Risk Or Reward

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Nike NKE released their fiscal 2017 Q2 earnings and my feelings are all twisted into a bunch. As previously mentioned, Nike was one of my first purchases and I look forward to the future with this in my portfolio however, the amount which is in my portfolio will be may need further evaluation.

img_3053The release of earnings on November 20th settled speculation as to which way the market was going to turn. Earlier in the week I was able to make another purchase at $51.12 which is the same price I paid in my initial purchase. "WOW you're worried about 2 shares?!?!" Well those two shares make 29% of my portfolio and for starters that can be a rather large blow to moral if the shares were to jump down to an estimated mid $40 range.

IMG_3058.PNGImmediately after the release, shares increased nearly 5% which is great news but as many investors looked closer to earnings one can see the positive earnings was not all glitz and glam. The addition of the rise of competitors (Adidas and Under Armour) makes the review of the company much more difficult to assess, and for my thoughts - Nike will be a solid hold as I begin my investment journey. I am looking to build my capitol in shares that will pay dividends as I continue to deposit but diversify in sectors provided while I continue to learn the stock market. My new goal is to hit a target goal of 5 shares at $62. I believe this to be a bit of a reach but I think that really puts my risk to reward into place earning dividends along the way and not all my eggs into one basket as I look into other consumer goods.

Do you own Nike, Adidas, Under Armour? I'd like to hear your thoughts of the most recent release of earnings and your input for leisletics (leisure athletics) wear.

My original post from December 21st

Sort:  

Nice post about your fist stock investments @kiloran! If Nike beats the consensus it would be normal the share will go up. And if you like investing we would be pleased if you join our SteemitStocks Discord channel. You can share and chat here about your content on Steemit with fellow investors. And we are currently doing a Steemdollar giveaway here.

Thanks for checking it out! I'll be sure to check it out the channel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57430.35
ETH 2423.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32