer you free electronic books in different formats such as mobi, pdf, rtf, and epub. Aside from that, the platform that I've been using offers audiobooks as well.
With that, if I'm at work, I sometimes listen to these audiobooks although I really prefer to carry and read books in front of my nose.

(

Screenshot image of one of the audiobooks I listened to at VK while at work.


GENRE


I really don’t have any restrictions when it comes to reading. If I read the synopsis and it intrigues me then I would read it right away or if there's a book I'm currently reading at then I'll search it to Goodreads and marked it Want To Read.

I also even read Almanac, Science facts, Science Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia, Bible Stories, History, Geography, Medical Books and a lot more. Anything that can give me further information as to not deprive myself of current and old events, technology, new words, inventions, in short, new knowledge.


“No thief, however skilful, can rob one of knowledge, and that is why knowledge is the best and safest treasure to acquire.”
― L. Frank Baum, The Lost Princess of Oz


However, if we are talking about novels here, then I would like to share with you my most read genre accompanied by the first book I've read in every category.


AUTOBIOGRAPHY

Autobiography is the story of the person's life story written by himself/herself.

Diary of Anne Frank is the first autobiography that I've read in junior days of high school. She was featured in our English book with a glimpse of her book. I was so curious and decided to buy using my own savings and read it thrice. If only my friend who borrowed it returned the book, I could've read it multiple times until now!

Source

Moreover, aside from heightening my interest in autobiography, this book made me read more about World War II.


BIOGRAPHY

A biography is a book about somebody's life in a very detailed manner but written by someone else.

Frankly speaking, I forgot the title of the book and the authors because, again, the book wasn’t returned to me! But, I remember clearly the plot so I googled and found that the title of the book I've been looking for is entitled Perfect Victim: The True Story of "The Girl in the Box" by Christine McGuire and Carla Norton.

Source

This book is one of the most heartbreaking and disgusting stories I've ever read. It's about of a young girl kidnapped and became a sex slave for seven years.

Mystery, Crime and Thriller Novel


Until now, I'm still confused on these three. Then I bumped to a site that differentiates these three which gave me an additional confusion. But, I was still able to grasp that these three is interconnected in such a way that it is 80% almost the same but still 20% not the same. Yes, they engage in a killing, terror and conflict, as I've said, there's a 20% difference.

Source

Bloodline by Sidney Sheldon was the first book I've read. I was really pulled into the story that I always read it before going to bed for three days. It's about finding out the assassin behind the murder of his multi-billionaire father and who's now trying to assassinate her.

FANTASY


Fantasy fiction is a story that is based on the author's wild imagination in which it cannot happen in real life.

I seldom read fantasy but I still read multiple of books that belong to this category. I love Harry Potter like really love it, but I still haven't read the books because I want to read it if I already have the book set. Hoping that I'll be able to have it soonest. I'm open to some donation by the way. :D

Screenshot_6.png

Source

In this genre, the first book that came to my mind is The Red Queen Series by Victoria Aveyard. It’s a trilogy and a combination of science fiction, dystopian. There’s a bit of a romance and this story is on my top list!! I've read the prequel but haven't read yet the King's Cage.

ROMANCE


I think everyone knows this. Romance Novel tackles about the love story of a couple, the heartaches, the arguments, the sacrifices, anything that involves in their relationship.

For the first book, I admit I can't remember when I start reading romance and what book was that. Maybe because that book doesn’t give much impression or I just forgot it completely. I really don't know at all. But there’s one romance that pops out even though I know it wasn't the first book. Now the book I'm talking about is Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell.

Source

The story is a high school love which makes the story so cute and interesting. Honestly, this young love successfully captivates my heart.

POETRY


Sonnet XVIII by William Shakespeare

Shall I compare thee to a summer's day?
Thou art more lovely and more temperate:
Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
And summer's lease hath all too short a date:
Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
And often is his gold complexion dimmed,
And every fair from fair sometime declines,
By chance, or nature's changing course untrimmed:
But thy eternal summer shall not fade,
Nor lose possession of that fair thou ow'st,
Nor shall death brag thou wander'st in his shade,
When in eternal lines to time thou grow'st,
So long as men can breathe, or eyes can see,
So long lives this, and this gives life to thee.


Now, who among you here haven't heard William Shakespeare? Who among you who haven't bump to Shakespeare Sonnet? Who doesn't love Shakespeare works? I think everyone either knew his works or read them or both. He's a legendary in this! I really hope to have the complete set of his works. Someday!

