4000+ Posts on Steemit.com - Nostalgia, Projects & Thoughts So Far

in #blog7 years ago

It almost feels like a lifetime ago that I'd snuck into the now defunct Steemit.com Slack room to troll it's users after being informed by a long time online friend and mentor that I should probably get involved with the STEEM project. At that time it was impossible for me to comprehend exactly how much my life was about to change by checking out our network.

The Early Days On STEEM

It's hard to describe the whole frantic buzz this place (Steemit.com) had when it first opened.

Payouts equaling well over $10,000+ were a common sight in these days. People in the thousands flocked to the site from all walks of life. It truly became a melting pot of different peoples and cultures, seemingly with a very low tolerance for hatred or abuse of it's users.

In these times I'd staked out a bit of fame for myself after having some artwork of mine land itself on the front page.. Almost in some kind of furious hunger spawned by the sight of my illustrations on the front page people began to commission artworks left, right and center. Some patrons still sport their drawings by myself. It's kind of an honour actually the more I think about it, to have been so widely accepted and celebrated in the community for my artwork near the launch of Steemit.com. It was a different time almost back then...


( Some early #klyeart from my post "How to Milk A Steem Whale" )

It was around this time I'd decided to run a witness campaign. The skills I'd learned in previous job positions and in my own hobbyist endevours gave me a slight edge over your average bear when it came to technical work as well as dealing with other people online. The first feat I set out to accomplish to ensure I'd earned my place as a top witness was to get STEEM & SBD on a well known crypto e-commerce plugin which would allow people using popular CMS based web stores.

While it took longer than expected I got STEEM / SBD listed on Coinpayments.net

These are what I refer to now personally as the golden start of STEEM. It was a truly remarkable time of abundance and wealth for those who had stumbled upon the platform.

Many wondered back then where the money was coming from to pay out all of these lavish $10,000+ payouts. One of the terms that was frequently used to explain it is seen below:

"The Value Comes From the Content"

Ned Scott - CEO of Steemit Inc.

The amount of hours I spent trying to figure out the economic model behind this whole experiment is almost embarrassing to think about now. While not entirely wrong, the phrase above slowly faded into obscurity and a new mentality towards the income model was seemingly adapted, leading to the a massive cut in inflation rates of STEEM and SBD. The once massive daily payout pool slowly began to dwindle as less and less investors capital flowed in to replace the depleting price on the STEEM token.

Well before this point it became extremely apparent to me that in order to stimulate the STEEM economy new services of value would have to be developed, tested and marketed in order to make STEEM / SBD more attractive buy and holds rather than just another token to trade for Bitcoin. In a matter of a few months I'd put down Paint and stopped doing art for the most part in favour of focusing on efforts to continue expanding my coding knowledge.

Currently a number of different projects have been dreamt up with development started on them. Keep in mind these are only the STEEM related projects I've got incubating:

STEEM.GLOBAL - Free STEEM for Everyone! 24hr STEEM Faucet

( Operational: Go Get Some FREE STEEM Everyday )

Steem-Roller.com - An Ambitious Crowd Bankrolled 1% Dice Game

( Under Construction: This One Needs to be Tested & Perfected Before Launch )

Streemit.Online - Free to Use Video Streaming Service for STEEM

( Offline / Rebuilding: Need to Fix Video Servers )

STEEM Network Moving Forward

What I would like to see is more attempt made to create income from the content here without invading people's privacy. While generally I am opposed to the idea of advertising if it was optional / opt in with profit sharing elements attached to it I certainly wouldn't be able to complain so long as it was consensual on both the displayer & viewers end.

With hardfork 17 on the horizon I've been looking back on how the STEEM network has changed and can't help but feel that while progress perhaps hasn't been as fast as some would have liked to see what has been there is impressive. The dynamic nature of how problems arise and are coded against is downright astounding in my opinion. STEEM isn't a group of people so much as an incredibly powerful and adaptable collective mind including some very brilliant bright individuals.

Thank You to STEEM


This network has completely changed the way I think, act, feel and live as a person.

While the future may be a tad uncertain I've got faith that STEEM isn't going to flop.

We may see lower prices, we may see higher prices, it's irrelevant at the end of the day.

It's the technology and community that makes STEEM have real world value...

Everything else is just a bonus really! Keep this in mind moving forwards and you'll be fine.


Vote @klye for Witness!

( Currently Holding Down Rank #22 ... W00T!)

https://steemit.com/~witnesses


A Proud STEEMbassador of Canada

Thank you for your votes, the opportunity and support!

Sort:  

Thanks for the share! I hear about "the early days" and I still scratch myself at the magnitude of the rewards given, back then.

I'm a late arrival, but still very enthusiastic about what I see here... with some inventiveness and careful stewardship, there are lots of somewhat commercial endeavors that can be added under the Steemit umbrella, some of which have the potential to generate "hard cash flow" to support some kind of business model built on more than just "an idea."

Hoping to write about that in the weeks/months ahead... meanwhile, it will be interesting to see what HF17 brings.

It was kind of ridiculous.. Even myself managed to write a few $1000+ dollar posts back in these times. Truly was a spectacle.

The late arrival is no big deal.. If we look to Bitcoin barely anyone used it in the first year or two.. This may be what we are seeing with STEEM now.

The future of STEEM looks bright even though the price has been on a heavy downtrend for a while now. Eventually once the right services are in place the price will start an upward trend as more value is built into the network.

There are always early adopters in projects who look to invest and cash out. Like IPOs, where they get in on the private offering, then dump and run as soon as the stock goes public... they are not really the long term investors in the organization, just looking to make quick riches and retire to Aruba. Then the real long term investors buy in and drive it forward.

Congrats on the milestone and your spot on the witness list! What are your impressions about the upcoming hardfork, do you think it's going to bring about the changes needed to face this steem ship in the right direction?
Honestly I'm just happy to have the audience I've accrued for my books, as well as having met and continuing to meet so many awesome people! I'd like to hear that this is something I'll be able to enjoy for a long time to come!

Thanks Dreemit! I'm goign to be supporting the hardfork 17 as there isn't really anything I can honestly say I hate about it. A few switches here and there early on are better than changing the product later for sure.

Awesome works speaks for itself and your writing would have found an audience regardless imho. :)

That's good to hear!
Aw, thank you, but I'm glad the audience is this awesome community!

Congrads man! I have to come back and re-read the whole article. Just wanted to stop by and say awesome dude!

<3 thanks man. Much appreciated. Been a hell of a trip so far.

I've signed up for Coinpayments and I have to say that I had a moment of pride seeing STEEM & SBD listed...and knowing who was responsible for making that happen! So I'm one step closer to getting a coinpayments button on my site! (If I only had clients! LOL) Alas, congratulations on your milestone. May there be many more.

If you need a hand getting things set up for your web shop you just so happen to know a guy willing to help.

Cheers Merej99!

I will definitely be reaching out to you if I hit a snafu @klye. I'll be working on that this week at some point :D Thank you

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Mmmm bb! How is this only a $3.14 post!? Uptugged

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43