Finally Settled Back Home & Have My Main Witness Server Running 0.16.3

in #blog7 years ago

Finally back in the city after taking a week to travel across the province to go spend time with my parents. I hadn't seen my father in roughly half a decade and it was nice to catch up with him as well as see the 2 beagles I grew up with. Jewel and Todd, Aged 14 and 11 respectively certainly aren't young pups anymore. Was good to go out and see the dogs and my father.

Also got the chance to go re-connect with a few old friends I had not visited or talked to in years. I always found it interesting how my old friends in the town my parents live always invite me back for a fun time, regardless of how much or little contact we'd had with eachother over the years.. Almost as if we'd just frozen or suspended the friendship in time.

The depressive spell I was facing is still very much with me but I'm slowly starting to regain myself again. Truth be told beginning of the week I was ready to off myself and the kindness of a stranger saved me. I was done, but buddy asked me if I smoked weed and had any cigarettes for trade. I did, we did the trade and I went home.. I don't know if that man who's name I never got even realizes he probably saved my life that day.

New Dedicated Witness Server Running v0.16.3

After briefly supporting the HF17 and realizing that it wasn't really in the communities best interest I've taken my main and backup witness servers to v0.16.3 and v0.16.0 respectively.

I'm opposing HF17 until a better offering is done up. While some amazing proposed features exist within the code at this point I feel it would be far less potentially damaging to the network if we took some more time to get a consensus of what the average user wants.. As well as my fellow witnesses. As it sits there is a divide on agreeance of features in HF17.


Vote @klye for Witness!

( Currently Holding Down Rank #7 )

TOP 19 WITNESS

https://steemit.com/~witnesses


A Proud STEEMbassador of Canada

Thank you for your votes, the opportunity and support!


( STEEM.GLOBAL is Undergoing Maintenance.. No Withdrawals Currently BUT you can Still Collect Your Daily STEEM)

Sort:  

Interesting, I didn't think 17 was going to be so controversial.

I've been running a witness for roughly half a year now.. Never seen such opposition on a hardfork in my time doing this

Some of the proposal is amazing.. Some of it I do not agree with at all. Users, witnesses and Steemit Inc will eventually come to an agreeance.

Seems to me that perhaps part of the reason there's trouble getting consensus on HF17 is just that it has "a lot of stuff." Perhaps a case for smaller incremental changes in the future? I don't know... I'm not a techie, just reading between the lines.

This makes sense, as it seems there are quite a few people saying that they love certain aspects of it but dislike others.

Yeah i agree with smaller more incremental releases too. It would solve a lot of these kind of disagreements

It is a lot at once..

Not sure how I stand on the large hardforks over smaller ones.. I run a number of servers and it sucks to have to update them all. I am excited to see what ends up happening feautures wise for HF17

Glad your feeling better and thanks for sharing your views on HF17.

Slowly on an uptrend. <3

I found going slow really helped me too.

Aww nice! It's always a pleasure to hear from you and even more so when it's about nice uplifting moment like this. Thanks for the update.

I have the exact same kind of friendships, we can fall out of touch for a year or more, but when we see one another it's like we never missed a beat, just some exciting catch up time ;)
Always glad to hear your feeling better luv!
I agree with @denmarkguy, seems like there's too many things on the table at once, hopefully the issues that people are most having difficulties coming to a consensus about can get tabled for another time and they can just bring forth the changes that the majority find positive :)

Nice..@kyle. I just wake up and read your posting !

Good post with lashings of integrity. Government of any style which is held by the few and seems to be voted in by the few and serves the benefits of the few - even if not by design but by construct, is going to have problems.
Regular HFs - even monthly or whatever ... and a representation of the community and a stress testing procedure might be good policies to adopt.
Thanks again for your approach.
Be in touch for any help you might need from the 'hoi poloi'!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36