Upgraded & Updated STEEM Witness Infrastructure

in #blog7 years ago

A few days back a new soft fork of STEEM was released in order to clean up some artifacts from the switch from 0.18.0 to 0.19.0 still left in the code. Realizing that my backup server at the time was somewhat unfit of the task of serving blocks under the increased transaction load the network has been seeing lately I opted to temporarily disable my witness signing key to update. Since then I've scrapped the old underpowered backup witness server and grabbed a new dedicated server to run my witness client on, leaving my old main witness running as backup on case of main witness server failure.

Specs: Old vs New

Old WitnessNew WitnessWin
CPUIntel Core i7-3770Intel Xeon E3-1275V2New
RAM SIZE32GB (4 x 8192MB DDR3)32GB (4 x 8192 MB DDR3 ECC)New
DISK2 x 3TB SATA HDD2 x 120GB SATA SSD Solid StateNew
OTHERBackup Power SupplyNew

While not an glaring upgrade at first glance the new main witness server runs slightly higher single thread specs than the old one as well as features ECC RAM and a dedicated backup power supply ensuring no power outage can touch it. A monitoring and failback script has also been set up and I'll be testing it later tonight to ensure it's proper operation.

The Blocks Must Flow

My witness goal is to provide uninterrupted block signing as I slowly creep into the #1 witness which is my personal goal (even if long enough for a screenshot!). Have lots on the go, tons of stuff to do but will continue to work hard towards creating services the STEEM network and her users.

In other news the STEEM.GLOBAL seed node is now operating STEEM v0.19.1rc1 and the wallet used to send withdrawals of faucet funds should be online! Feel free to check it out. You can now also check the service status on the status page http://steem.global/status

Have a great weekend everyone!


VOTE @KLYE FOR WITNESS

steemit.com/~witnesses
Sort:  

For a moment I thought you got lost in limbo, but you resurfaced and updated. I see your avatar is wearing that silver ring you bought recently. And don't worry, when I become a superwhale, you'll see your witness position jump to #1.

100% upvote for the inspiration and borat. I love borat.

Followed you both!


This made me choke on my apple lol...

way to go bud stepping it up!!! Correct the blocks must flow!!!

Must be done. Spare no expense when dealing with something that effects so many.

Your like our slave...... but you get paid more........ and your Canadian. Damn You.......

This comment has received a 0.94 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @spbesner.

This comment has received a 1.07 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @spbesner.

Thanks for cool update. I'm glad Steemit is constantly improving.

ooOOOOO a new engine! NICE!

Should see the one I'm building on the table right now... In a post coming soon!

Let me guess, you're building a rocket engine that will take STEEM to the moon?

Any upgrade is better than no upgrade! I'm glad you have a backup power supply just in case. I believe you'll reach the #1 witness spot, you definitely have the dedication. And I'll do whatever I can to help you get there :)

Great work ! Keep working hard and you already have my vote as witness

I think I've been hit in the head a few too many times to understand EVERYTHING about this stuff. But I know you're putting in solid work and it's all toward our platform.

@klye - You da real MVP haha

Great work on the update and keeping things running smooth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44