The Pillar Project - a black swan?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Thanks to a passing comment in one of my posts, I've checked this project out recently and discovered that it's led by the author of one of my favourite books - Pull: The Power of the Semantic Web to Transform Your Business. Written back in 2009 / 2010, the radical ideas presented in the book made complete sense to me. Instead of pushing our data into the outside world, an individual-centric system could pull instead. Applications can be abstracted as services (which is perfect since tokenisation is now possible).

Seems too much like the right time for this to happen since an open-sourced project of this nature will unlikely get any funding and support it requires before blockchains came about. Very ambitious project that may displace the likes of iOS and Android. It's going to be interesting because I think David Siegel has deep insights and experience, having a long history with the Internet. The work culture he's building is also similar to what Valve Corp is doing with their flatland organisation - something I wrote about in length before. Check out the talk.

What are your thoughts about the project and its concepts?

Short version

Long version (need to view it on Youtube)


Not to be taken as financial advice.

Sort:  

I haven't heard of the pillar ICO. Probably because I rarely do any research but at least we have you to help us out with the possible next big thing.

It seems like they have a pretty good project. It will probably be a really good way to have your data locked away somewhere which cannot be accessed by anyone else.

I think it is amazing how they are planning to put all these apps together in one safe place on the blockchain, protecting peoples information being sold off and keeping everything in one place.

Thanks for letting us know about Pillar @kevinwong
I'm definitely going to dig into it more.

Well its also kinda scary though having everything in one place lol, but way better than leaving one's data everywhere

This is one thing that is in the back of my mind as well, how much control can we and should we leave to some technology ? This does seem like the next step though and it makes perfect sense, but it is indeed a very ambitious program. What I am wondering though, concerning the example they made that you are out in the wilderness as someone gets hurt and pillar arranges for a helicopter to pick you up and it broker all the deals and stuff. Firstly will pillar be the one deciding which helicopter company should do this service ? Will they tell you what is a reasonable price ? This is kind of a bad example as it's an emergency, however it brings to question what kind of power is then going to be in Pillars hands? They will be the direct link between the customer and business how will we know that they will broker the best deal for us and that there is not a lot of sponsored money in the background deciding who gets the job?

Excellent point. Not just scary but designed that way on purpose. Pillar is in my view clearly a Pied Piper project supporting a New World Order goal. If you don't understand what that goal is then you need to have a read of my post here. Pillar is a sub-project of the 2030 project. There is no coincidence that this is basically the same name as UN Agenda 2030. If you understand what Agenda 2030 is after, you understand why Pillar wants to concentrate all your most private data on a blockchain.

Yep, David is a great visionary, I've met him a couple of times and he's one of those people whose thinking is always two or three steps ahead of one's own - stimulating and exhausting, in a good way.

I really hope this gets some traction. I put my $10 in for 100 tokens, but this is a very long game indeed, most people still can't get their heads round what it would mean to have complete control of their own data in this way.

Definitely fits the criteria of a good project - led by someone who's been spending years trying to solve their problem :D, in this case, 20 years

When I looked into the whitepaper and got a handle on the ambitions of this project, it blew me away!

These guys are coming after Apple and Google all at the same time!

I am very glad to have invested in the ICO (shoutout to @jsnip4 for that one) it's still a pretty cheap time to get some tokens.

Think long term, like iPhone12 long term.

Seems a little pricey atm with no prototype at all. I got some late after the ICO, I'd personally hold off from getting more atm. Maybe reconsider accumulating more after october/november!

Good point, but then I am expecting multiple 10x pushes when they launch so now is still ultra-cheap in comparison to that!

I think we could see PLR rising over the price of ETH!

Hmm unlikely to be over eth.. Ethereum has made plenty of pacts and alliances, it's quite a big tribe atm!

I guess we shall see.
I think there are a few out there that we will soon see prices like 1.8 ETH for one coin.

At least for now I will dream big!

This is one of those ideas that is so huge all you can do is wait and see if it gets any traction. It could be cool to have an open source digital wallet/"app locker" that leaves assets in "the hands of the users", but it's a huge bite to chew.

I've bookmarked that video as I don't have a spare hour right this second... maybe after watching it this will be more tangible for me.

Oh that's only one part solution. Very ambitious project, I think I'm gonna join the initial round of talks, but I just can't find a way to communicate easily with the group. Hmm

My brother got into the ICO a few weeks ago and has quite a bit. It does sound like a viable project and definitely one to keep an eye on. It is still pretty cheap at ~.12 cents.

I'd say kinda overpriced at the moment, although potential is pretty good if progress is possible on this front

I love the idea but doesn't it put them directly into competition with (a) Apple and Google for the operating systems and (b) all the companies currently offering apps (whose business models use your data). So basically almost everyone in that space. Most people don't really understand the infrastructure behind apps, but they know if they want to book a holiday they look at tripadvisor and momondo etc. That's an awful lot of power and branding to fight against if they're looking to make those companies change their business models? Not saying it isn't possible but it sounds a big ask.

Yes, it has to be 10x better than what we have right now. But I like that it solves the market liquidity problem and so many others!

Loading...

Wow .. interesting once ,,,,, maybe if your writing andan seen, by someone like bill gates he will soon do research and make it.

I think the third thing is made together in a special device, it could be a special computer or smartphone, and of course device and service applications to these three things together in 1 product. So many business advantages and 3 things this service is just for the device merges with it.... , and your information it very very Very very interesting ... especially if seen by students who are doing research.... great post @kevinwong

I love the Pillar Project. It has the power to solve so many problems. I jumped into the ICO and got 100K tokens so I have high hopes for it once it launches.

wow nice one! wish i got into the ICO, got them at a premium..

They actually launched at 50% below the ICO price at 5 cents, we all paid 10 cents and they are only 11 cents as I type. (Update- They jumped up close to 40 cents for a few hours other day I see)

yes... it is very interesting..need to learn about this :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61249.08
ETH 3397.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51