First 30 days on Steemit: Impressions and re-introduce myself!

in #blog7 years ago

It's been about 30 days since I joined Steemit. I've been awestruck by the community here. I want to talk a little about what my impression of this place is as a new user. I see great potential in this and I'm interested to be able to look back a year from now and see how much changes. Let's begin, shall we?



brent-cox-348717_1514324720971.png


You did not come here to be normal, you came here to be you. #truth



I've barely logged onto facebook this past month. I find it tedious. Boring. There's no brain food there. It's all junk, designed to rot your mind instead of your teeth. Steemit is where my mind longs to read. Thought provoking conversations, people helping others. NO ADS! It seems like a dream. Maybe it is.


Steemit to me seems like a giant ecosystem. It chugs on quietly, shaping the world. I see more good here than bad, and that is a welcome repreive for someone like me. Most days, I would open up facebook and see horrible things being shared. People saying horrible things to each other and about each other. Gossip, rampant posts about ponzi scheme leggings that you just have to feel! "They're like butter!" I couldn't take it anymore. So, good or bad, I'm onboard with steemit now. The rewards incentivize people to be civil to one another and learn how to debate properly. There are some exceptions I've seen, but that's what's beautiful about an ecosystem. "You did not come here to be normal, you came here to be YOU". Right?

First Impressions

  1. Tight knit community of all the best kinds of people.
  2. Lots of ways to game the system. (but from what I'm reading about hf20, lots of this is getting fixed.)
  3. Some infighting. (to be expected, sort of entertaining to watch unfold)
  4. Lots of support for new users, but not really in a central location. Maybe Steemit needs a "Welcome Center", where new users can browse support topics or possibly chat one on one with someone that can walk them through.
  5. THIS PLACE IS STILL IN BETA? That impresses me very much. But what impresses me more is the way users have formed groups to work on projects that will improve the platform. Collaboration is key in building a society that we all want to live in. Everytime I log on and read and see what other people are working on, it inspires me to do more. It pulls me out of depression, rather than shoving me in headfirst as facebook does.

I'm extremely glad I stumbled on this place. I've always felt like an outsider when it comes to things like money and the way we treat each other. I've never been one to "talk shit" about another person. Everyone is a product of the environment in which they live. We are all just trying to survive in a world that functions on antiquated systems and money. We do the best we can and hope that it's enough.
I do believe that Steemit has a real chance at changing the way society thinks about money and the value of "work".
I'm curious to see where this rabbit hole leads and so excited for the journey!

My first introduce yourself post was very much a dumbed down facebook style version of me. Since I've gained a few followers over this month and made some real connections with people, I thought maybe I could write a "do-over" introduction post for you all. Ready? This is me and my kids:



me.jpg



I'm 35. Born and raised in Washington state. Moved to Colorado in 2002 for college and studied Avionics. (How to fix aircraft electronics). I met my husband (@chackett) in college. We moved around a bit after we graduated. I have held almost every job you can think of when it comes to electronics. I worked as an Flight Simulator Technician for a company called CAE right out of college. That was a total blast and I loved it so very much. But I was hungry for more knowledge. Every night I went in to work and got to fly 20 million dollar flight sims, but I wanted to work on the real thing. Hubby and I both got hired on at SkyWest Airlines in Palm Springs, CA and off we went. I started out wiring on the aircraft, but quickly found that I was claustraphobic and most wiring in aircraft is in very tight spaces. I was moved into the back shop to help the engineers build test sets. That was really fun and I discovered how much I really loved to solder.

Palm Springs was not where we wanted to settle down, and SkyWest was not a place we wanted to make a career. So we both looked for jobs in Seattle and moved back, stayed about a year, got married, and then moved back to Colorado. ( I know, I know, we had a little wanderlust happening, haha!)

Colorado had always held a special place in our heart and we stayed there for almost 10 years. I worked a few different jobs during those years, circuit board assembly was my favorite. It felt like the circuit board was my canvas, the soldering iron, my pen. Molten solder as paint. Assembling all the gadgets and gizmos for all the girls and boys. My favorite job that landed on my bench was one for NASA. I soldered for NASA ya'll! Those are the things that get me excited to be alive.

nasa.jpg

After our twins were born, we decided to move back to my home state, washington. We have a mother in law apartment on our property that my parents rent from us. It works out really well, grandma gets to spend time with the grandkids whenever she wants, and I get free babysitting. :) We've been back in Washington for 2 years now. This place I grew up in is so different now. This Valley has seen more than it's fair share of disaster. These past 2 years alone have seen a mass shooting in our local mall, a cop being shot in the face during a standoff, a flood that destroyed homes and numerous gang related shootings, many of them resulting in fatalities. I've seen my friends posting on facebook that they are trapped in their homes while swat teams search for suspects, again. The world is changing fast. Until now, I thought we may just be doomed. Seeing the community here on Steemit gives me hope. Hope that there's a better way. Hope for a future for my kids. I can't wait to be a part of it all.


