Work 'n Play

in #blog6 years ago

‘Ello steemians,

It’s been some time since I last posted. Work has been really stressful and leaving me daily exhausted. All I want to do these days after work was to lay in bed and veg. It feels like I’ve been cramming for two weeks nonstop. Brushing up on every concept needed for a job interview to keep my job and become a regular instead of a temporary employee. I’m glad steps are being made to help promote me and that should help me with graduate school. I just hate the risk of being displaced. I was told they could not update my position, new positions had to be created with new job descriptions with regular employment status and same title and my current position would be terminated at the end of the process. It’s been hectic updating my resume, gathering my transcripts, applying for the position within a one week window. Passing initial screenings, passing a phone interview and passing an in person interview. I was very relieved to hear I was a good candidate for the position. YAY! So I can keep my job? oh wait, there’s another interview to determine the final candidate... yay... I just hate how all this red tape is getting in the way of actually fulfilling my regular responsibilities. It’s like sure, I could take on all of these projects but I could be out of the job next Monday. Meh… For now all that is behind me and the best I could do keep brushing up for the next interview and hope it’s soon, whenever that may be.

Being so run down from work I hardly have a chance to socialize and relax, other than time with family. This weekend was a little different. A couple of coworkers and their friends were gathering together to check out a bar and I was invited! At first there was a bit of dread. I normally never do things like this, but I should go out, I should hang out. The place we went to was in Fort Lauderdale, Florida called the Glitch Bar.

35928156_481262152302889_6320154378766385152_n.jpg

The Glitch Bar was my first pleasant bar experience.

34567854_388439568335989_1260437597021274112_n.jpg

They had an open bar, DJ with some 90s rock to some house music and a food truck outside for some delicious noms but what I thought made the place real special was there was a free arcade with many retro and classic games and some Nintendo gaming consoles.

35000615_616224118750075_8317519548152545280_n.jpg

It was pretty fun playing Super Smash Brothers and Mario Kart for the more modern consoles. The staff were wonderful and there was a lot of good company and beautiful people. I was way to shy to talk with other people or be silly on the dance floor.

34478550_253440772070934_7971503092862550016_n.jpg

It was nice joining others for multiplayer games with a few nice drinks.

Hopefully there will be more chances to relax and have fun when school starts up again in August.

Anywho, I thank everyone for visiting my post and hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

All images were not my own and were sourced from http://www.glitchbar.com and their instagram page https://www.instagram.com/glitchbar.ftl if you're in the area, consider checking them out

Sort:  

I know I'm a bit late. I been out of touch with steemit for a long while. Work is keeping me busy. Hanging out in that bar sounds fun, too bad I'm shy to hang out with people. ^^

Hehe now that @omnithumbs has arrived we can start the party! ^0^

For a long time I have been hiding behind my work or schooling to really hang out with people. But we need people, we need to get out and mingle. It will feel enriching to find local events and checking them out. Might find some interesting stories people have to tell or some laughs and maybe it'll lead to other exciting adventures. All of it helps us grow~

We all need a break. I'll keep that bar in mind in case I'm ever in the area!

Woo-hoo that's a pretty hot sexy looking wait staff..