INSPIRATIONAL


Any good book can be an inspiration, but many of these books highlight people overcoming adversity or reaching new levels of understanding. Whether they pull themselves up by their own bootstraps or have help from a higher power, these books will uplift and entertain you.
Source

Even if you're not totally a bibliophile, I really think that everyone should read inspirational books to have a better understanding of life. Let me cite some, Purpose Driven Life and the must-read book in our everyday life, for Christians, the Bible. The Holy Bible feeds our soul and guides us to take the light and better path.

Aside from the Holy Bible, there are also inspirational books for your soul and for your mind and heart. Before I don't like to read inspirational novels/books, but again my dear friend @deeday31, lent her book to me and was really hooked on the story and to the author.

Source

That book was entitled: The 5 People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom. It's about an old man who died in a tragic way and ended up waking in his afterlife. And there, he met five people who explained to him about what he thought when he was alive as "meaningless" life. This is a very inspiring book and if you haven't read this one, then read it!

MANGA and MANHWA


Source

Manga is Japanese black and white comic book with a reading orientation from right to left.

Manhwa is Korean colored comic books with a reading orientation from left to right.

Anime is derived from Manga. At first, I really don’t want to read it, especially Mangas because I don’t want to spoil myself. However, I had my One Piece marathon, if I remember it clearly, from episode 1 to episode 680. After that, I started being impatient and then one of my friends, read the manga and unconsciously sat beside him and read it too. Also, there’s this one legendary anime as well that I want to watch but I think it would make me collapse again, as what OP marathon resulted, so I ended up reading the manga.

That legendary anime is Naruto! I haven’t watched the first episode up to the last but I’ve read the manga in less than a week. The latest chapter at that time was the Akatsuki is in the picture.

So how about you guys? Are you fond of reading books? What's your favorite book?

~ kneelyrac ~

kneelyrac.jpg

Sort:  

maka remember jd ko nmo sa anne franks sa hischool pata!
maka relate ko sa baho sa book uy! labaw na ug bag o palit btw.. lami kaau!!!!!

Lage. Wala najud to nauli dai ai. Di na moangkon man. Hoho lagot koo.

Hahaha wa jd to nasaag sako kay galisod jd og sabot ato bh

Dili to ikaw dai. Ako to isa ka amiga darri amo dapit

Oh bloodline..that was eons of years ago!
The alchemist by far is my favorite..and a hundred thousand stars and the street lawyer.
Clive Cussler is a long time author of mine..and a few.
U shld check out my post of a library in Paris.

I've only read the alchemist and it was so nicee! Paulo Coelho is such a great writer. I'll try to read the synopsis of the two books you mentioned.
Okay I'll check it out! :)

ka giatay gyud sa 52 dollars ui hahahha

Omg! Karon pako kabantaaaay! OMG!OMG!!!!!

I'm so happy! OMG to the fullest sir! Can't believe this!

Arent you worthy of happiness. Believe it

Yes sir! I'm more inspired in doing more blogs. :) Fighting!!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kneelyrac to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kneelyrac from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @kneelyrac! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nakakatuwa talaga yung mga kagaya nyo Mam na mahilig magbasa. I wish nakahiligan ko din yan. Huhu. Kaso hindi sya para sa kin. Haha. 😂

Nasa mind set lang po yan. May times po na di ko feel magbasa. May ilang months po akong walang binbasa pero may times rin naman na walang tulugan dahil sa pagbabasa

Kakainggit 50 plus 😂😂😂 numbers lang tinitingnan ko dito eh hahaha 😅😅😅

Ses kaya mo kaya rin ito. Ikaw pa.

Congrats friend. This post is interesting and is featured. I prefer books than ebooks.hehe

Thank you friend :)

viewed, voted, commented, and re-steemed ...

anyone follows me i'll follow back within a few days

You follow those members that you like because of their posts or theyre friends and families.
Follow for a follow is shunned upon in the platform.

animation.gif


Your comment was downvoted by @miti on its content.. but don't worry because at this time I used only a small portion of my Steem Power percentage as a warning.

To write comment for asking vote for vote OR follow for follow is considered spam in Steemit community. I also suggest you to read Steemit etiquette carefully before you hurt your reputation.
If you keep tryin' and don't stop writing that kind of comments, I am forced to increase my Steem Power percentage to downvote your spam comments, hurting your reputation too.
I'm not a BOT and my aim is to clear posts by trolls and spammers.


For more info contact me in steemit chat or CLICK HERE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83