I hope you'll follow me on my steemit journey. I'm jumping in with both feet. I'm inspired by all of you to try my best. I may use this blog as a form of therapy sometimes. Shit might get heavy. One day might be sharing something cool I've learned with you, or it might be a poem. Or digital art. My interests range from baking to snowboarding to coding and everything in between. My mind is always full of random thoughts and anxieties. I still like to express myself and have fun though, you know?

pwa.jpg

snow.jpg


I balance being a twin mom with boatloads of coffee every morning, silent screaming where the kids can't see me, and unloading my thoughts wherever I can. If I sound weird enough to follow, please tell your friends! I'm no good at keeping up conversation in real life, but here, I can! And I will. So I hope you'll want to read my stuff, because I literally cannot get enough of everything I'm seeing produced here. Thank you for creating this wonderful place, all of you!





banner.jpg

Sort:  

Something similar happened to me, I never liked facebook and I have it because my wife created an account for me, and now that I think about it, she uses it more than I do:?

Steemit is an interesting proposal and I've found people who think the same way I do, just want a little more love and dedication from their developers. But they're on the right way

I'm curious to see where this rabbit hole leads and so excited for the journey!

Me too

Facebook is great for me to share pics of the kids with family, but there's no civil discussions happening there. Its ads and lies and fear. I just can't do it anymore. Not when there's this! 😍

That is very true, here people are more open to different opinions and it is possible to speak openly and civilized, if I'm honest it was something that took me by surprise ,the truth was a pleasant surprise :)

Most people will agree that the only thing you will find in Facebook are farm games and people posting things that I don't find interesting, it always gave me headaches everytime I was forced to use Facebook because some announcement would be published only in that site or something like that, good thing my time of using Facebook is long gone.

I also think Steemit is a place to share something more than words, you need to think, make arguments of what you truly believe in and stand behind them, everything you have in this site is your rep, that's what I think after only 11 short days of being here and there is still more to learn, I hope you can find everything you need to feed your mind a little more each khackett.

Thank you. 😊

I agree with you about other social media sites. I'm a writer and I've tried or still am on a lot of them. I've got a big Twitter following but haven't really been active on there, I miss a few friends and keep in touch - even work colleagues and former students, but my heart is here.

This place is kind of like your Valley. You find a few safe and comfortable places and camp out there. It can be brutal sometimes if you run up against some rough types on here, but you need a few stable people to support you and you're fine.

You're going to be fine, K. Have fun :)

Thank you. I appreciate it. 😊

Most definitely have had very similar thoughts and feelings with steemit, and not to mention have said hell with facebook, as I see no underlying point in evening logging in(unless you want to communicate with close family and friends)... but really, who wants to rot their minds?? Not me lol glad you have found a place here on steemit. It is such a wonderful ecosystem as you mention and I can't wait to see where this journey takes me and so many others who stumble upon this wonderful site. Cheers to the new year
Regards from @conradsuperb

Hello from Denver! You know how people joke about having insomnia and realizing it's three AM and they've been on Wikipedia for three hours? I do that on Steemit. I agree it is SO much better than Facebook! Always interesting things to read and FAR more uplifting. Do I see things I don't agree with? Sure. But here it doesn't turn into a flame war in the comments.
PS, Your quote is also my favorite Adam Savage quote, lol.

Yes! Me too! I can't get enough. I really wish Adam Savage would get a steemit account, his posts would be epic! He is pretty active on reddit, maybe someday? 😍🤣

He's also active on Twitter. We should campaign to get him here. 😀

Ooh! Yes! I just joined Twitter so I could stalk vitalik buterin like a giddy school girl. His brain is so smart. 😍

The addiction is real...

For sure. In a healthy way though. At least that's what I'll tell myself. 😁

I love it here... I have changed as a person since I've been here... on Facebook I would post a lot of pictures but no story so my friends got to see what i was up to but the interaction is minimal.. here people strive to interact with others... do random good things for others... promote positivity for the most part... help each other grow.. it's definitely a healthy addiction... if its not I guess I'll see you in rehab..

Right? Cheers! 💨💨😄

Do you have any major recommendations for a new Steemit user? I got brought here by a daily game I play, and I like it- it seems like there really is more real content here, but it seems hard to find it sometimes wading between a lot of fluff posts.

I don't follow a lot of people yet, so perhaps that's my failing. But either way, this gives me hope, as I really am interested in Steemit as a concept!

My advice would be to participate in the community as much as you can. There's always contests or challenges going on that will help you meet new people and figure out who to follow. Read and comment as much as you can at first. From what I can tell, that's about the best way to learn how all of it works. 😀

Thanks so much for the advice! I will start keeping my eyes peeled. I'd been overwhelmed by low content posts at first, but now that we're through the holidays I have more time to take and really give a better look and dig into things.

First welcome again to steemit Kellie :)

I'm glad you took the time to write out an in depth re-intro (even though your old facebook style one is probably better than mine). As time goes it gets harder to see the introductions, its like they never happened because they are so far down the feed. :(

I saw @crowdini email today and he pointed out you are joining the game (and giving it a huge boost)... That is awesome of you to do for the game and for the players that will play. Of course when the bigger players show, it adds credibility in the newbies' eyes and helps them to want to join in.

I also think you will like the game too, I look forward to it every day.

Anyways, I'm happy to see you joined this awesome place called steemit and I look forward to working along with you in 2018 to make the whole community an even better place to be!

Cheers to a happy and rewarding new year!!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by khackett from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63185.03
ETH 2478.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70